Customer Reviews for

Morrigan's Cross (Circle Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Off the beaten track for this author.

I loved it. I am a big fan of Nora Robers (and J.D.Robb). I especially like her "series" books. I like romance, suspense, and science fantasy/paranormal. This series has it all. I read all three books back to back (in 4 days) then gave it to a good friend to read. ...
I loved it. I am a big fan of Nora Robers (and J.D.Robb). I especially like her "series" books. I like romance, suspense, and science fantasy/paranormal. This series has it all. I read all three books back to back (in 4 days) then gave it to a good friend to read. Would like to see NR write some more in this vein.

posted by msuzy on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I have to say that MORRIGAN'S CROSS is the very first book of Ms. Roberts' that I didn't care for; didn't, in fact, even finish. It could be my own personal dislike of historical romance, but as this was more in the time travel/paranormal vein, I don't think that's true...
I have to say that MORRIGAN'S CROSS is the very first book of Ms. Roberts' that I didn't care for; didn't, in fact, even finish. It could be my own personal dislike of historical romance, but as this was more in the time travel/paranormal vein, I don't think that's true. The problem, at least for me, was unlikeable characters I couldn't relate to, coupled with too many Irish, Gaelic, and unfamiliar terms that the book's added glossary only complicated.

I won't knock Ms. Roberts, because she is an unbelievably talented author who I admire. I'm also the world's largest Eve Dallas fan, and have loved THE KEY TRILOGY and all of her romantic suspense releases. Let's just say that, for me, MORRIGAN'S CROSS was a miss, instead of Ms. Roberts' usual hit.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Off the beaten track for this author.

    I loved it. I am a big fan of Nora Robers (and J.D.Robb). I especially like her "series" books. I like romance, suspense, and science fantasy/paranormal. This series has it all. I read all three books back to back (in 4 days) then gave it to a good friend to read. Would like to see NR write some more in this vein.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    Nora Roberts Circle Trilogy series on audiobook

    The story lines for these books are fantastic, but the reader Dick Hill is so very very very bad. He has really ruined these books for me (as far as listening to them). I recomend that you read the book rather than listen to it in audiobook. I also have friends at work that would agree with me. I love audiobooks, not much of an actual reader, so when I say "read the book, don't listen" the reader must be really really horrible and Dick Hill is.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great read

    This is the first book in the series and it only gets better. Love Nora Roberts!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    Read it. The characters are great. I was hooked. If you like vamps, romance, historical drama and/or a little action you will love this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Loved it!

    Nora Roberts is one of my favorite authors, and I definitly recommend this and all of her books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding fantasy

    In 1128 Eire, the ancient vampiress Lilith has converted Cian Mac Cionaoith into a nightcrawler follower of hers. Cian¿s horrified twin Hoyt vows to destroy the evil, but his efforts fail as she proves too powerful.---------------- Still he refuses to give up the fight against this malevolence and her minion. He is renewed when Morrigan the Goddess of Battle demands he lead the forces of good against the abomination, but first must gather his allies, five other pure souls consisting of 'the witch, the warrior, the scholar, the one of many forms, and the one you've lost.' To do so he must go to present day New York where he confronts his vampiric sibling and Glenna the witch as the 'circle of six' begin to form in time for the ultimate war between good and evil.---------------- - Nora Roberts is at her best as she smoothly and seemingly effortlessly switches from her romantic suspense thrillers to a wonderful romantic fantasy. The story line is fast-paced and filled with a strong believable cast that leads to the audience to believe in this realm. Readers of the great Ms. Roberts' novels will marvel at the flexibility of her talent while the sub-genre fans will welcome her first entry with accolades and delight.------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Circle Closed Way Too Soon: There just simply aren't enough

    The Circle Closed Way Too Soon:

    There just simply aren't enough words to explain how very much I enjoyed not only this book but the entire trilogy. I'd stayed far away from Nora Roberts books for many years, thinking of her as only a romance or romantic suspense novelist. This series is a true foray into fantasy, and it's exquisitely done. I tore through all three books one after the other and felt extremely disappointed that there weren't any more. I would simply ask the author to please write more of these kinds of books, possibly even revisiting these same characters and settings. There are two series by this author that I recommend to those not looking for a romance, one of course is this one, The Circle Trilogy, and the other is The Sign of Severn Trilogy, both very well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    GREAT READ

    i truly loved these books. i just wish there were more.......

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved it

    This was the first trilogy set I read from Nora Roberts, got the books from the library first to see if I would like them, and I loved the trilogy that I had to have it for my library

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    GREAT READ, LOVED IT

    I LOVED THE BOOK AND WOULD RECOMMEND READING ALL THREE.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Series

    Loved all 3 books. The last one was especially my favorite with great ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!!

    I'm big a fan of Nora Roberts and of course I've read a lot of her books, and I could tell you this trilogy was so different and so charming. It keeps me captivated since the very beggining of the story. You will love all of the characters. If you believe in magic you will love this Circle Trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    Great Story

    The first of three books. It was a good original story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Ann Rice, Move Over !! Excellent, Not Put-Downable

    I read everything that Nora Roberts writes, yet this was unexpected AND exceptional. Morigan's Cross, as a title, led me to think of England, you know, the way they name some streets and corners over there. So when I realized that the cross was something else, well!!! Then, also having read Ann Rice's vampire novels, I thought that Nora couldn't possibly beat her. Wrong again! Ann Rice, move over! Nora has taken vampyre to a new level of both intrigue and romance. I can't wait to read volume 2 and 3!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Good Book - worth reading

    I did enjoy this story, but I always enjoy Nora Roberts books. This story is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Awesome

    I love the story and I hope a movie comes from this!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow! Just.... wow! This series was amazing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Very good read. Excellent series. Page turner, did not want to p

    Very good read. Excellent series. Page turner, did not want to put down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Awesome!

    This triology is one of the best I have ever read. If you liked this book keep reading...they only get better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great series!!!!

    Loved all three of these books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8