Customer Reviews for

Morality for Beautiful Girls (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A pleasing and informative series

This series entertains while giving the reader a look into the very different life lived in Africa. We become acquainted with some of the traditions of the African people while getting to know and admire the strong-willed and clever Mma Ramotswe, proprietress of the No....
This series entertains while giving the reader a look into the very different life lived in Africa. We become acquainted with some of the traditions of the African people while getting to know and admire the strong-willed and clever Mma Ramotswe, proprietress of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency. Mma Ramotswe is deeply dedicated to her clients, her employees, and her friends. She strives to do what is right, and does not always have the heart to put herself and her business ahead of others, though she really needs to. As with all the books in this series, her cases are varied and many, and range from amusing -which beauty contestant is the shallowest? - to implausible -is the mysterious un-talking boy who smells of lion really a feral child? - to plausible -is someone slowly poisoning a young husband? - Mma Ramotswe values integrity and reliability above all else, and treats each case -and every person- with serious and careful consideration.

posted by Jay-Fer on March 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a Thriller

While these are not the mystery thrillers that crowd our market, it doesn't change my interest in them. I took this book on a plane to read while in flight and at my destination. I ended up bringing it home with me which I seldom do. It was not for the mystery, but for ...
While these are not the mystery thrillers that crowd our market, it doesn't change my interest in them. I took this book on a plane to read while in flight and at my destination. I ended up bringing it home with me which I seldom do. It was not for the mystery, but for the life messages contained in the book. I find myself reading them to my family.
Too bad the ladies weren't vampires so our younger readers would dig into the books.

posted by bottineau41 on November 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    A lovely read.

    Not nearly as wonderful as the first in the series, (hard to top) but another nice read that follows the life of Precious. Delightful.....and as my friends who lived in Lesotho and Botswana say, McCall is pitch perfect in every detail of life there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    A pleasing and informative series

    This series entertains while giving the reader a look into the very different life lived in Africa. We become acquainted with some of the traditions of the African people while getting to know and admire the strong-willed and clever Mma Ramotswe, proprietress of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency. Mma Ramotswe is deeply dedicated to her clients, her employees, and her friends. She strives to do what is right, and does not always have the heart to put herself and her business ahead of others, though she really needs to. As with all the books in this series, her cases are varied and many, and range from amusing -which beauty contestant is the shallowest? - to implausible -is the mysterious un-talking boy who smells of lion really a feral child? - to plausible -is someone slowly poisoning a young husband? - Mma Ramotswe values integrity and reliability above all else, and treats each case -and every person- with serious and careful consideration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Not a Thriller

    While these are not the mystery thrillers that crowd our market, it doesn't change my interest in them. I took this book on a plane to read while in flight and at my destination. I ended up bringing it home with me which I seldom do. It was not for the mystery, but for the life messages contained in the book. I find myself reading them to my family.
    Too bad the ladies weren't vampires so our younger readers would dig into the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    How can you not love these books?

    I love this series and can't wait for the next book. They bring to life an African country I know little about and a value system that is gone from our world (USA). The characters are real and warm, people you would like to sit down with and have a cup of tea. Her detective work is serious and sometimes sad, but also funny and helpful to those with problems large or small. A great summer read but do start with book #1.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Yucy book

    I hated it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I am reading this series in order

    I am reading this series in order and I love Precious and her story. The chapters are short and the stories are simple - but the message is profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Vote

    Will be on april 18 throigh 21 the awards gonna be...... most helpful award,most popular award and most here!!!!! There will be voting whos the smartest coolest and beautifulest!!!!! Chlow much love auestions answered at res2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I read all the books in this series and really enjoyed them all including this one. I want to read more of Alexander McCall Smith's other writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A feel good read

    This book as well as the others in this series is a good read. Great book for women everywhere. Message: smarts are more important then looks and it will get you further. An unusual plot for the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency but an important morality for women to learn. Mma Ramotswe's assistant (Mma Makutsi) needed just this kind of case to boost her confidence in making up for (according to her) her own lack of beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Continue to find joy in reading this series, The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency. Anticipating the HBO Series March 29!

    The third book in this series, shows the unconditional love Madam Ramotswe, has for her fiance in his time of great need. These women show great strength and widsom. Add the story of love, mystery, and drama makes this series a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Delightful episode in the continuing stories of Precious and her detective agency. Characters feel real. Botswana seems to have some desirable country characteristics and charm.

    The Number One Ladies Detective Agency, Tears of the Giraffe, Water for Elephants, Bel Canto, Run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Morally great!!!

    In this novel, Precious Ramotswe plans the merger of the offices and staffs of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency and the Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors garage. Mma Makutsi assures her that she can straighten out the garage files. Then Mma Ramotswe discovers that Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni is suffering from depression and unable to concentrate on any of his work. The two apprentices are mostly goofing off and getting very little work done. Precious offers the position of assistant manager of the garage to Mma Makutsi in addition to her other duties. The new assistant manager soon takes charge, motivating the apprentices and satisfying the customers. Mma Pakotwane asks Precious for some advice concerning a child newly received by the orphanage. The child will not wear clothes and is unable to speak. Moreover, one of the men who found the child in the wild stated that the boy smelled of lions. Mma Ramotswe reluctantly takes on a big case for a very important Government Man, who believes that his brother is being poisoned by the brother's new wife. Mma goes to live with the family for a while and even gets poisoned along with most of the family. While Precious is away, Mma Makutsi takes on a case for Mr. Moemedi Pulani concerning the participants in the Miss Beauty and Integrity contest. Mr. Pulani is well known in Botswana for his beauty pageants and contributions to charity. However, two scandals in recent pageants have persuaded him to consider integrity as well as beauty in the contestants. While he has tried to weed out the immoral girls, he is beginning to think that he has not done that good of a job. He asks Mma Makutsi to investigate the five remaining participants and determine which are moral enough to meet his standards. He wants the job done within three days.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Can a Man Really Write About Women So Convincingly?

    Having read all of the books in this series, it is still hard for me to believe that a man is the author! McCall Smith captures the thoughts and emotions of Mme Ramotswe and her assistant so convincingly that you have to keep glancing at his photo on the back of the jacket to make sure he's really a he! While the plot lines of the Ladies' Detective Agency books are simple, the stories are beautifully told and make you feel as if you are really in Botswana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    This is a SIX star book!

    This book, like all the others by this wonderful and personally delightful author, is truly a SIX star book - as are all the others in this series. Buy the lot and then look out for the new ones he has written. You will be enchanted - as I was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Another 5 Star Book!

    I just loved this book, loved everything about it. I see that some have been critical about this series of books, claiming they are too simple. Simple? Perhaps, but complex too. The stories are told simply, straightforward, easy to read, easy to follow, hard to put down. This is some of the very best writing I've read in a long time, fiction with soul, class, fun, joy, honesty. These books make me cry and laugh. Everyone I know is reading them now or has just finished all four of them. We only wish there were more of them. Best read of the summer, by far. Treat yourself to these totally cool, fabulously fun, wonderful books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    A Delightful Series

    I first saw the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency on the B&N site, then it popped up on the best seller list. After picking it up a few times I finally purchased it out of curiousity. I am not usually a reader of the cozy-type mystery and with the front cover hailing it The Miss Marple of Botswana I was reluctant to buy a copy. I had no idea what to expect, but I am always on the lookout for a new (to me) author. I finished the first and bought the next two in the series. I have just finished Morality For Beautiful Girls. All three books were quite enjoyable reads with likeable characters. The books were a cultural learning experience. The detecting and deducing is interspersed with wonderful stories and writings of African culture, words of wisdom and wit. These books are quite different from what I usually read, but I certainly plan to continue with this entertaining series. HOWEVER, I do recommend reading them in order so that you may see each character and their story unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4