Customer Reviews for

The Mormon Mirage: A Former Member Looks at the Mormon Church

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Mormon Mirage

The Mormon Mirage by Latayne C. Scott is not just a book, it is most decisively a mini encyclopedia of Mormon history and insights. When LaTayne asked me to review this new edition of her massive work I thought, "why not." The depth to which she has gone in finding hist...
The Mormon Mirage by Latayne C. Scott is not just a book, it is most decisively a mini encyclopedia of Mormon history and insights. When LaTayne asked me to review this new edition of her massive work I thought, "why not." The depth to which she has gone in finding historical documents is amazing. And for me, a former Mormon it was a look back into a life that I too left with "sadness".

Latayne was once an ardent proponent of Mormonism. But a meticulous examination of Latter-day Saint (LDS) doctrines and practices convinced her that she and countless others had believed a lie. In the first edition of The Mormon Mirage, she shared her remarkable journey out of Mormonism as she uncovered shocking inaccuracies, inconsistencies, and contradictions in the faith she had loved and lived.

Thirty years later, Mormonism and Mormon scholarship have evolved with the times. In this third, revised and updated edition of her well-known book, Latayne keeps pace with the changes and advances in Mormonism, and reveals formidable new challenges to LDS claims and teachngs.

The first major change to strike me were terms such as Internet Mormons and Chapel Mormons. It is noted that those who get information from the Internet have a different approach and understanding of the Mormon faith than those who only have an understanding from the weekly chapel services.

* There is a wonderful chronology of events from the era of Joseph Smith to the present
* Historical statements from the general authorities stating that they were sorry for some of the statements made regarding previous "prophesy" which were now being changed
* Exhaustive searches by archeologists and historians for artifacts or confirmation for anything in the Book of Mormon which would confirm that the people, places, and events actually took place
* Subtle changes such as the Native American Indian previously was to change to a white(r) skin tone if they remained true to the teachings but was changed to a pure race
* During the recent past the scrolls which were supposed to confirm doctrine, have been shown by experts to not have anything in agreement
* Why did large numbers of Japanese members suddenly leave, including leadership?

But above all and besides all, the fact remains that the Jesus that died on Calvary and was resurrected said that the Kingdom of God was established on the earth, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. If this is truth as written in the Bible, then the Book of Mormon and its doctrine is questioned since it states that the Kingdom that Jesus brought to the earth was taken away for over 1,700 years and was re-established under Joseph Smith.

There are just too many notable events to list them all. This is a book not to be taken lightly, nor is it a book that bashes a religion but gives insights based on Mormon doctrine and changes throughout its history. For me, it was fascinating to find answers to things I had heard as a child but to actually read it as history was wonderful.

posted by sswriter993 on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Unknown

The only way then to know if the Book of Mormon is true or not is to read it and find out for yourself.

posted by 18023946 on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    The Mormon Mirage

    The Mormon Mirage by Latayne C. Scott is not just a book, it is most decisively a mini encyclopedia of Mormon history and insights. When LaTayne asked me to review this new edition of her massive work I thought, "why not." The depth to which she has gone in finding historical documents is amazing. And for me, a former Mormon it was a look back into a life that I too left with "sadness".

    Latayne was once an ardent proponent of Mormonism. But a meticulous examination of Latter-day Saint (LDS) doctrines and practices convinced her that she and countless others had believed a lie. In the first edition of The Mormon Mirage, she shared her remarkable journey out of Mormonism as she uncovered shocking inaccuracies, inconsistencies, and contradictions in the faith she had loved and lived.

    Thirty years later, Mormonism and Mormon scholarship have evolved with the times. In this third, revised and updated edition of her well-known book, Latayne keeps pace with the changes and advances in Mormonism, and reveals formidable new challenges to LDS claims and teachngs.

    The first major change to strike me were terms such as Internet Mormons and Chapel Mormons. It is noted that those who get information from the Internet have a different approach and understanding of the Mormon faith than those who only have an understanding from the weekly chapel services.

    * There is a wonderful chronology of events from the era of Joseph Smith to the present
    * Historical statements from the general authorities stating that they were sorry for some of the statements made regarding previous "prophesy" which were now being changed
    * Exhaustive searches by archeologists and historians for artifacts or confirmation for anything in the Book of Mormon which would confirm that the people, places, and events actually took place
    * Subtle changes such as the Native American Indian previously was to change to a white(r) skin tone if they remained true to the teachings but was changed to a pure race
    * During the recent past the scrolls which were supposed to confirm doctrine, have been shown by experts to not have anything in agreement
    * Why did large numbers of Japanese members suddenly leave, including leadership?

    But above all and besides all, the fact remains that the Jesus that died on Calvary and was resurrected said that the Kingdom of God was established on the earth, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. If this is truth as written in the Bible, then the Book of Mormon and its doctrine is questioned since it states that the Kingdom that Jesus brought to the earth was taken away for over 1,700 years and was re-established under Joseph Smith.

    There are just too many notable events to list them all. This is a book not to be taken lightly, nor is it a book that bashes a religion but gives insights based on Mormon doctrine and changes throughout its history. For me, it was fascinating to find answers to things I had heard as a child but to actually read it as history was wonderful.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    The Mormon Mirage provides clarity

    The Mormon Mirage presents an interesting insider's view into the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS). Latayne Scott outlines a comprehensive history of the Mormon Church and provides factual information behind its numerous changes and inconsistencies. The book begins with a brief history of Lataynes's ten years as a member of the Mormon Church and describes what led to her difficult decision to leave the church she once trusted and a community she dearly loved.

    The author gives a factual, unfiltered account of the life of Joseph Smith, the founder of the Mormon Church, as well as the "cleaned-up and unrealistic picture" of him that is presented to and accepted by the LDS people.

    Latayne shares how the teachings of the Book of Mormon contradict not only the teachings of the Bible but also of itself! Throughout her book she cites Bible passages that Mormons take out of context to support the Book of Mormon and other Mormon documents. Latayne also points out the total lack of archaeological support for the Book of Mormon and lists several former LDS supporters who conclude that the Book of Mormon is a fictional product of the mind of Joseph Smith.

    After reading this amazing book I gained an increased understanding of the fallacies of the Mormon Church. Latayne's arguments are clearly laid out and her abundant sources of factual information are well documented. I highly recommend The Mormon Mirage to anyone who has even the slightest curiosity about Mormonism, is involved in Mormonism, or who has acquaintances, friends, or family members participating in it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thorough, sensitive, and up-to-date

    I was impressed by The Mormon Mirage. Latayne Scott is a gifted writer with a thorough, first-hand knowledge of Mormonism. The book is filled not only with excellent information, but keen analysis. Moreover, she demonstrates genuine kindness and empathy toward Latter-day Saints, based on her positive experiences growing up in the LDS Church. You will not find any bitter Mormon-bashing in this book. This newest edition is up to date on all the changes in Mormonism over the last three decades. The additional material provides excellent insight into current trends and problematic issues facing the Mormon world. Ms. Scott is very tuned in to the current climate, and she addresses all of the key issues and debates. As a pastor and former Mormon myself, people often ask me to recommended books about Mormonism. This one has risen to the top of my list.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WELL RESEARCHED AND DOCUMENTED

    Her book presents one of the most complete treatments of Mormon theology that I've read in some time. It is thorough, historically accurate, well researched and documented with up to date evidence that substantiates even further the falseness and deceptiveness of Mormonism. Her presentation of the errors of Mormonism is admirably balanced by her honest portrayal of not only the positive values of the Mormon Church, but in sharing her soul-wrenching resolve to leave the religion she had so loved, to embrace only Biblical truths--a heart-tugging decision that I can well identify with. Janis Hutchinson, author: The Mormon Missionaries and Out of the Cults and Into the Church.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Interesting Book

    The Mormon Mirage is defiantly an interesting, and shocking book. According to Mrs. Scotts research the majority of Mormon beliefs are very different from traditional Christianity. Before writing this review I had never talked with a Mormon missionary, because of this I went to the LSD website and asked a Mormon missionary some questions. My questions were "What are your views of the Trinity?, Will faithful Mormons attain godhood after death? and does God the Father have a flesh and bone body?" the answers I was given were basically the scholarly version of what I found in Mrs. Scott's book. She encourages the reader to do their own research, and gives multiple references. Many of the references are Mormon books of scripture, such as the Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price. You can find my full review at http://reviewtime365.blogspot.com/2009/06/mormon-mirage-third-edition-by-latayne.html

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    The Mormon Mirage Clears the Air

    When I began The Mormon Mirage by Latayne Scott I had very little knowledge of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints: The Mormon Church. I thought they were fellow Christians with some odd quirks. This organizations purposely presents the public face that I had seen--one that shares the Christian's language of God, Christ, and the Holy Spirit. Scott's book clears the air of that false image, relates her difficult journey, and reveals the truth.

    Latayne Scott tells the profound story of her spiritual devotion and life-filling involvement with the Latter Day Saints. She trusted the Mormon doctrine as a source of salvation, but finally found that there was no saving reality behind it. Step by step, the Mormon revelations and teachings are proven to be scams marketed by con artists. Through years of scholarly research and multiple readings of the Holy Bible, Scott persevered, troubled by a broken heart at the loss of a beloved community, of a way of life, and even of a false god. The layers of lies cannot be conveyed any other way than by reading The Mormon Mirage itself.

    Latayne actually narrates two journeys: her own and then the historic development and changes of the Mormon Church from its founding right up to the Twenty First Century. The integrity and rigor of the research and scholarship are impressive. All sources are available to be rechecked by any skeptic.

    Even after being subjected to lies and vilification, Latayne's generous spirit extends affection to those left behind, still trusting the mirage. The map that guided her out of the wilderness is recommended to the reader with the intensity of a survivor: The Holy Bible does not waiver or fade in the light of archeological and linguistic research.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Very interesting book!

    Since we may have a Mormon president soon I thought I would read up on what they believed. I highly suggest this book as it very informative and a good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    Very Informative.

    I found this book to been helpful in understanding more of about Mormonism. It is written in such a way that can be understood by people not familiar with the Mormon cult. Latayne informs her readers how Mormonism has misinterpreted the Bible and brought in ideas from their leaders. I found myself using the Book of Mormon and scribbling in the many inaccuracies that she points out. I enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who would like to learn more about Mormonism from someone who knows what they ae writing about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Exicuting area

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1