Customer Reviews for

Moonshiner The Wolf

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

*It all happens in God's country*

If you are looking for blood and guts caused by the knife wielding madman or a story of sexual arousal, this is not the book for you. Instead, anticipate a love connection between this woman and Moonshiner. From the beginning, this story will take you along through ex...
If you are looking for blood and guts caused by the knife wielding madman or a story of sexual arousal, this is not the book for you. Instead, anticipate a love connection between this woman and Moonshiner. From the beginning, this story will take you along through explosive, touching life experiences, which finally end with a positive note decades later. Being a public school librarian, I highly recommend this story to everyone!

posted by DaleStuart on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well written

I enjoyed the story.

posted by 6493123 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    *It all happens in God's country*

    If you are looking for blood and guts caused by the knife wielding madman or a story of sexual arousal, this is not the book for you. Instead, anticipate a love connection between this woman and Moonshiner. From the beginning, this story will take you along through explosive, touching life experiences, which finally end with a positive note decades later. Being a public school librarian, I highly recommend this story to everyone!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Refreshing quality read!

    It taps into attributes that some classics have, something going on beneath the story such as pointing out what is wrong with the society that the protagonist lives in and trying to teach or make a point. In this book, the author states an account of Angela's (the protagonist) very long life on her ranch in Texas. She tells with classic simplicity and complexity of the remarkable ghostly encounters and fights and struggles Angela endured. She also tells of the attention provided by Angela's wolf friend, Moonshiner, who plays a significant role, almost like a second protagonist. The story has some literary merit, surely readers of all ages can enjoy it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    From the moment of birth, all of us want bliss and don't want to

    From the moment of birth, all of us want bliss and don't want to suffer. This woman did but she faced up to obstacles to relieve the suffering. The characters grow as the story progresses, and instead of lots of dialogue, the story is told through the actions of the characters. In between the violence, the dynamics of this story have the power to affect our sense of humanity by presenting to us what will ultimately bring the greatest degree of happiness. I enjoyed reading it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Story of Self Reliance

    This book helps us to understand two things: One, life is about the realization that if you know something has to be done, be self-reliant and do it, which in turn creates a strong sense of worth. And two, for some of us it can be difficult to know others as deeply as we might like to, especially those we love the most. Be good to those you love so you can live with them after this life, forever and ever.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Kudos! Bravo! Bravo!

    Congratulations for bringing us this heart-wrentching story that so many of us can relate to. The protagonist loves this wolf like we would love a dog. What is different about this story is that the wolf's spirit returns to uplift her during tragic times. I read it in two days and loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    It's like 3D!

    The best time to read this is when you grab the hot cocoa and get comfy in front of the fireplace. I have a few favorite scenes, but if I had to choose one, I would say the 16 foot long whip fight between Jess and the alpha wolf tops all the others, it's like 3D!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Very good story.

    Great main character and others too. Well written, captivating, exciting, harsh reality mixed with ghostly spirits and unconditional, eternal love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Realistic yet mystical. Brutal yet tender, this wolf was awesom

    Realistic yet mystical. Brutal yet tender, this wolf was awesome! He had to be the bravest wolf that ever lived with fight scenes that were so compelling. An enjoyable read that I recommend to others!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Unlike any wolf story I have ever read, good in every way.

    Unlike any wolf story I have ever read, good in every way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    OMG

    I feel like im gona cry. THAT WAS SO SAD!!! *cries loudly*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Well written

    I enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Good read

    Good read. Definately worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Interesting

    Although I also felt the writing was stilted and perhaps not the most polished I have read, I did enjoy this true story told by a family member. We may not all be Shakesphere but I think there are lessons to be learned in others lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I cared about the characters and I felt an emotional experience

    I cared about the characters and I felt an emotional experience in this down to earth portrayal of a seemingly simple woman and her friend who overcame the odds during the cruelest of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Cggghhghhjbri

    Unufthkjjdedsefxgjkmml

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Questtion......

    How do you delete books

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Terrible

    Written in a horrible overly stilted fashion. Boring and dry. Maybe it was the way it was written. I felt i was reading an english composition written by a college proffesor who was anal compulsive. Too boring to continue. Deleted. Would not recommend at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2