Customer Reviews for

Mormon America: The Power and the Promise

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Respectful, Fair, Informative

    The Ostlings have done something special here. Part history, part biography and part adventure story, they have woven a tale too strange and amazing to be fiction. You just can't make this stuff up. Everything you wanted to know about the Mormon church but never knew to ask. The history of the church from its earliest, unlikely beginnings (Joseph Smith seems a bit of a 19th century L. Ron Hubbard), the rites of the church (not coincidentally similar to rites of the Freemasons), the nature of the church leadership (nearly none of the church heirarchy owns degrees in graduate-level theological training) and so much more. Don't miss this chance to learn so much about this fastest-growing of religions. Some of it may shock you, some of it you simply will not believe. But its all meticulously documented and noted, and its all done with the respect and reverence the Mormon church deserves. If comparitive religion interests you in the least, read this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    A Balanced Look at a Misunderstood Religion

    This book gives a detailed, mostly unbiased look at one of the least-understood religions in the world. I give the authors credit for seeing the good which the Saints' culture promotes: strong families, healthy lifestyles, community service, etc. I also admire the Ostlings for not whitewashing the questionable accounting practices and unsavory characters of Mormon history. When making an addition to a discussion as polarized as that on the LDS Church is, it must be very hard to stay neutral. I believe that the Ostlings have done so, and at the same time, the product of their work is readable and above all, engrossing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Meticulous and fair

    'Mormon America' is, simply put, one of the best books about Mormonism out there. All of the major issues having to do with the Church are covered, meticulously and fairly. Refreshingly, the Ostlings show appreciation where appreciation is due, but not at the expense of dealing with the more controversial topics (such as polygamy) that continue to dog the Church into the 21st century. Containing the most up to date research available, this is a must have book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    The Official Christian Church ?

    In the attempt to show differences between the Mormon Church and other christians the authors missed the claim of the Mormons that they are the 'official' christian church. It is their claim that their church is the same church that was founded by Jesus Christ himself. One wonders what else has been left out of their book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Five Stars For A Biast Book and Ten for Imagination

    The Ostlings need a hobby. People are dying of AIDS in the world and these two have nothing better to do than to publish a book on their opinions. Much respect to what they think but that's all this book is, full of opinions and personal experiences. Most people are seeking that peace everyone has with God and The Ostlings put down the church. I myself, think alot about religion, but the world is so full evil, you are just looking for some comfort and guidance. If the church is so bad and so built 'upon nothing', what church is there that would contain the fullness? What church is it in their opinion has been restored in it's fullness? If these two knew God, they would know that they need to back off the Mormons and move on in their lives. I am a Catholic living in Salt Lake City and with all the mormons that surround me, I know my place and where I stand, it's sad that others feel so crowded that they feel they need some followers to support them in their quest for MOROMON HATERS!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    Objective Views of Mormonism: Mormons and Non-Mormons Must Read!

    After reading this book, I became intensely interested in the church. I soon after read the Book of Mormon (one of the finest works, whether it be literary or religious, to come out of the nineteenth century), and, did meticulous research independently on the Church. I find this book, with its unbiased (and sometimes even witty) view of one of the most amazing organizations in the world to provide an honest education about who/what/where/why/how the Latter-Day Saints are. This book opened up my eyes to a new view of faith, for which I must thank it. It is also an easy one to follow. Despite what others (presumably Mormons) have said, I find this book to provide the most accurate way of bringing the message across. I have come not to care about whether or not Joseph Smith was 100% accurate or not or about Mormon history which always isn't 100% clean. After learning about the Church, I've come to learn that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is one I'd be proud to be a member of.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    Utter Failure in Explaining Mormonism

    This is a very lousy book. I have to admit that Ostlings are totally ignorant of the Mormon church and treat the subject as some sort of biz which is the wrong impression. The person should start learning about the church from the Book of Mormon not some vicarious book which skirts the major issues of the church which Hugh Nibley deals with must better. However, the pictures are rather nice.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    Great Expectations!

    When I saw the author discussing this book in SLC, I was interested, I thought, from what he said, that this book would be an honest 'behind the scenes' account of things that most Mormons don't know,which they would find interesting to know, as well as non-Mormons. Red flags began to wave when the authors dealt with Church history. One final suggestion, when leveling heavy handed statements against Joseph Smith, that would discredit him, be sure to cite two or three credible sources, don't just say that 'so and so' said, give exact refrences to where we can find the same info, and be sure to tell BOTH sides of the story. Unfortunately, Mr. and Mrs. Ostling do none of these, which is a hallmark for 'Anti' literature.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    Interesting, but missed the point...

    This is an interesting book, and as well written as it could ever be expected. However on page after page, it felt like they were shooting their arrows a little off-center. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is just that- a Church. It has assets and holdings as any large organization should, but that is not the message of the Church... it is not even discussed at the Church! The message of the Church is simple: God lives. Jesus is the Christ. The Gospel of Christ is on the Earth again and contained within the doctrine of this Church. The Book of Mormon is the word of God, along with the Bible and both testify of the validity of the Church's doctrines. If you want to learn about the Mormons, I suggest finding the core of them first -- Read the Book of Mormon. Then, as I said, this excellent book can be read for what it is worth: Simple information.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1