Customer Reviews for

Mort (Discworld Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sharp Scythe+Dim Assistant=Hilarity

Mort is, quite simply, a work of comic genius. Mort's apprenticeship to Death is what really makes this book funny. Putting Death, the tall, somber enigma, with Mort, the clumsy, slightly dim assistant, together makes a lot of trouble for the real world. But what I w...
Mort is, quite simply, a work of comic genius. Mort's apprenticeship to Death is what really makes this book funny. Putting Death, the tall, somber enigma, with Mort, the clumsy, slightly dim assistant, together makes a lot of trouble for the real world. But what I want to know is, how did Death learn to cook like that?

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't Meet My Expectations, but still a good read

This was the first Discworld novel I read. My expectations were really high, since I've heard great things about the series, and I loved the movie adaptation of Hogswatch. The style of Pratchett's writing is exactly what I was looking for, and the humor in his writing i...
This was the first Discworld novel I read. My expectations were really high, since I've heard great things about the series, and I loved the movie adaptation of Hogswatch. The style of Pratchett's writing is exactly what I was looking for, and the humor in his writing is amazing! I only gave the story 3 stars because I wasn't crazy about the actual story. I didn't care about Mort. His character just didn't interest me, and I groaned each time the novel switched from Death's storyline over to Mort. I wanted more Death! Despite my issues with it, I'd still count it as a good read.

posted by MelN on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    Sharp Scythe+Dim Assistant=Hilarity

    Mort is, quite simply, a work of comic genius. Mort's apprenticeship to Death is what really makes this book funny. Putting Death, the tall, somber enigma, with Mort, the clumsy, slightly dim assistant, together makes a lot of trouble for the real world. But what I want to know is, how did Death learn to cook like that?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Read only if you love good humor and clever word use

    Typical of the Discworld series. Splendid word play and ingenious Use of metaphor and PUNS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Love another one

    I love this book and series. I just cant put them down. Death is one of the best characters i have read. Love love love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Prepare for an imagination enhancement!

    I found Terry Pratchett only recently, beginning with Hogfather, which takes place approximately thirty years after the events of Mort. I am, therefore, playing catch-up ball here, but it's a great game! The Discworld comes with an unusual frame of mind, albeit very easy to adapt to, and hilarious besides. I enjoy novels with footnotes, too.
    You'll find yourself seeing things in a different way by the end of any book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Best book in the world!!

    HILARIOUS. GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't Meet My Expectations, but still a good read

    This was the first Discworld novel I read. My expectations were really high, since I've heard great things about the series, and I loved the movie adaptation of Hogswatch. The style of Pratchett's writing is exactly what I was looking for, and the humor in his writing is amazing! I only gave the story 3 stars because I wasn't crazy about the actual story. I didn't care about Mort. His character just didn't interest me, and I groaned each time the novel switched from Death's storyline over to Mort. I wanted more Death! Despite my issues with it, I'd still count it as a good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    A very good book!

    This book was easy to read and didn't have any of those annoying 'dull moments' that have made me stop reading on page 2 of other books. This was the first book by Pratchett that I've read, taking the advice of a friend saying that it was funny and exciting. All in all, I'm glad that I asked to borrow it from her after she told me how good it was.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Great Read

    Wow. This one was crazy. Death is fun as always, but he's also more creepy and superpowerful than the past books let on. This is the guy no one wants to mess with. So naturally he takes an apprentice and it's a smackdown battle of 'Deaths' to see who gets to keep the title. Not to mention the other issues, like a princess who may or may not be dead, a world on the verge of collapse, you know, an average day on the disk. lol. Loved getting to know Mort and Death's daughter and the wizards. Great fun and one heck of a ride. The details of how Death works, right down to the details of the hourglasses, the sound of the sands, and the biographies kept me thoroughly immersed in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    One of the best (of those I read)

    Pratchett is satirical genius. Mort and DEATH are hilarious. I have only read a few of Pratchett's Disc World books, but this was one of the best (next to The Truth).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    loved it

    his books are so funny, if you havent read any, i strongly suggust that you do - especially if the main character is Death!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    wow

    this was the first of terry pratchetts books i had read and it was so good. Death is very well developed. i'm 14 and this is one of my favorite books. It's really funny the way terry pratchett makes death into a person(of sorts) and adds things to him as the book goes on, instead of leaving him as a skeletin on a horse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    DEATH IS GREAT

    Death is one of Pratchetts' best characters within the Discworld series(the other being Rincewind). Death is funny in an eccentric kind of way definately a must buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    One of my Favorites

    I've read a good partion of the Discworld Series, and this was one of my favorites. I loved Death, he was such a funny (but you wouldn't expect that)character, in a mysterious, cryptic sort of way. If you're looking to start reading Terry Pratchett (or if you already have) this is the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    Excellent

    I cannot stress enough how great the character of Death is...no really! Definately not one of Pratchett's best books, but well worth the $6-something to buy it. ...Go POKES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    Outstanding

    One of the best books in the Discworld series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2001

    Terry's best

    This is my favorite of the discworld series. It has lots of funny and page-turning suspensefull moments. This book really is Terry Pratchett's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6