Customer Reviews for

Moonshine

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Reticent Reader's Enthusiastic Review

    If you did a poll to ascertain who among us was least into vampires I would likely rank near the top of the list. While I am a loyal fantasy junkie of the first degree, I have never been a fan of vampires, never understood the draw, and lament on a daily basis the vampire craze that has seemingly replaced all other varieties of fantasy on the YA shelves of Borders and Barnes and Noble, something I find deeply frustrating.

    Nevertheless, while I may be no fan of vampires, I *am* a fan of this book. I have been reading Alaya's work for a long time and while it was my loyalty to her as an author that led me to this novel, it is her ingenuity as a writer and Zephyr's engaging, light-hearted tone that never takes itself too seriously that kept me hypnotically turning the pages. This is an intelligent, witty book that while aiming (and succeeding) to be fun and funny will nevertheless make you think about the nature of prejudice and all those who are labeled "other" in any society.

    To be brief: This is not my kind of book--but I loved it anyway.

    One final note: I've noticed a lot of reviewers and bloggers calling this Alaya's debut novel and I wanted to say to those who loved it and are looking for more of Alaya's work that it is in fact her second novel, not her first. Her debut novel is called "Racing the Dark" and is the first in a truly engrossing fantasy trilogy called "The Spirit Binders." The second installment, "The Burning City," will be released on June 1st. Fans of fantasy, Alaya and "Moonshine" should definitely check them out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous urban historical fantasy

    In 1920s Manhattan, Zephyr Hollis is a rare human immune to vampires. The offspring of a demon hunter, she is a social activist who always makes time for the Family Action Committee for Nonhuman Laborers equal rights protests of City Hall (to the chagrin of Mayor Jimmy Walker) and teaches at a Lower East Side night school for underprivileged paranormal.

    Considered a softhearted liberal, Zephyr is surprised when her student Amir the djinn suggest she kill vampire mobster Rinaldo. However, Amir never explains why Rinaldo must die, but she agrees as she can use the money he offers. Zephyr turns to the ruthless Turn Boys for insider trading information even as her hunting father prepares to kill them and the bloodsuckers high on a new customized street drug try to dine on her.

    Moonshine is a fabulous urban historical fantasy that will have readers believing in a paranormal 1920s New York City though Gentleman Jimmy is probably turning over in his grave. The amusing story line never takes it self seriously even when blood (not always red) flows. Although the city (and somewhat story line) is inundated by the horde of supernatural species, fans will enjoy the Roaring Twenties Manhattan adventures of the Vampire Suffragette

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Nightsade

    Ikr but m nit complainin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Summerwind

    Coolio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Nova

    Nighshade?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    PARTY

    EIGHT THIRTY IS PARTY TIME!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    No Real Challenge

    (Originally posted http://book-addicts.com/blog/2010/08/review-moonshine/)

    I have a fascination with the richness of the 1920's: the glitz and glamour, flapper dresses, jazz music, desperation, ignorance, corruption, to name just a few. Moonshine captures all of these things and more. The streets of 1920's New York gets shined on with a gritty light and reveals what life would have been like if you added other dark denizens haunting the streets, particularly vampires. It's a tale that'll make you rethink the promises that you've kept and not to throw your trust around lightly.

    The story opens with Zephyr dodging traffic on her bike as she races through the streets on a cold New York winter day. The first of her troubles begins when she discovers the latest - and youngest - victim of a vampire gang known as the Turn Boys. This gang has done more harm by preying on the weak and further marring the reputation of the Others - a term used to describe anything non-human - than Zephyr can restore.

    Zephyr is an activist committing her time and energy to help all denizens of New York including Others, by participating in rallies and teaching classes to those less fortunate like immigrants or the occasional vampire.

    Zephyr has many faults. She's too innocent and trusting. She gives all of her money, money that should have gone to her boarding house, on an act of good will for a vampire hard on his luck. She doesn't even think about the fact that if she didn't pay the landlady the next day that she'd be turned out onto the street.

    Though this book has a very rich weave of characters and world building, I felt Zephyr got away with a lot of stupid things. There was a lot of risk-taking, and in some cases, extreme actions being made, but little to no consequences in response. One of the most unbelievable situations was when she decided to take on nine starving vampires.

    It's like playing a video game in God-mode. You go through the motions of taking on the challenges but without there being any real danger. So the book wasn't the worst I've read, but it was definitely not the best. I did love the world building and the setting, but I thought it was too unrealistic; the tasks set out for our heroine a little too easily overcome and her character was someone I really couldn't sympathize with. Towards the end, without giving anything away, I really didn't feel any compassion for Amir and didn't agree with Zephyr's life-changing decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It just... ended.

    Moonshine

    I'm not sure if this is a stand alone book or not. If anyone knows I would love to be let in on this secret. As a stand alone book I am deeply frustrated with Moonshine. However, if it's the first book in a series or merely has a sequel I'm all for upping my rating. Moonshine does not set out to be a romance book, it is not shelved in the romance section, but there is a romance arc involved and my whole issue with my distaste is how this arc is tied up - or merely left hanging.

    The Setting -- of Moonshine is a wonderfully creative, complex den of societies upon societies in early 1920's America, specifically New York. This is a world where vampires could be your co-worker, a djin your next door neighbor - or any number of other things for that matter. There is a world order, a pecking order if you will, and it all falls very nearly in line with history as you or I know it.

    The Characters -- were very fun. Zephyr is the vampire sufferegette, daughter if the infamous vampire slayer and demon hunter. She works for charities, pro rights organizations and even teaches a night school for immigrants, most of whom are of a paranormal bent. Her mysterious Amir is a wonderful can of worms that I both loved and hated and strangely found myself sympathetic of. There is a whole cast of wonderfully crafted characters! What I like is the very believable motivations. I can understand why Nicholas would make his deal with Zephyr. I can understand the one character who does everything for the sake of his wife. In life there is very rarely a clear-cut "bad guy" and that's the case with Moonshine. The complex characters weave their stories in and around one another so that you're never really sure who is and is not the real menace.

    The Plot -- is, in simplest forms, a take-the-bad-guy-down story. However, layered over this are people fixing their wrongs, corrupt politicians, and struggling single parents. I was cheering on several different people, who were sometimes at odds with one another, because I felt sympathy for their situation. I could get what their problems were. The ending was bittersweet, and I liked that - but like I said before, I did not care for the way the romance arc ended. Sometimes, yes, you are writing one type of story, but have elements of another within. Moonshine did one well, and another one poorly - for my tastes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A 1920s Vampire Story

    This book is set in the 20s. Not exactly the roaring 20s we usually are privileged to have in our movies, but more like the social problems of the 20s we rarely see. This book, of course, goes further and has another group of people who suffer the injustices of prejudice. "The Others" are any groups of people who aren't human.

    Zephyr is a "do-gooder" with a heart of gold. She doesn't blindly try to help anyone in need (but she does what she can for those who ask) and sees the hypocrisy of some of the groups she has joined. She understands there is no perfect situation but also believes that everyone has a right to be treated as equals. It's not about saving everyone or that even that everyone needs saved. It's more about the fact that no one is above another. She knows who she is and is willing to suffer for that knowing. These are reasons why I just loved this character.

    Amir, her mysterious student and counterpart proposes an offer she can't refuse. As she tries to discover what he is hiding and helping him catch the biggest mob boss on her side of town she starts to fall for him. Although this attraction seems mutual, there is no easy way for them to be together. They do make a good pair as they both challenge what they believe is true in their lives and why. However, as Zephyr's inquiry starts to get more dangerous, Amir tries to pull her from the fray even though he knows it is an impossible task. He respects her independence but needs her help desperately. In the end they are both torn as to what is the right thing and living with the consequences.

    Although this didn't end in a cliffhanger, it does have an open ending. I want more! I am so hoping that this is a series. I give this book 4 1/2 stars. It is a wonderful read and I recommend this to anyone looking for a different type of vampire read. Love that it was set in a specific time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jazz Age Urban Fantasy: Entertaining And Exuberant

    The book is a combination romance/mystery with thriller elements set in an alternative world of 1920s New York. The Jazz Age references, (from the inclusion of famous personages such as Gentlemen Jimmy Walker to the hazards of negotiating narrow N. Y. streets between a newly minted Model T and a horse drawn hackney), are fun and vibrant. Further, the supernaturals, (mainly consisting of vampires and djinn in this novel), are imaginative and detailed. (Note, other supernaturals such as fairies, demons and werewolves are mentioned in passing.) The dialogue is sharp, but the historical accuracy, in terms of the expressions used by the protagonist, lessens as the plot progresses. Eventually both the dialogue and story take on an urgent, distinctly contemporary flavor.

    The plot is inventive with twists, complications and colorful characters. It's a real page turner with an engaging do-gooder protagonist named Zephyr Hollis. She's idealistic, smart, emotionally youthful and just a tad naive. Nonetheless. Zephyr's dangerous and has been trained by her famous monster hunter father to take out supernaturals. Further, she's immune to the vampire contagion.

    The primary story starts when one of Zephyr's night students, (a foreign, alluring and mysterious man named Amir), agrees to take a newly turned 11 year old vampire boy rescued by Zephyr in return for her consideration of his offer to pay her for locating the whereabouts of a Little Italy crime boss named Rinaldo Sanguinetti. Rinaldo controls the upper east side through an infamous and viscous vampire gang known as the 'Turn Boys', but the crime lord himself hasn't been seen for years. A secondary mystery concerning the identity of that 11 year old vampire intertwines with the mystery surrounding Rinaldo and the reason for Amir's need to find him. Almost immediately a charged romance develops between Zephyr and Amir.

    The narrative is enlivened by complications which include rioting vampires hooked on an inebriating vampiric street drug called "Faust' and the sudden arrival of Zephyr's parents in New York. Eventually, the story evolves into a thrilling quest to find Rinaldo before Zephyr's father and his cadre of fellow-hunters takes out Zephyr's only lead, the unstable 13 year old leader of the 'Turn Boys' named Nicholas.

    Written from the first-person perspective of Zephyr, the story is fast-paced and exciting. Further, the romance is sizzling but not overdone. The narrative is periodically punctuated by action sequences as well as romantic interludes, and a frenetic, action-packed climax is reached. IMO, this is a very entertaining first installment in a series which promises to be both inventive and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1