BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

More Glimpses of Heaven: Inspiring True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring stories of people on their way to Heaven

More Glimpses of Heaven by Trudy Harris is a poignant and inspirational book. Harris has collected stories from several hospice workers, as well as some writings of her own, of their experiences with patients who had unusual deaths. Each story is unique and beautiful in...
More Glimpses of Heaven by Trudy Harris is a poignant and inspirational book. Harris has collected stories from several hospice workers, as well as some writings of her own, of their experiences with patients who had unusual deaths. Each story is unique and beautiful in its own way. From a young boy dying from leukemia who is determined that his mother will be cared for after he's gone to a elderly soldier preparing to meet his Captain, there is a message of hope in every story of death. Christians have a different view of death than most; although they mourn their own loss, they rejoice at the new life the departed have in Heaven. Hospice workers are special in that part of their job is to ensure a painless and fear-free passing, so they are face to face with the dying on a daily basis. Their stories made me cry again and again, because they are so terribly beautiful. To read of a child who dies with a smile on their face because they see Jesus is heart-breaking, but it's also a promise of hope to readers that someday they will experience the same. Death is frightening to most people. The hospice workers who wrote these pieces not only serve their regular patients by relieving their fears, their stories will also relieve those same fears in anyone who reads this book. It's not an easy one to read, but it is well worth the time and every tear shed.

posted by ChristysBookBlog on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

I did not enjoy this one at all...Not very informative compared to what the first one gave me.

posted by bigmama1956 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Inspiring stories of people on their way to Heaven

    More Glimpses of Heaven by Trudy Harris is a poignant and inspirational book. Harris has collected stories from several hospice workers, as well as some writings of her own, of their experiences with patients who had unusual deaths. Each story is unique and beautiful in its own way. From a young boy dying from leukemia who is determined that his mother will be cared for after he's gone to a elderly soldier preparing to meet his Captain, there is a message of hope in every story of death. Christians have a different view of death than most; although they mourn their own loss, they rejoice at the new life the departed have in Heaven. Hospice workers are special in that part of their job is to ensure a painless and fear-free passing, so they are face to face with the dying on a daily basis. Their stories made me cry again and again, because they are so terribly beautiful. To read of a child who dies with a smile on their face because they see Jesus is heart-breaking, but it's also a promise of hope to readers that someday they will experience the same. Death is frightening to most people. The hospice workers who wrote these pieces not only serve their regular patients by relieving their fears, their stories will also relieve those same fears in anyone who reads this book. It's not an easy one to read, but it is well worth the time and every tear shed.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Do You See What They See?

    More Glimpses of Heaven: Inspiring Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey, presents the fact that the true heart of an individual is only known by God. Author Trudy Harris has been blessed to be with those making their transition from this world to their eternal resting place.

    With heartfelt inspiration Ms. Harris dispels the myth of death being something to fear. Her chosen stories are sure to touch readers in a variety of ways. Above all things each work assures us that regardless the paths we walked, the choices we have made, God is with us until the end.


    Dr. Linda Beed/Reviewer
    On Assignment Reviews for Let Us Bear Fruit

    Book provided courtesy of The Baker Group

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Comforting

    Jesus said "I am with you always." This narrative gives us a precious glimpse of that promise and a peace beyond understanding that He will never forsake us. A very comforting read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring

    Trudy Harris in her new book, "More Glimpses Of Heaven" Book Two in her Glimpses Of Heaven series published by Revell gives us more stories of in the final days and moments of the terminally ill and dying.

    Trudy Harris was a hospice nurse for many years before she became president of the Hospice Foundation for Caring. With all these years of experience she has many stories to tell and associates who also have stories that give us a glimpse of those who are dying see just before they are ushered into eternity.

    Everyone of us will not only face death ourselves but we will have friends and relatives who also will face death. These stories will help us deal with our own mortality but also with the passing of our loved ones. "More Glimpses Of Heaven" is full of stories of hope and grace, stories that allow the veil to be drawn back so we can see how God moves in even our deaths.

    In "More Glimpses Of Heaven" Ms. Harris gives us 47 stories of people who have names and that is what makes this book so real and compelling. Yes, some stories will make you cry and a box of tissues should be at hand. Ms. Harris does a great job in making death seem less painful and making Heaven seem more real.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available November 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not recommended

    I did not enjoy this one at all...Not very informative compared to what the first one gave me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    I really liked her first book but I have to say this second book

    I really liked her first book but I have to say this second book isn't what I expected. It seems to be over loaded with God this time. I love God and pray to Him but I find every story to be more about Trudy and her faith than the actual patient. I was especially disturbed with the story where the supervisor nurse said this particular patient did want to talk about God and Trudy wanted this patient and planned how to talk to him about that. I found it to be disrespectful.Too bad. I really liked the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    I thought this book was extremely inspiring and a good read. It

    I thought this book was extremely inspiring and a good read. It caught my attention and the story is so sentimental and inspiraring. Not only is Trudy Harris an exceptional author, but she is really a gemstone with how she talks about the experiences and occurences dealing with her patients. The Story is a must read if you are curious about life after death and experiences of the final hours of life/ inspirational short stories. A book- well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    recommend

    pleasant, interesting and enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Shortly after buying this book, my brother-in-law went into Hospice. The stories I read were comforting, giving me a glimpse into the setting my sister and her family were in and how well they were being comforted by the Hospice Nurses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Inspirational Read

    Very moving stories and a book that will bring you comfort in the loss of a loved one. I love Hospice and its Angel workers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Shows Gods Love

    Great read. i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1