Customer Reviews for

More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I got this book when I was a child (like 20ish years ago) I used

    I got this book when I was a child (like 20ish years ago) I used to read it to my younger siblings and it a;ways scared the bajebers out of us, I forgot what the
    title was until recently and cannot wait to add it to my scary stories collection now that i'm an adult and as soon as my kids are ready and willing to be scared,
    I will def be reading this to them. :-D 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Check it out!

    This book is interesting.It makes you want to read more.The book is awesome.In one of the stories fishermen stay into a haunted house and they hear moaning and ladies screaming,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little disturbing

    Even more short stories that are creepier than ever. Along with those drawings too. Surprised this is a kids book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    a little disturbing would not recommend for children age 9

    stories were scary..but a little disturbing for a childrens book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    THE BEST!

    I loved this book growing up! it would scare the living hell out of me. My mom would read it to me all the time. I think thats how I turned into a horror nut!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    I used to not like these books when I was younger, but I always wanted relatives to read them to me...even on Christmas! Now I like them and find them not as scary as they used to be. I always ended up checking them out from my school library numerous times. Even if your a religious person, its okay to read them. I once went to a private school and they had books like these (I think they still have them too). These stories are just for fun and amusement. Love em!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Great Stuff!

    Okay I've read this stuff since I was in 2nd grade. It's great! Even if you are a christian or any religion (which I am) it's good. Be careful not to let your kids read it if they are under 10 there's some etchy stuff. When I was a kid I had lots of nightmares cause of it. But It's great writing will give you goosebumps and be sure to pick one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    A pretty awesome scary story book, if you ask me

    I think the Scary Stories To Tell in the Dark Series is the cooles ever. I am a middle schooler and I have picked book #1 up first in 2nd Grade. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. I have read the whole collection, (books 1, 2, 3) and I am astounded that they didn't make a fourth one. I think that calling this book the DEVIL is really unnecassary, for the fact that a kid WANTS to read something like this.. or at least I do. Good if you are bored, with friends, or just want to be spooked, you know? I love these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    ScaryStory Series Lover

    I have loved this series since the second grade. I am now a high school senior and I still pick these books up and read them cover to cover. I have read reviews from others including one that insinuates the opinion of these books being the devil. I believe that's a little harsh, kids just want to be kids and that means not being able sleep for a couple days. I read this when I was seven years old and I love this series to this day. Recommended to anyone who WANTS to be scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    creepy !

    good creepy fun, for those who love scary stories , you will laugh, and be scared, some our a little humorous others just plain creepy it's great for halloween or just to tell a scary story ! halloween is the greastest holiday , and this book is for it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    PARENTS DON'T BUY THIS BOOK!

    This book is one of the worst books I have ever seen for children. My son is 9 years old and he and some of his classmates read this book from his room at school. I was very upset that anything of this nature exist to elementary children in schools. He read some of the book 3 weeks ago and hasn't slept but a few hours each night since. I've talked to other parents and he's not the only one. Beware of inviting the devil into your home. I'm a christian and I'm very upest to learn that my son can get hold of something like this at school.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Scariest book ever

    I loved reading this book. recieved it when i was 13 and now I am 23. I looked for it because it was the best scary book i have ever read.I am going to pass it down to my children

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    Scariest Book of the Year

    This book was one of the scariest books I ever read. I enjoyed reading every story in the book. It's great for camping trips and sleep overs. I bring it with me on my family camping trips to scare my sister and cousins. My sister read it to her friends during a girls sleep over and she agrees that it's the scariest book ever. Just remember when you read it keep a light on and beware of the stories your about to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    cool

    very chilling and disturbing pictures but they look so cool these are goin to scare u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    If you like Pinacollatas

    and getting caught in the rain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Aaaaaaahh!!!

    Horror and Terror, Hand in Hand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    kev

    it's a pretty dumb book, give more thrills and chills.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Very Disturbing Collection

    Like the first book, this contains collected stories from ancient and modern folklore. Very terrifying some of them even to a disturbing point. Not as great as the first but a five star book nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2