Customer Reviews for

More Diners, Drive-ins and Dives: A Drop-Top Culinary Cruise Through America's Finest and Funkiest Joints

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun to read

We received this as a gift from someone who knows Diner, Drive-Ins and Dives is one of ou favorite programs on the Food Channel. The recipes are great and we are having a good time trying them out.

posted by wannabwriter on February 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's still a good read ... however ...

More Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives: A Drop-Top Culinary Cruise Through America's Finest and Funkiest Joints could have been extremely valuable to me if: #1 pictures of the food were included, and #2 all of the recipes were in the typical "recipe format" -- half were in a ...
More Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives: A Drop-Top Culinary Cruise Through America's Finest and Funkiest Joints could have been extremely valuable to me if: #1 pictures of the food were included, and #2 all of the recipes were in the typical "recipe format" -- half were in a "story" format which made it very difficult. Don't get me wrong, its still a good cook book, but it could have been a great one. Guy Feri rocks!

posted by barefootcook on January 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    four words: gorilla mac and cheese

    as much as i've tried to get into watching guy on tv, i can't. he's just too much, but that's his deal. his books are a distilled version of this and much easier to take. that said, guy's all over the map (literally, figuratively, and culinar-ily) with this book. there is something for everyone in this book. i recommend this for someone interested the food but also the essence of what makes guy fieri a star: pure, unadulterated awesome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Awesome!

    This book is great for anyone who is a fan of the show. Guy Fieri really makes an effort to share a little bit of the establishments he's been to, as well as the food he's eaten. It's easy to read, and lets the viewer know a little more about places that they might not otherwise hear of. Great gift idea!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Ah Spring! That fateful season when even the most puritanical a

    Ah Spring! That fateful season when even the most puritanical amongst us sniff out this country’s uniquely sensual musk and give in to baser pleasures and the more libidinous pursuits. When any simpleton’s thoughts stray to the curves of a lady’s body, but when a true gentleman calls to mind the sublime contours and cul-de-sacs of Lady America herself. When any sufficiently patriotic soul is drawn again, inexorably, to his once and future mistress - the road. I journey now to find my country. I fear I embark too late to discover the golds of Oregon country or the oils of Texarkana, yet greater riches still await we adventurous few. Like all swashbucklers of yore I, too, have found my treasure map - Guy Fieri’s Drop-Top Culinary Cruise Through America’s Finest and Funkiest Joints. And there are X’es marking so many spots on this wondrous map! RJ’s Bob-B-Que Shack, John Mull’s Meats and Road Kill Grill, Ham Barn, Foolish Craig’s Cafe, J.T. Pubdick’s Oyster Feed, The Oinkster and Mustache Bill’s to name just a sampling!  As I embark on my Campbellian hero’s journey I look not to Meriwether Lewis or William Clark for inspiration. Theirs was a mission of greed, of crass materialism, of the vainglorious thirst for that tepid tonic of glory. Guy’s is a mission of pleasure - the unapologetic pursuit of perfection in this great nation’s diner’s, drive-ins, and yes, even its dives. M. Fieri et al. understand America. Theirs is the voice of the people. His is the voice of truth. So I head west as Toms Joad and Waits both have done before me. First stop: Super Duper Weenie of Fairfield, CT. Next stop... adventure?
    - L. Art Bachmann

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    very good book!

    i really loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Another fun book!

    If you enjoy Guy, then this is a great book for you....it's casual, fun and quirky---just like him!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    CHOPPED RP

    chopped RP At Coraline result 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Guy feri is cool

    Guy feri is ausome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Great cookbook

    Great recipes and for the holidays you have the Turduken. Also has some very interesting culinary techniques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    FUNDELICIOUS!!!!!

    I will buy every book he puts out from his TV series Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. I love the show and it is on my DVR! He has set me up for places to eat in Phoenix! May he return and find some more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    FUN FUN FUN BOOK

    EASY READING AND JUST FUN...LIKED HIS FIRST BOOK AND THE SECOND ONE
    IS JUST AS GOOD.....OF COURSE IT MAKES YOU HUNGRY AND WANTING TO FIND
    A PLACE AS GOOD AS THE ONES CITED IN YOUR HOME TOWN....WELL WORTH THE
    TIME AND MONEY....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    yummy, part 2

    close ups of the places Guy visits; if you like the show,
    you'll like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Gift

    Great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1