Customer Reviews for

Moonlight Mile (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is an exhilarating work

Over a decade ago Boston private investigator Patrick Kenzie and his partner-lover Angela Gennaro disagreed with what to do with four years old kidnapping victim Amanda McCready, who they rescued. He followed the letter of the law and returned the child to her mom Hele...
Over a decade ago Boston private investigator Patrick Kenzie and his partner-lover Angela Gennaro disagreed with what to do with four years old kidnapping victim Amanda McCready, who they rescued. He followed the letter of the law and returned the child to her mom Helene; Angela disagreed vehemently as she morally argued the mother neglected her child putting her in harm's way. The child's doting uncle Lionel kidnapped his niece and put her in a good home. His Good Samaritan deed placed him in prison. Angela left Patrick (see Gone, Baby, Gone). Patrick and Angela reconciled, married and have a daughter. They have a tacit agreement never to mention Amanda McCready.

A caller at three in the morning informing Patrick he owes her and he found her once so he can find her again before hanging up. The next day Beatrice McCready apologizes for the call but says she is desperate. She asks Patrick to find her missing sixteen years old niece Amanda. Initially he refuses the case as he has a job interview, but when Beatrice mentions Helene's sex offender boyfriend, having a daughter, Patrick vows this time he will do right by Amanda.

This is an exhilarating sequel as Angela and Patrick are older and allegedly wiser yet both miss the excitement of the hard boiled case and long time pal Bubba still breaks heads. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Patrick's conscience gets to him and never slows down as he works his way through some mean streets and Russian thugs. The ending is super as realism prevails.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed - read any other Lehane instea

I was very excited to see Patrick and Angie return in a fifth book for Lehane, but found this one to lack the suspense and literary passion of the others. Too many modern references created the sense that this book won't stand the test of time - by 2011 it will be date...
I was very excited to see Patrick and Angie return in a fifth book for Lehane, but found this one to lack the suspense and literary passion of the others. Too many modern references created the sense that this book won't stand the test of time - by 2011 it will be dated. That's unfortunate, as the others were great reads. If you like the first four, or Mystic River/Shutter Island, you'll read this one. My advice is to focus on the characters and how they've grown since we've last met - that is the highlight of the book.

posted by sopper6175 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Disappointed - read any other Lehane instea

    I was very excited to see Patrick and Angie return in a fifth book for Lehane, but found this one to lack the suspense and literary passion of the others. Too many modern references created the sense that this book won't stand the test of time - by 2011 it will be dated. That's unfortunate, as the others were great reads. If you like the first four, or Mystic River/Shutter Island, you'll read this one. My advice is to focus on the characters and how they've grown since we've last met - that is the highlight of the book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Kenzie and Gennaro are back!

    Twelve years ago, Boston PI Patrick Kenzie returned kidnapped four-year-old Amanda McCready to her abusive, addicted mother. When the now sixteen-year-old Amanda goes missing again, Patrick and his partner (now wife) Angie Gennaro are plunged back into this impossible case This case haunts them still because doing the "legal thing" isn't always the right thing to do. Amanda had been kidnapped twelve years ago by her concerned and loving Uncle Lionel and a few well meaning cops in order to give her a loving and nurturing home. Kenzie has battled his demons about this case before, in Dennis Lehane's brilliant Gone, Baby, Gone and Prayers for Rain. Patrick just wants his family to be safe and happy, so he's a haunted man until he can find Amanda again. These days the Kenzie-Gennaro household is struggling to get by. Patrick keeps the welfare of their young daughter Gabby in mind when he holds his nose and begins working for a large investigative corporation on a trial basis. However, he gets sidetracked from the corporate monsters when he is drawn back into the McCready case. Kenzie then finds himself forced to fight a pack of abhorrently brutal Russian mobsters that are somehow pulling the strings of those involved in Amanda's recent disappearance. I am a huge admirer of Dennis Lehane's books. I love his well drawn characters, his superbly crafted plot twists and his ever present mind games. This book delivers what we've come to expect from Lehane. Moonlight Mile is the "wrap up" book for these characters and Lehane provides enough backstory for new readers as well as those of us who were a little foggy around the edges about where we last left these people. I highly recommend Moonlight Mile and am sad that it appears that the McCready case is wrapped up. But then, I can always hope there's another story coming along sometime in the future. I just can't believe that we've seen the last of Patrick and Angie.and of course their trusty associate Bubba.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moonlight Rhapsody

    This book hits you like an elbow to the nose. You'll remember the shock and power of it for days to come. If you like a fast paced, hard hitting action story, with a definite touch of reality and soft touch of humanity, then you will really enjoy this latest suspense story by Dennis Lehane. This is a follow up to Lehane's, "Gone, Baby, Gone", a story of the kidnapping and recovery of a four year old girl. The story left off with the question of whether it was better to leave the child with the kindhearted kidnappers or return her to a dysfunctional mother. Twelve years later, the girl is missing again and P.I.'s Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro who found her before, are asked to find her again. The now married investigators are torn over the question of whether they did the right thing the fist time and whether they will be able to tell what is right this time.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exhilarating work

    Over a decade ago Boston private investigator Patrick Kenzie and his partner-lover Angela Gennaro disagreed with what to do with four years old kidnapping victim Amanda McCready, who they rescued. He followed the letter of the law and returned the child to her mom Helene; Angela disagreed vehemently as she morally argued the mother neglected her child putting her in harm's way. The child's doting uncle Lionel kidnapped his niece and put her in a good home. His Good Samaritan deed placed him in prison. Angela left Patrick (see Gone, Baby, Gone). Patrick and Angela reconciled, married and have a daughter. They have a tacit agreement never to mention Amanda McCready.

    A caller at three in the morning informing Patrick he owes her and he found her once so he can find her again before hanging up. The next day Beatrice McCready apologizes for the call but says she is desperate. She asks Patrick to find her missing sixteen years old niece Amanda. Initially he refuses the case as he has a job interview, but when Beatrice mentions Helene's sex offender boyfriend, having a daughter, Patrick vows this time he will do right by Amanda.

    This is an exhilarating sequel as Angela and Patrick are older and allegedly wiser yet both miss the excitement of the hard boiled case and long time pal Bubba still breaks heads. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Patrick's conscience gets to him and never slows down as he works his way through some mean streets and Russian thugs. The ending is super as realism prevails.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    Disappointing, but worth the read.

    I don't want to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read it yet, but I will say that this is by far the worst book in the series. Typically in this series, the ultimate resolution is every bit as enthralling as the build up. Moonlight Mile, however, is pretty much all build up and the ultimate resolution is a bit of a head scratcher, leaving much to be desired. I like the idea of continuing Amanda's saga, but Lehane did a lot of reaching to make the idea work and it never really comes together in a way that is satisfying. But it's still Lehane so it's worth the read. I just hope this isn't the end of the series, although it sure seems as though it is.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Well done, not the best but I liked it a lot.

    I have been looking forward to a new Kenzie and Angie book for a few years now. This is it, but for some reason it make me sad that this well may be the final book in their continuing story. They are somewhat settled down..thank heavens not in suburbia, But still in the Dot. I am glad my favorite character is back. I just love Bubba. Although I liked the movie "Gone Baby Gone" I did not like that he was missing from the film.

    The plot is quite good even in the action isn't as fast paced, the characters are well defined. Especially the newer ones. I found the Russians to be quite interesting, if not brutal and even a tad comical.
    They make the Mafia look like choir boys.

    Finding Amanda McCready again is the plot. She's a teenager with so much baggage and she is strong and determined and if not a totally likable person she's unforgettable.

    I recommend this for all of the Kenzie and Angie fans out there.

    I sure hope this is not the end.....only a new start to new adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific Read

    Dennis Lehane revisits the kidnapping of Amanda McCready from his earlier book, GONE, BABY, GONE. He's brought back Patrick Kenzie and Angie Gennaro, Boston private investigators, now married with a child of their own. The economy has hit Patrick and Angie hard since she's returned to school and he has been doing contract investigations for a large firm in Boston. Hopeful that his latest job for the firm will land him permanent employment with benefits, Patrick is sidetracked when Amanda's Aunt beseeches him to find the sixteen year old honor student who's missing again.

    While searching for the missing girl, Patrick is forced to once again face the moral issues of having returned Amanda to her mother twelve years earlier, a dilemma he struggles with throughout the novel. Assisted by Angie, his search takes him through the Russian underworld in Boston and a baby selling ring. Along the way, Patrick begins to reassess his own life and future.

    Not quite as good as Lehane's earlier books, MOONLIGHT MILE is still a terrific read. Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    I was excited but

    The numourous uses of the word retard(ed) has stopped me reading this book. I find the word so derogitory and insulting that i couldnt continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend

    I've read all of Lehane's books and his Kenzie-Gennaro series are the best !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Another Lehane success

    Lehane is always very good, usually excellent. This is one of the better Kenzie/Gennaro adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great addition to the Kenzie Gennaro Series

    Great sequel to Gone Baby Gone. A dozen years later, Amanda McCready disappears again. As in the previous Kenzie Gennaro books there are plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader glued to the page. Will there be a movie made from this book? Only time will tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Just so so

    Almost felt like this one was forced out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    another keeper for the library

    The story is engrossing and well paced. I would give it 4 1/2, but it won't let me. For me to give something a five would take a top 10 book of all time. That said, it was still very worth the read.

    I love how Kenzie and Gennaro both change and deepen as time goes on without losing what makes them fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Interesting Mystery

    Looking for an alternative in mystery books? Try this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Decent read,though not much action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Good Sequel

    Patrick Kenzie's life has settled down in the past few years. He married his long time love, Angie Gennaro and he is now working as a freelance investigator trying to get on full-time with a mainly white collar investigation firm. Angie is going back to school so she can help children and they have a young daughter. This new life is completely changed when an old case comes back.
    Twelve years ago, they made a decision about an abducted little girl-they gave her back to an unfit mother and took her away from loving kidnappers. Now, the girl, Amanda, is sixteen and she's gone again. Patrick agrees to take the case and try to find her again. The couple feels they have to know what happened to that long ago little girl whose case has haunted them.
    The search brings in a lot of characters from Russian Mobsters to Bubba, the couple's monster of a friend! Searching for Amanda leads them down a path that may just cost them more than they are willing to pay.
    Fast-paced, intriguing plot, and interesting characters make this book a thrilling mystery.

    Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    #6 in the Kenzie, Gennaro series by Dennis Lehane. If you have read one then you know you can't get enough off them! This is my thrid time reading them :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Good read

    Lehane is a great writer. This isnt my fav but it was an interesting sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Solid Lehane

    Familiar characters with some new twists. One of the better Patrick Kenzie series. Fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Recommended

    Moonlight Mile tells the story of a girl Amnada who vanishes with her friend. Patrick a private investigator who puts his family in harm to find her. Patrick struggles to understand her for her reseans of leaving. Amanda and her friend are being hunted down by Russians who want to get what they took from them back. I recommend the book beacuse it keeps you reading with all the action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16