Customer Reviews for

Moonlight Mile (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 313 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is an exhilarating work

Over a decade ago Boston private investigator Patrick Kenzie and his partner-lover Angela Gennaro disagreed with what to do with four years old kidnapping victim Amanda McCready, who they rescued. He followed the letter of the law and returned the child to her mom Hele...
Over a decade ago Boston private investigator Patrick Kenzie and his partner-lover Angela Gennaro disagreed with what to do with four years old kidnapping victim Amanda McCready, who they rescued. He followed the letter of the law and returned the child to her mom Helene; Angela disagreed vehemently as she morally argued the mother neglected her child putting her in harm's way. The child's doting uncle Lionel kidnapped his niece and put her in a good home. His Good Samaritan deed placed him in prison. Angela left Patrick (see Gone, Baby, Gone). Patrick and Angela reconciled, married and have a daughter. They have a tacit agreement never to mention Amanda McCready.

A caller at three in the morning informing Patrick he owes her and he found her once so he can find her again before hanging up. The next day Beatrice McCready apologizes for the call but says she is desperate. She asks Patrick to find her missing sixteen years old niece Amanda. Initially he refuses the case as he has a job interview, but when Beatrice mentions Helene's sex offender boyfriend, having a daughter, Patrick vows this time he will do right by Amanda.

This is an exhilarating sequel as Angela and Patrick are older and allegedly wiser yet both miss the excitement of the hard boiled case and long time pal Bubba still breaks heads. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Patrick's conscience gets to him and never slows down as he works his way through some mean streets and Russian thugs. The ending is super as realism prevails.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed - read any other Lehane instea

I was very excited to see Patrick and Angie return in a fifth book for Lehane, but found this one to lack the suspense and literary passion of the others. Too many modern references created the sense that this book won't stand the test of time - by 2011 it will be date...
I was very excited to see Patrick and Angie return in a fifth book for Lehane, but found this one to lack the suspense and literary passion of the others. Too many modern references created the sense that this book won't stand the test of time - by 2011 it will be dated. That's unfortunate, as the others were great reads. If you like the first four, or Mystic River/Shutter Island, you'll read this one. My advice is to focus on the characters and how they've grown since we've last met - that is the highlight of the book.

posted by sopper6175 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Moonlight Rhapsody

    This book hits you like an elbow to the nose. You'll remember the shock and power of it for days to come. If you like a fast paced, hard hitting action story, with a definite touch of reality and soft touch of humanity, then you will really enjoy this latest suspense story by Dennis Lehane. This is a follow up to Lehane's, "Gone, Baby, Gone", a story of the kidnapping and recovery of a four year old girl. The story left off with the question of whether it was better to leave the child with the kindhearted kidnappers or return her to a dysfunctional mother. Twelve years later, the girl is missing again and P.I.'s Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro who found her before, are asked to find her again. The now married investigators are torn over the question of whether they did the right thing the fist time and whether they will be able to tell what is right this time.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exhilarating work

    Over a decade ago Boston private investigator Patrick Kenzie and his partner-lover Angela Gennaro disagreed with what to do with four years old kidnapping victim Amanda McCready, who they rescued. He followed the letter of the law and returned the child to her mom Helene; Angela disagreed vehemently as she morally argued the mother neglected her child putting her in harm's way. The child's doting uncle Lionel kidnapped his niece and put her in a good home. His Good Samaritan deed placed him in prison. Angela left Patrick (see Gone, Baby, Gone). Patrick and Angela reconciled, married and have a daughter. They have a tacit agreement never to mention Amanda McCready.

    A caller at three in the morning informing Patrick he owes her and he found her once so he can find her again before hanging up. The next day Beatrice McCready apologizes for the call but says she is desperate. She asks Patrick to find her missing sixteen years old niece Amanda. Initially he refuses the case as he has a job interview, but when Beatrice mentions Helene's sex offender boyfriend, having a daughter, Patrick vows this time he will do right by Amanda.

    This is an exhilarating sequel as Angela and Patrick are older and allegedly wiser yet both miss the excitement of the hard boiled case and long time pal Bubba still breaks heads. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Patrick's conscience gets to him and never slows down as he works his way through some mean streets and Russian thugs. The ending is super as realism prevails.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific Read

    Dennis Lehane revisits the kidnapping of Amanda McCready from his earlier book, GONE, BABY, GONE. He's brought back Patrick Kenzie and Angie Gennaro, Boston private investigators, now married with a child of their own. The economy has hit Patrick and Angie hard since she's returned to school and he has been doing contract investigations for a large firm in Boston. Hopeful that his latest job for the firm will land him permanent employment with benefits, Patrick is sidetracked when Amanda's Aunt beseeches him to find the sixteen year old honor student who's missing again.

    While searching for the missing girl, Patrick is forced to once again face the moral issues of having returned Amanda to her mother twelve years earlier, a dilemma he struggles with throughout the novel. Assisted by Angie, his search takes him through the Russian underworld in Boston and a baby selling ring. Along the way, Patrick begins to reassess his own life and future.

    Not quite as good as Lehane's earlier books, MOONLIGHT MILE is still a terrific read. Lynn Kimmerle

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend

    I've read all of Lehane's books and his Kenzie-Gennaro series are the best !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great addition to the Kenzie Gennaro Series

    Great sequel to Gone Baby Gone. A dozen years later, Amanda McCready disappears again. As in the previous Kenzie Gennaro books there are plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader glued to the page. Will there be a movie made from this book? Only time will tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly recommended

    #6 in the Kenzie, Gennaro series by Dennis Lehane. If you have read one then you know you can't get enough off them! This is my thrid time reading them :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Not just for kenzie/gennaro lovers but a must read if you are

    Finally completes Gone, Baby Gone. If you still can't believe how that turned out-neither can Patrick and Angie. I've been so grateful to have Lehane (and these characters) now that there will be no more Spenser novels and never more so than with this book. Will leave you hungry for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    I am so glad Patrick and Angie are back. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    amazing

    one of his best fitting end or another memorable chapter, either way, couldt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Highly Recommend - Wonderful, fast paced, exciting adventure

    I bought this as the sequel to a Dennis LeHane hard back book my daughter gave me for my birthday. It did not dissappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Four-and-a-half Stars....

    The popular detective duo Kenzie and Gennaro return to revisit the dysfunctional McCready family (Gone Baby Gone), who are entangled with drugs, the Russian mob, and a priceless religious icon. The totally unlikeable mother Helene has not improved over the years, and her daughter Amanda, now a teenager, is filled with anger and a determination to leave her toxic home environment. The novel brims with vivid characters and plenty of action. The only tiny flaw for me is that though Amanda is bright and well-educated, having her converse at age sixteen like a doctoral candidate of forty is a bit of a stretch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    phenomenal

    As a devoted fan of the first five Kenzie and Gennaro novels, I began Moonlight Mile with obscenely high expectations. I was not disappointed in any way. Lehane maintains the wry, dark attitude of his two protagonists, but it has been tempered by the long years between this novel and Prayers for Rain. His characters have grown up and grown as people, and this makes Moonligh Mile just as good as, if not better than, his previous Kenzie and Gennaro stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    This book is the sequel to Gone, Baby, Gone. While it's not necessary to read that one first, I would suggest it simply because it's too good to miss.

    Lehane writes with a touch of humor, with dialogue that will make you smile even in the midst of a crisis. The plot taps into some very real moral and social issues, giving readers something to think about long after the last page has been turned. Dennis Lehane is a brilliant writer and the only complaint I have is that the book had to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    hooray

    yay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Moonlight Mile

    I just finished this novel and I am sad to say that this may be the last Patrick Kenzie/Angela Gennaro novel. None of Lehane's novels cease to amaze me, he is not only one of the best crime writers, but one of the greatest writers, period. I think it's unfair that people like Lehane, Richard Price, and George Pelecanos can't win awards like the Pulitzer Prize, all of their books are amazing. Back to Moonlight Mile. Along with the third book in the series, Sacred, I found that Moonlight Mile was the closest to the classic noir novels of Chandler and Hammett. This novel was full of great dark characters and the plot was very well though-out. Read this book and all other Dennis Lehane novels, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rich Characterization & Great Plot!

    After reading Gone Baby Gone by Dennis Lehane, I had to get this book! I try not to spend more than $9.99 for an ebook, but I made an exception for this one and I'm glad I did. Not only do you get a great plot, but you also get rich characters that just go deeper and deeper as you get into the story. I have many of his books on my wishlist now and though I'm sad that he's ending this series and characters, I'm looking forward to his future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's REview

    I must start off by saying that I am a HUGE Dennis Lehane fan. Mystic River was brilliant and Shutter Island left me speechless. Needless to say, I had very high expectation for this book and was more than impressed with the story. If you're a mystery/thriller fan, you have to read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6