Customer Reviews for

More Than This

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

¿More Than This¿ was one of those books that I have trouble desc

‘More Than This’ was one of those books that I have trouble describing, because right from the start it left me in awe. Initially, I didn’t even know the main character’s name, but I had connected with him within the first few seconds. How could I not when the very firs...
‘More Than This’ was one of those books that I have trouble describing, because right from the start it left me in awe. Initially, I didn’t even know the main character’s name, but I had connected with him within the first few seconds. How could I not when the very first scene was of him drowning?

This book took me to places where I couldn’t decide whether the character was in purgatory or in a post-apocalyptic world, or (there was this distant thought) he had been rescued and was dreaming. I didn’t know which way was up. All I knew was that I wanted more. I wanted to find out where Seth was, how he had come to be in the position he was now, and how he was going to make his way through to the other side.

Seth was a strong, yet vulnerable, character. He had so many realistic flaws and in his own way was very idealistic. He was a boy who felt strongly. And what I really liked about him was that he wasn’t afraid to cry. The range of emotions he felt were fitting to the situation he found himself in. He also had surprisingly strong survival instincts.

There were other characters in this book that came about a third of the way through. One character held that element of danger that’s needed to make a book suspenseful and edgy. And, boy, did it. That character had a serious spook factor.

The storyline was fascinating and the more I read it, the more enthralled I got. The plot became clearer and it had similarities to a movie I’ve seen. I won’t say what movie, because I think it would give most of the plot away and I don’t want to do that. Another reason I was drawn to this book was the writing style. Patrick Ness is a master of the English language and his prose is so lyrical and lovely. He has such a unique way of writing.

There’s so much more to this novel I could mention, but I feel like I would spoil it if I did. I will mention though that there was a very sweet romance in this book even if it was bittersweet. It was between Seth and another boy This relationship was what started the chain of events that led Seth to the world he was in now.

Overall, I loved this book and I have hope that there is going to be a sequel, because it ended in such a way that suggests there will be. I would recommend this to anyone, especially those who like sci-fi, post apocalyptic books.

posted by sandyemerson on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely not.

I won't lie. I hated this book. It was way too repetetive and the ending wasn't at all satisfying. The issue at hand was never resolved! I'm sure there are plenty of people who enjoyed this book. It just wasn't for me.

posted by 6012506 on May 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿More Than This¿ was one of those books that I have trouble desc

    ‘More Than This’ was one of those books that I have trouble describing, because right from the start it left me in awe. Initially, I didn’t even know the main character’s name, but I had connected with him within the first few seconds. How could I not when the very first scene was of him drowning?

    This book took me to places where I couldn’t decide whether the character was in purgatory or in a post-apocalyptic world, or (there was this distant thought) he had been rescued and was dreaming. I didn’t know which way was up. All I knew was that I wanted more. I wanted to find out where Seth was, how he had come to be in the position he was now, and how he was going to make his way through to the other side.

    Seth was a strong, yet vulnerable, character. He had so many realistic flaws and in his own way was very idealistic. He was a boy who felt strongly. And what I really liked about him was that he wasn’t afraid to cry. The range of emotions he felt were fitting to the situation he found himself in. He also had surprisingly strong survival instincts.

    There were other characters in this book that came about a third of the way through. One character held that element of danger that’s needed to make a book suspenseful and edgy. And, boy, did it. That character had a serious spook factor.

    The storyline was fascinating and the more I read it, the more enthralled I got. The plot became clearer and it had similarities to a movie I’ve seen. I won’t say what movie, because I think it would give most of the plot away and I don’t want to do that. Another reason I was drawn to this book was the writing style. Patrick Ness is a master of the English language and his prose is so lyrical and lovely. He has such a unique way of writing.

    There’s so much more to this novel I could mention, but I feel like I would spoil it if I did. I will mention though that there was a very sweet romance in this book even if it was bittersweet. It was between Seth and another boy This relationship was what started the chain of events that led Seth to the world he was in now.

    Overall, I loved this book and I have hope that there is going to be a sequel, because it ended in such a way that suggests there will be. I would recommend this to anyone, especially those who like sci-fi, post apocalyptic books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Absolutely not.

    I won't lie. I hated this book. It was way too repetetive and the ending wasn't at all satisfying. The issue at hand was never resolved! I'm sure there are plenty of people who enjoyed this book. It just wasn't for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Must read!

    This book opens with the most incredible death scene ever. Patrick Ness is a master. Anyway, once Seth dies, he wakes up naked on the cold cement ground. He finds himself back in England where he lived as a little boy. Everything is covered in dust and he is all alone in a sort of burned out neighborhood. Seth works on survival and figuring out where he is. It is a very different book, but amazingly good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    this book kept me engaged and i literally read it in one night!

    this book kept me engaged and i literally read it in one night! I loved the mysteriousness aspect of this book and Seth is very relatable to high school kids. Ness is a fantastic writer and all of his books are amazing! READ THIS BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    this book was and is and will always be. thank you.

    this book was and is and will always be. thank you.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    More Than This is a new book from Patrick Ness, the author of th

    More Than This is a new book from Patrick Ness, the author of the Chaos Walking trilogy which I still need to read and that I've heard great things about.
    I'm unsure exactly how to write this review, after sleeping on it I still don't know whether I liked it or disliked it or whether or not I actually understood it at all, add in the ending which I thought ended at the wrong point for a book which as far as I'm aware is a stand-alone, I wanted to know what happened at the end with Seth, I don't like using my imagination to come up with my own version of an ending, I'd rather the author does it because isn't that what we're reading the book for? To tell us what happened not the other way around.
    The plot is initially what drew me in to wanting to pick this book up, it sounded like a really intriguing dystopian (which I love), and it started of that way and I was really into it and then it changed genres, into what I'm not exactly sure and that's when the confusion started.
    I don't know if I can really write what I'm wandering about with the twist without completely wrecking the story, I'll guess it'll be something I'll be left pondering, unfortunately for me I was left with a few unanswered questions that may never be answered.
    Although I did like the supporting characters introduced later on in the book, I felt that Seth was dealt a raw deal in life and it was just depressing, all he wanted in life was to feel wanted which after the tragedy that happened to his family while traumatic, it was like his family just ignored his existence and he was nothing but an afterthought, add in the whole Gudmann relationship and I can understand why and how he ended up where he did at the start of the book.
    I wish that I enjoyed this book as much as I thought I would, but for me I think I built it up in my head and it didn't quite get there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Perfect title for a book because when I finished reading this in

    Perfect title for a book because when I finished reading this in two days I asked myself "please tell me this is not the end and that there is more than this. If you like books that have absolutely no point to them whatsoever then this is the perfect book for you. Nothing but a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Extremely well written and very interesting. Slow start, certain

    Extremely well written and very interesting. Slow start, certain character developments I wasn't a super fan of, plot is both new and yet somehow familiar. Overall good book but not Ness' best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    highly recommended

    I simply adored this book it takes to multiple different worlds, a virtual one and a real one. the real on is abandoned and wrecked with only a few people there who were dying in the virtual world but there was a malfunction in the system that led for them to be alive in the real world. It is scavenged by a robot like man but more dangerous than a robot, his job is too keep the virtual world running so it wont shut down he is also supposed to put the malfunctions back into the real world. This means they'll die cause they died in the virtual world so then they we'll remain asleep forever. It shows that these few friends have an amazing friendship both funny but delicate and heartbreaking. I loved this book and I totally recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1