Customer Reviews for

The Morning Show Murders (Billy Blessing Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fans will enjoy the collaboration of Al Roker & Dick Lochte as they serve to fans a gourmet murder mystery

Celebrity Chef Billy Blessing runs the popular Manhattan Lower East Side Blessings Bistro although he would be the first to admit he does not cook that often anymore. He also performs cooking segments with the joke of the day on the TV show Wake Up, America!

Chef Bl...
Celebrity Chef Billy Blessing runs the popular Manhattan Lower East Side Blessings Bistro although he would be the first to admit he does not cook that often anymore. He also performs cooking segments with the joke of the day on the TV show Wake Up, America!

Chef Blessing has just begun torturous filming of Blessing's in the Kitchen with Food School 101 starring apprentices who look more like exiles from a Sci fi fast food show than cooks. Although he would like to quit, his producer Lily Conover counts the ways he cannot as Di Voss Industries is sponsoring him. His former "Knock Boots" partner Gretchen Di Voss and her fiancé Rudy Gallagher watch his every move. His nodding "advice" to morning show co-anchor Gin McCauley leads to fifteen million reasons why Billy should lose his cooking shows. Soon after a public argument with Rudy, NYPD Detectives Solomon and Butker inform Billy he is the prime suspect in the murder of Gallagher who died eating poisoned coq au vin at Blessing's Bistro which is closed as a crime scene. Realizing he is being set up like a cooked goose for the holidays, Billy investigates.

THE MORNING SHOW MURDERS is a delightful amateur sleuth mystery that works due to the strong cast who bring New York City alive with their crisp sassy discourses especially the tale's lead chef. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Billy realizes he is host of a show that will give him plenty of heartburn and that is before he is the prime stuffed turkey of NYPD. Fans will enjoy the collaboration of Al Roker & Dick Lochte as they serve to fans a gourmet murder mystery.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

AL,AL,AL THE LANGUAGE IS OVER USE OF SO CALLED "FOUL LANGUAGE"

JUST OK THE SAILOR TYPE OF LANGUAGE HURTS THIS MURDER MYSTERY WHICH AT TIMES DRAGS ON AND ON OVER 60+ CHAPTERS AL AND HIS GHOST WRITER CUT TO THE MEAT OF THE BOOK PLEASE.....

posted by RAMSEVEN on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Al Roker makes fun of himself. Can you find the line?

    I looked forward to reading this book because I "know" the author. The story keeps you wondering not only who the murderer is but is it a male or female? I enjoyed the read and would buy another book if there is one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy the collaboration of Al Roker & Dick Lochte as they serve to fans a gourmet murder mystery

    Celebrity Chef Billy Blessing runs the popular Manhattan Lower East Side Blessings Bistro although he would be the first to admit he does not cook that often anymore. He also performs cooking segments with the joke of the day on the TV show Wake Up, America!

    Chef Blessing has just begun torturous filming of Blessing's in the Kitchen with Food School 101 starring apprentices who look more like exiles from a Sci fi fast food show than cooks. Although he would like to quit, his producer Lily Conover counts the ways he cannot as Di Voss Industries is sponsoring him. His former "Knock Boots" partner Gretchen Di Voss and her fiancé Rudy Gallagher watch his every move. His nodding "advice" to morning show co-anchor Gin McCauley leads to fifteen million reasons why Billy should lose his cooking shows. Soon after a public argument with Rudy, NYPD Detectives Solomon and Butker inform Billy he is the prime suspect in the murder of Gallagher who died eating poisoned coq au vin at Blessing's Bistro which is closed as a crime scene. Realizing he is being set up like a cooked goose for the holidays, Billy investigates.

    THE MORNING SHOW MURDERS is a delightful amateur sleuth mystery that works due to the strong cast who bring New York City alive with their crisp sassy discourses especially the tale's lead chef. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Billy realizes he is host of a show that will give him plenty of heartburn and that is before he is the prime stuffed turkey of NYPD. Fans will enjoy the collaboration of Al Roker & Dick Lochte as they serve to fans a gourmet murder mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Easy reading

    Good easy read. Will read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    boring

    I could not get into this book. Very dull. I would not recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Not Rocket Science, It's A Murder Mystery!!!!!!!

    Al Roker is a funny man. I think everyone will agree on that. He has created a work of fiction inside an environment that he is intimately familiar. It works!!! It's funny, it's easy to read, it's well written. Is it Rocket Science, no; but then it wasn't meant to be. I enjoyed reading the book for what it was, a murder mystery. It had twists and turns. It had some romantic liasons. It had some areas of over detailing. Oddly, I kept imagining Danny Devito in the title role as Chef Blessing--don't know why, that's just the way it read to me.

    I look forward to the next Chef Blessing Mystery and hope that Al Roker continues to give us many more Chef Blessing novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AL,AL,AL THE LANGUAGE IS OVER USE OF SO CALLED "FOUL LANGUAGE"

    JUST OK THE SAILOR TYPE OF LANGUAGE HURTS THIS MURDER MYSTERY
    WHICH AT TIMES DRAGS ON AND ON OVER 60+ CHAPTERS
    AL AND HIS GHOST WRITER CUT TO THE MEAT OF THE BOOK PLEASE.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Great mystery/humor mix

    The teaming of loveable TV weatherman Al Roker and veteran crime novelist
    Dick Lochte (author of the award-winning "Sleeping Dog") has resulted in an
    irresistible mystery novel about Billy Blessing, a famous chef and
    restaurateur who also is one of the co-hosts on a morning news show, sort of
    a combination of Emeril or Wolfgang Puck and Roker himself. When his show's
    producer is murdered just days after they've had a verbal blowup - by
    takeout from his restaurant - Billy becomes the NYPD's only viable suspect.
    Since the police are spending all their efforts looking for evidence that
    will sink him, Billy realizes it's up to him to find a better suspect before
    he's put under arrest. The result is a suspenseful, at times hilarious
    comedy thriller that I hope marks the beginning of a series featuring the
    charming Billy.

    Five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    APPERENTCES DEN

    MorningClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    boring...

    This book never got to the point...I hope his last two in the series,got better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    A fun read

    Yea for Al Roker. I like him alot on the Today Show and he proves that not only can he write a good mystery, but run a restaurant, too. I will defintely read his second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Recommended

    Never realized Al had it in him to write such an enjoyable book! Not Agatha, but keeps you interested and his humor is great. Getting his Midnight Murder after finishing book I'm reading now.

    Hope he writes more of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Good book for travel.

    Enjoyed the read, light and funny. Will try next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Morning Show Murders

    I picked this book up because I love Al Roker, and find him hysterical on Today, so I was interested to see how his humor would show itself in fiction. Full of pop culture references, including a few self-deprecating references to Roker himself, there was a lot of unexpected humor for a murder mystery. The characters were very eclectic in personalities and backstories, which gave the story a lot of texture, depth, and interest. It was a fun mystery that brought you in and kept you there. The twists and turns kept me guessing and, until the end, I was completely wrong on the "whodunit" aspect. My only real negative was the main character, Billy Blessing. I sometimes felt that he was almost a bystander in is own life and story, rather than really being an active participant. I would definately recommend this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely LOVED it!

    I read a lot of the "fun" murder mysteries, and absolutely loved this one! It kept me in suspense until the very end. For once, I didn't even know for sure who the murderer was! Definitely read this one if you like ones that are just a fun read and not deep. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    A fun read

    Admittedly, I purchased this book because I found the title ironic coming from Al Roker. But the characters are interesting and I enjoyed reading the book. I didn't find the book predictable at all and enjoyed following the main character through the story. My usual favorites are John Sanford, James Patterson and Vince Flynn. I wouldn't compare this Roker/Lochte collaboration to any of them in style, except to say I found it equally as enjoyable overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Easy Reading

    Good quick-reading story that is less than complex but still challenges the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    A fun read

    For the most part, I enjoyed the book. My biggest complaint was that I had trouble remembering who some of the characters were from one reading session to the next. And the ending was definitely a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    INSIDER QUIPS AND ENTERTAINING MYSTERY

    Very few are as familiar with the ins, outs, and roundabouts of morning TV as is popular weatherman Al Roker. What few knew until recently was that he's not only engaging on camera but also an accomplished author ( Don't Make Me Stop This Car!: Adventures In Fatherhood, and several cookbooks.) Add to that description a smart fellow because when he decided to turn his pen to a mystery he wrote about what he knew - choosing as his protagonist Chef Billy Blessing who tantalizes viewers tastebuds each morning on Wake Up America!

    It's a delicious treat to read Roker's book because of his ingenious use of and references to real people, places and programs. This gambit leaves readers wondering what is fact and what is fiction while enjoying every page. Don't know whether or not American Idol, Charles Gibson, Clint Eastwood, etc. enjoy their mentions, but readers surely will.

    How's this for an opening line, "The big guy lumbered toward me, waving the cleaver. Weeping like a baby."? Roker pulls us in on page 1 and keeps us guessing until page 312.

    Between his gigs on Wake Up America and running a vaunted NYC restaurant Chef Billy Blessing has been in tall cotton. Ooops, when the show's producer is murdered and his untimely departure is found to have been caused by coq au vin from Billy's restaurant, who is the prime suspect? None other than charming Billy. Producer Gallagher left behind a little black book filled with names and had recently been to Afghanistan, Kabul "to oversee a week of live evening news broadcasts." While there a man sharing a dinner table was murdered, his throat cut. Unwittingly Gallagher had become privy to dangerous, tightly guarded information. Worth murdering to keep secret?

    Whatever the case, it's not long before some very unfriendly fellows are circling and it seems another death is in the offing. In order to clear himself Billy must not only find the killer but stay alive while doing it.

    Roker has created a likable hero, spiced his story with insider quips, and woven an entertaining mystery - enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sleep In

    Billy Blessing, the celebrated, restaurant owning, chef on the Morning Show, finds himself in trouble. One of his coworkers from the show has been murdered. Chef Blessing is immediately tagged for suspicion by the police. Thus we have the beginnings of an all too familiar plot set in the environs of a television Morning Show. Writers are often advised to write what they know about, but Al Roker's story, with the help of mystery author, Dick Lochte, has stayed to close to home. There are even cute references to that weather guy from the Today Show. Most of the story is average detective, mystery book fare. The action is rather slow paced until the last third of the book, when the search for the unknown killer, starts to get interesting. Nothing out of the ordinary here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3