Customer Reviews for

Moonglow (Darkest London Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Promising

    This was an interesting book. It was rather uneven towards the end. In fact, the end was rather a let down as it felt a bit too contrived.
    The beginning and middle were good. It was not as compelling (making you want the next page more than sleep) as other books; but it did make you return again and again until you were done.
    The characters were a bit too blind. Too many hints about past trials and not enough present. The author needed to stop hinting and to spell it out. She made too much of a mystery about things that should have been told in full sooner than what she did. You were almost more in the dark than the characters.
    Still, I've read worse and the author shows a lot of promise. She has a great story idea in this book. The editor should have worked with her more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Passes the sequal test.A great flowup to Firelight

    As much as I adored the story of Archer and Miranda from Firelight, I was equally as taken with Ian and Daisy in Moonglow. Even though Ian had the propensity to act like a cad in Firelight, there was something about him that I was very intrigued with. Ian has a lot of dark secrets, and a lot of charm and personality, too. He was a character I liked in Firelight, and a character I grew to love in Moonglow. I admit it: My favorite scenes of this book were the love scenes. They were long, sexy, and just explicit enough. I also loved Daisy, who was a great combination of sweet and strong. I appreciate that the author gave me a new protagonist who was so unlike the protagonist in the first book but just as lovable. For one, the supernatural aspect is increased almost exponentially. Where it was once just Miranda and her fire-starting capabilities, the mystery that was Archer, and the reveal of Ian as a werewolf - now it is a veritable monster-mash. Some of said supernatural are the usual fare, and some were... utterly unique and unusual. And had me going, "Huh. Well, that's interesting." But it almost became a case of too much all at once. There is a lot of mythology thrown at you in one novel. You're learning about werewolves, their clans and rules and customs, and then vampires enter the picture and then something else and something else and then two or three others. It made me long for the simplicity of Firelight and yet... I really want to learn more about two of the new supernaturals. I mean, move over vamps and weres - I want more GIMs. The story does bring back Archer and Miranda as well as Poppy and Winston in minor roles which was nice to see them all again. Moonglow, the second Darkest London book, has a different texture than its predecessor Firelight, which was slower-paced yet sizzled with sexual tension. What you'll find in this second installment is nice balance of mystery, murder, romance, and expanded world-building set in alternate reality Victorian England. Secrets and monsters are underlying themes. So, in my humble opinion, this one was as good as or better than book one. They both are some of the best blend of historical and paranormal out there. I am eager to get to book three, Winterblaze when it comes out because it’s going to continue with a plot thread that was left jarringly open to do with Poppy and Winston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great sequel to Firelight

    Rating: R
    Spoilers: Nope
    Coffee Beans: 3.5
    Cover: Pretty cool
    Instalove Factor: None
    My Personal Recommendation: Worth the read
    Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for this honest review

    Oops.

    So, I’ve had this book since about June, I think. Read it and then completely spaced writing the review. So, here I go.

    Moonglow is the second book in the Darkest London series, after Firelight. I loved the first in the series sooo much that I hopped on NetGalley to request this one. I wanted to know what happened to the sister.

    I think the thing I especially liked about this book was the relationship between Daisy and Ian. They hate each other and are forced to work together to solve a crime and keep her alive, but they don’t like it. One bit.

    Okay, maybe they like it a little.

    Okay, a lot.

    But that’s the fun. We know they like each other, but refuse to let the other one know it. As body counts rise, Daisy realizes she has to trust and rely on Ian to keep her safe, and Ian has to let down his guard and be brave enough to love again and strong enough to make the hardest decision he’s ever had to make.

    Moonglow is a good, fast read with an interesting plot and fun characters. Pick it up and fall in love with Daisy and Ian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A nice, light read

    While I did enjoy reading Moonglow, Kristen Callihan's second book in her Darkest London series, I was never as engaged in the story as I was in her first book, Firelight. The couple in this story is Daisy, Miranda's older sister, and Ian, the lycan who was trying to win Miranda's heart in Firelight. I didn't find the couple or their story as interesting as Miranda and Archer. The second half of the story was more engrossing than the first half and I found myself actually looking forward to reaching the conclusion and solving the mystery. If this had been the first book in the series I doubt that I would have read another of this author's books. However, given the quality of her first book, Firelight, I will pick up the third book in the series and hope that it is as refreshing as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ┬┐Moonglow┬┐ by, Kristen Callihan Daisy Ellis is finally free of

    “Moonglow” by, Kristen Callihan Daisy Ellis is finally free of her
    abusive marriage and she just wants to enjoy being a widow; but when a
    night out turns into a nightmare, Daisy’s life quickly spins out of
    control. After witnessing a grizzly attack and narrowly escaping death
    Daisy is rescued and taken to safety by Ian Ranulf, the Marquis of
    Northrup. Daisy and Ian are both hiding dangerous secrets and with a
    mysterous killer on the loose they have to decide weather or not to
    trust one another. “Moonglow” is the second book in the “Darkest
    London” series. (The first book is called “Firelight”) In this series
    you will find immortals, magic, shifters, werewolves, and other
    supernatural characters. The setting for this series is early London and
    it has a steampunk feel to it that I enjoy. However, what really drew me
    into this story was the sexual tension between Daisy and Ian (steamy
    doesn’t begin to cover it). This couple had a great back and forth
    banter throughout the story and the tender moments were extremely
    satisfying. I am a big fan of strong female characters. Daisy walks
    with confidence and isn’t afraid to kick some butt. I am also drawn to
    the strong damaged male character, but I appreciated that Ian was able
    to say that he was scared and that he needed Daisy (instead of just
    wallowing in a dark corner). I am also really excited to read more about
    some of the characters that were introduced in “Moonglow” (Winston and
    Talent). This series is great for anyone who loves historical or
    paranormal romance books. I eagerly await the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    8/11/12

    8/11/12 Great addition to the series. Looking forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Daisy & Ian's story

    You have to read "Firelight" first to read about Miranda's story. This story is about Miranda's sister, Daisy. Finally free from a horrible marriage, Daisy is enjoying her freedom too much and feeling nothing as she dates several men. Then one night, she is in an alley with a gentleman & then are brutely attacked. She is knocked unconscious.
    Ian was first introduced in "Firelight" and I have to admit that I liked his character then, even though he was trying to win Miranda from Archer. In this story, we get to know Ian & how lonely he is. He stumbles upon several people who are attacked in an alley and finds Daisy to be the only surviving victim. He takes her home to protect her and learns she is Miranda's sister.
    I loved this story. It did drag on in some parts, but I was really rooting for Daisy & Ian to make it work for them. There were some suprising twists and more characters introduced. If you like Paranormal romances, then you will like this book and series. If you haven't read "Firelight" yet, I recommend reading it and it's prequel "Ember" first and then "Moonglow".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasing balance of mystery, murder, and romance! Loved Ian, too!

    Grade: B+ or solid 4 stars Moonglow, the second Darkest London book, has a different texture than its predecessor Firelight, which was slower-paced yet sizzled with sexual tension. What you’ll find in this second installment is nice balance of mystery, murder, romance, and expanded world-building set in alternate reality Victorian England. Secrets and monsters are underlying themes. Defining monsters is an underlying theme in this story. Ian sees a monster in the mirror and is haunted by piercing tragedy. You ruin everything, Ian. You and your beast. In this alternate world, lycan are evolved men containing a wolf spirit, while a werewolf is a damaged wolf in control. A were hungers for the kill. Ian represses his wolf feeling it is a shameful beast. He will be a monster! Daisy is critical to resolving his self-hatred. In turn, Ian heals Daisy’s legacy of shame imparted by her late husband. The one major criticism is the way the characters are introduced. Ian and Daisy seemed shallow. Initiating the reader with their sexuality did not feel endearing nor did it seem to add depth of character. Perhaps it was to draw a parallel to their sexual appetites. I don’t know. Luckily, they are revealed soon enough. Ian and Daisy’s scabs are ripped off to reveal their torment and fear. They are a couple who have had darkness in their lives, yet they are not depressing characters. It was fun reading their flirtatious dialogue and zing each other as they fenced words. The moments when Ian and Daisy offered each other comfort and loving words were romantic. Secrets also play a large role in this novel. We see the proverbial skeletons in the closet. There are also revelations, a mysterious supernatural leader, new secondary characters, and fallout of various kinds. It is all good stuff! It has me longing for the next book! Moonglow’s mystery leads Ian and Daisy on a trail that introduces readers to interesting new supernaturals. The GIMs(Ghosts in the Machine) insert an element of science fiction, almost like steampunk. The S.O.S. (Society for the Suppression of Supernaturals Secondary) has potential, too. Let's not forget the vampires! Secondary characters are expanded, but not to distraction. Ian Ranulf was an enticing character in Firelight, and his character does not disappoint in Moonglow! Daisy Ellis is also appealing as the heroine. Her experiences demonstrate the sexual double standards of the time and, in some minds, present time. This hero and heroine are an ideal match! I’m anxious for Poppy’s story, Winterblaze. There also seems potential for the following secondary characters: Lucien Stone, Mary Chase, and Jack Talent. Overall, despite the imperfect start (for me), the characters, plot, world, emotion, romance, and sexy times made this book a very gratifying read! **ARC courtesy of Grand Central Publishing via Netgalley**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    4.5 Stars What a beautiful, honest, and intriguing story. Moong

    4.5 Stars

    What a beautiful, honest, and intriguing story. Moonglow had my heart pounding through action, devastation, romance, and more. While I wasn't fully immersed until I was about 20% into the book, the 80% that followed was simply incredible.


    Moonglow is a stand alone novel from the Darkest London series. Although each book includes previous characters in the series, the main characters change with each book, enabling the reader to join in at any point.

    Each of the female protagonists in all three of the series are sisters who are close and weaved into each other's lives often, which may have attributed for my lack of interest to start...maybe I was missing something from Firelight? Previous knowledge of Ian, or of Archer and Miranda? I'm not sure. However, I do know that while reading Moonglow, the reader was given so much setup and background for Winterblaze (Darkest London, Book 3).

    Anywho, let's get back to it.

    I quickly fell in love with Daisy, a feisty, troubled woman, adventuring to conceal her damaged soul with sarcasm, wit, and sex appeal. She is finally finished "mourning" her cruel and vicious husband. In desperate need of flirtation and freedom she hopes to find the piece of herself that has been deeply buried since "the incident."

    Ian Ranulf is a mindlessly handsome rogue, bedding copious amounts of women and caring not for the holds placed on him in society. After being in exile from the Ranulf Clan, he yearns for a social connection while not daring to attempt one, having reaped consequences far to terrible to bare. I adored Ian, faltering with his thoughts of immortality and concealing much pain behind his humor and brashness.

    Daisy and Ian's relationship begins in a difficult place. A murderer is scavenging the streets of London, following a very particular scent - a perfume that Daisy herself created. Drawn to protect a woman who hides more than she shows, Ian begins to feel alive once again. Keeping constant secrets from each other while trying to keep the other alive, may end up causing the death of them both.

    The depth of storytelling and world building in this novel is just amazing. Ms. Callihan easily weaves her historic tale of the London streets and the creatures living among us. There were so many little treats to uncover throughout this novel that simply left me breathless. Beautiful writing, an honest and believably love story, and excellent adaptations of the paranormal intrigued and riveted - the best part? I now can go back and read book one. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1