Customer Reviews for

Moonlight (Dark Guardian Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

Kayla thinks she's stumbled onto a great summer job with people she connected with last summer. Right now, she's the newbie and can't wait to start pulling her weight. She's hoping to figure out some deep dark issues hidden under the surface about her past - the murder ...
Kayla thinks she's stumbled onto a great summer job with people she connected with last summer. Right now, she's the newbie and can't wait to start pulling her weight. She's hoping to figure out some deep dark issues hidden under the surface about her past - the murder of her parents in the very woods she'll be working in this summer.

She can't help but feel Lucas's eyes on her. She knows that he's older, but she can't help crushing over him anyways. What she doesn't realize, but soon begins to unravel, is that Lucas isn't like other boys.

In fact, the townspeople aren't exactly normal. They mate for life at the age of seventeen, and Kayla's birthday marks the beginning of a trip. She has no idea what's going on around her, but with a group of scientists heading into the woods in hopes of catching a legendary werewolf, she's about to find out.

What she discovers leaves her as breathless as when she discovers she's head-over-heels for Lucas.

MOONLIGHT is slightly different than Rachel Hawthorne's other novels. While all have romance, this darker series plays with the supernatural. DARK GUARDIAN is not a series to miss. Hawthorne expertly weaves romance with the supernatural and cloaks them with danger.

posted by TeensReadToo on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fanfiction Published

I read tons of fanfiction, some of it is okay, and some if completely fabulous. But most of it is very obviously amateur. This book, while good for a light read (hot werewolf guys? fun), feels very amateur and juvenile- the writing is not at all up to par with many that...
I read tons of fanfiction, some of it is okay, and some if completely fabulous. But most of it is very obviously amateur. This book, while good for a light read (hot werewolf guys? fun), feels very amateur and juvenile- the writing is not at all up to par with many that of many other books. There's a little emotion for the reader but not that wrenching emotional attachment that is awful but oh so good at the same time.
I might recommend it, but my recommendation would certainly be "borrow it".
In a few words: a cute, basic, fanservice that should be borrowed at the library.

posted by Eccthlacine on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moonlight by Rachel Hawthorne Review

    I can't remember how I came upon this series, but what I do know is that I'm so glad I did! Moonlight is the first in the Dark Guardian series and once again I've found myself a new series that I already can't get enough of.

    As a fan of the paranormal genre, I'm always excited when I find a book within that genre that has a new twist to the old storyline. The Dark Guardians' series has taken the old tales of werewolves and produced a new and unique spin on the characters.

    Rachel Hawthorne created a story out of her very realistic world and had me believing instantly! Her main characters, Kayla and Lucas were great. Brave and compelling Kayla meshed very well with the dark and brooding Lucas. Their story was romantic, yet frustrating, moving and yet so much fun. I loved it all!

    With werewolves being a reality and some ill intent humans after them for their own nefarious purposes, readers will be on edge to see if Kayla and Lucas will be able to defeat them and remain safe or if their in deeper water than they thought. Will their romance and feelings be enough to keep them strong for the fight ahead, or will it all be just too much for Kayla to handle with the other revelations she's faced with?

    I've always been a fast reader but I was able to really fly through this book, it took only one day for me to finish and after I was done I wanted to jump right into the next installment. There's a little bit of everything in this series; romance, adventure, action and suspense, plenty of description and depth to keep you interested and wanting to come back for more. I really had fun with this one and already ordered the second installment, Full Moon, because I just can't stand not knowing what will happen next, I'm hooked yet again! I'm really looking forward to see where Hawthorne and her Dark Guardians' series takes me next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fanfiction Published

    I read tons of fanfiction, some of it is okay, and some if completely fabulous. But most of it is very obviously amateur. This book, while good for a light read (hot werewolf guys? fun), feels very amateur and juvenile- the writing is not at all up to par with many that of many other books. There's a little emotion for the reader but not that wrenching emotional attachment that is awful but oh so good at the same time.
    I might recommend it, but my recommendation would certainly be "borrow it".
    In a few words: a cute, basic, fanservice that should be borrowed at the library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Quick read, good story, light on action and depth.

    Quick read, good story, light on action and depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    Wonderful!

    Kayla has had a pretty tough life. Having your parents killed right in front of you is not something you get over quickly. And now she's going to place where it all happened.
    For the summer Kayla is going to be the woods to be a camp leader with five of her friends- Lindsey, Kayla, Rafe, Conner, and Lucas. She's mainly only friends with Lindsey. She just knows the others from the year before.
    There all suppose to be leading a professor and his son and their team out into the woods to study wolves.
    As time goes on Kayla notices that Lucas is suddenly keeping a very close eye on her and making her walk with him. It's unsettling what she feels for him. The emotions are so strong. So she finds herself running towards Mason the professors son.
    Then Kayla finds some very disturbing news and her world suddenly changes. . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not Great

    Hawthorne's book was good but not great. The plot was interesting but especially in the beginning the writing was somewhat repetitive and the story was slow. Part of the slowness had to do with Kayla's (the main character) ignorance of the world she was really in, but I believe that the plot could have progressed more rapidly and with a better result. Although this book didn't measure up to the expectations I had made for the book based on other reviews, I think the series still has the potential to be good. It just depends on what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but not "WOW!"

    I've read all of Rachel Hawthorne's books and have enjoyed them all. None of them have ever been fantastic. I really loved her A Year In Europe novel.
    This one is interesting with it's story line and totally on the market with todays bestsellars are supernatural stories with bits of action and romance tossed in. I've recently read some really awesome books so in comparasion to the books I'd rightfully give 5 stars to, this is only about a 3 star. It's still worth reading, mind you. It's kind of one of those "I need a quick book to read for fun" books.
    I kind of found it to be way predictable, which kind of grew to be annoying. I felt Kayla wasn't catching on to things as she should have.
    Overall, the book was quite nice for something to read. I'd say go for it if you need something short and sweet, but interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2