Customer Reviews for

Moonlight Becomes You

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I recently finished reading Moonlight Becomes You. The story ope

    I recently finished reading Moonlight Becomes You. The story opens with the main character, Maggie Holloway, reuniting unexpectedly with her beloved stepmother, Nuala. Less than a week later, however, Nuala is found murdered in her home. The police classify the attack to have been committed by a "random" burglar. But when Nuala's close friend is found dead six days later, Maggie begins to suspect there is someone who is carefully plotting out these crimes. As she continues to delve deeper into the investigation, she is unknowingly putting herself at risk.
    I have always been a fan of mystery and suspense novels, and I rate Mary Higgins Clark at the top of my list. I've read many of her novels, and I was unsurprised to find that I thoroughly enjoyed this one as much as the others. With its thrilling cliffhangers and well-constructed plot, this novel accomplished all that it was designed to do. The back cover of the book states, "Stay up all night with the Queen of Suspense." I found this to be true for two reasons: First, the plot sucks you in to the point where you don't want to put the book down. Second, the suspense keeps you thrillingly chilled to the bone. Take, for instance, the scene right before Nuala is murdered, prior to the discovery of who the murderer is:
    "For a moment Nuala was startled, but as the door opened and her visitor stepped in, she smiled warmly. 'Hello there,' she said, 'Good to see you, but you're not due for a couple of hours[for the party] so you can't stay long.' 'I don't plan to stay long,' her visitor said quietly." (p.19)
    The only negative about this book is that there were almost too many characters to keep up with. Up to chapter eight, it was basically just an introduction of each new character and the explanation of their background. Later in the book, I found myself wondering, "Wait, now who is that character again?" I would frequently have to go back and search through the pages.
    Besides that minor flaw, Moonlight Becomes You was a wonderful suspense novel filled with captivating plot-twists and thrilling cliffhangers. I highly recommend it as a must-read for all who seek a little healthy dose of fear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    twisting

    I was unable to put this book on hiatus for any length of time- I had the unrelenting need to keep turning the page. Anything that can elude its ending from me is well worth reading. Count on the unpredictable that's in plain sight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Great Story

    Moonlight Becomes You is an awesome book. It kept me wondering what was going to happen, and it didn't ever really give anything away. It was a little slow in the begining and confusing with the different people 'talking' but after a while it made sense. I haven't read many of Mary Higgins Clark's books but the ones i have, have been fantastic. I recommend this book to anyone who loves horror and suspence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    CAPtivating.

    I began reading this book in 4th grade, unfortunately I picked it up too close to the end of the semester and wasn't yet the speedy reader I am now. Before the more interesting, the slower I read, somehow trying to fall into the pages, and I definitely fell and never forgot. I always finish a book I've started, so I searched and searched through titles. Even Clark's name resonated in me over the years, and I read first chapter after first chapter of so many titles. When finally I saw this book again, I knew automatically I'd finally found it. Moonight Becomes You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    highly recommended

    loved the book. shes a great writer and cant wait for her next book to come out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Story

    I LOVE Mary Higgins Clarks books - this was as good as all her other books. Another one you can't put down - have to continue reading on till the next chapter.

    I don't know where she gets her ideas but they are GREAT! Love when she talks about the Metropolitan area - she mentions so many things that I'm farmilar with I feel I'm part of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Moonlight Becomes You

    I just read this book for the second time, the first time was 5 yrs ago or so. I really liked it then. Although it wasn't such a surprise to me, due to the fact i read it once, I still enjoyed it. I really like Mary Higgins Clark. This is one of the first books i read by her. I liked it so much I have read most of her books and this one is probably in the top 10. I recommend it to anyone that likes Mary Higgins Clark books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    I did not buy this book.

    I did not buy this book.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Mary Higgins Clark Is The Queen Of Suspense

    The 'Queen Of Suspense' Strikes Again! Mary Higgins Clark did an awesome job on this book. 'Moonlight Becomes You' kept me guessing the entire way. Maggie Hollaway, the main character, reunites with her former step-mother,Nuala,at a family reunion with her new boyfriend Liam. It starts out friendly enough, Maggie and Nuala go to lunch and exchange phone numbers. Then Maggie decides she would spend two weeks with Nuala. That didn't go as planned. When Maggie arrived at the house she found Nuala lying on the floor. She had been murdered by a intuder, a familiar intruder. Throughout the book I guessed and guessed who the killer was, but then when I found out who it was I was totally shocked. It is a great book and I would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    My favorite book by Clark

    I tried to read this book once and then a new book in a series came out and I read that and didn't finish this one. Now I have read it all and it is one of my favorites by Clark. I figured it out right before the end and was always held in suspense. I love her mysteries so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    moonlight becomes you

    Moonlight Becomes You This book is absolutely thrilling and mind-boggling. I would suggest that everyone reads the first chapter; it¿s a flashback about the main character and her surprising end. This book has many secrets and characters but when you figure them out, it¿s nothing you could have ever imagined. The author reveals the characters to us, in a third-person omniscient point of view. Though she lets us, the reader, try in figure out who is the protagonist and who is the antagonist. Other than the flashback, the setting is where Maggie is coming to Newport for a shoot for a photography project she is working on, and in this she meets her stepmother, Finnuala Moore. But much to Maggie¿s disappointment, her stepmother as well as some other characters, are murdered. It¿s up to Maggie to find out what happened and who did what. But the challenge to this is that she has to figure it out before she becomes the new victim. The book I had chosen to read was effective enough to make me continue to read all night until three o `clock in the morning in which I started at seven p.m. The beginning of this book was rather weak and uninteresting, but about five semi -chapters later things started to come out which began to boggle my mind and the friend in which was listening to me read. The author used her similes and metaphors wisely to keep you going about who had been where and done what. This book does seem to jump around to different people every semi-chapter, but it keeps you informed about the characters and their actions. Like this for instance, ¿Maggie peered through the old windows of the Victorian house to find Nuala slumped over the chair in the living room, it took a moment then Maggie had started to panic and cry, noticing that Nuala was dead.¿ then it will switch semi-chapters to ¿Nurse Markey had a thing for barging in on the residents at Latham Manor¿¿ Not until the end does the chapters start to clash together in an ensemble of metaphors that get you wondering what was happening. I would suggest this book to anyone who loves horror/mystery. This book does give you messages like locking your door¿s and window¿s, to following your instances, and in doubt to go never go alone in an odd new place. One thing I find important that is kind of good to follow, and that¿s get to know what your ¿friends¿ and acquaintances think of you and know a little of their back ground before you trust them with you or your life. This is a book I find best for a bedtime read. Its not to scary but its up with reality. And always remember things aren¿t always what they seem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Not her very best

    Mary Higgins Clark is an honorable author and i love her books i really do but moonlight becomes you was not her best, i read reviews from this website and didnt believe the reviews that were not exactly praising her book, so i bought the book and wanted to rip the pages and throw the cover to the wall out of frustration, i knew the characters before the ending, no surprise ending, no suspense, i was glad when the book was over. Although the book was not her greatest i still bought other books of hers the next day because I knew she could do way better but the plot was interesting and the beginning of the story was well written, slow, but well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    GREAT BOOKS

    I HAVE READ 6 OF MARYS BOOKS,SHE IS DEFINATELY A GOOD WRITER.IM A 11 YEAR OLD BUT I CAN GET A MENTAL PICTURE OF EVERYTHING MARY IS WRITING.HER WORD JUMP AT YOU AND STICK YOU YOUR MIND LIKE GLUE!ITS WONDERFUL AND ENJOYING TO READ ANY OF HER BOOKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    Shocking Ending

    Only the very best detective could have figured out 'Who done it', in this book. That and the fact that a step-mother was seen in a good light, for a change, were the best parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    It was okay...

    this book was very slow at the beginning but gets a little better at the end. i wouldnt read it again or recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Slow start, mind blowing finish!

    This book took a particularly slow start, but by midway through the book you find your self completely intwined with the twisted plot. Everyone seemed to be a suspect and MHC kept me guessing right to the end! Great Read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    Great suspense story

    Of all MHC's books, I think I enjoyed this one the most. The ending, especially, was riveting. Her main character was likeable and a fairly 'normal' person with whom you could relate. As for the mystery aspect, I thought I knew who did it but was sure there would be some twists and turns and there were! I found 'Moonlight Becomes You' an enjoyable and suspenseful read, recommended for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    i would just like to say...

    this is the best book that i have ever read in my entire life. i just couldn't put this book down! all of mary higgins clark books are exellent but i have to say that this one is one of my favorites! :O) nikki t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    A little disappointing

    Moonlight Becomes You is a very disappointing book by Mary Higgins Clark. One thing I did not like was that it had too many characters in it and I kept mixing people up. I would have given it two stars but I gave it three because the killer's identity shocked me. I would only read this again if I had noting else to read. If you are looking for a good Mary Higgins Clark book don't read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Very Dissipointed

    I was very dissipointed in this Mary Higgins Clark novel. I had read A Cry In The Night before this, which was an excellant book, and was expecting the same with this one. NOT! This book was very slow and somewhat confusing. The only time I enjoyed reading it was when Maggie was the one 'talking'. It was very strange how all these different topics were brought in the book. There were some chapters that were very interesting and filled with suspense, but there were only a few. I did find the last 70so pages very well writen and capturing. But at the end of the book, so many things happen that are so fake and would NEVER happen in the real world. But this book did hold its grounds and I think deserves an average rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3