Customer Reviews for

Mortal Engines (Predator Cities Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Nothing Compares

    It's hard to put into words how good I think this book really is. I guess the best was to describe it is by saying the acknowledgements, in which Reeve said that the book may have ended up as 'neatly typed kindling' made me wince. This book is the perfect mix of anything and everything that makes a cool book: vivid and color world, incredible imagination, unforgettable characters, a heart pumping climax, unpredictablity, and originality, something that many books nowadays lack. I strongly recommend this book to anyone and everyone that wants to read an incredible book that has no plot holes and takes no shortcuts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great read...One annoying flaw

    Loved the book, on book two now. . .But whats with all the exclamation points? Really gets annoying, its like everyone is always yelling.
    Im reading this after Hunger Games, Legend, Divergent and the Maze Runner, it falls right in the same line as being as entertaining and leaving you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong post apocalyptic tale

    The Sixty Minute War ended western civilization leading to a new world order. The great cities do not reside in one place, but instead are mobile like Roman legions assaulting smaller locations. London has been reduced to one of these prowling giants, but recently concern has surfaced that with a lessening of prey among the midgets, other mega-metropolises will try to devour the big city. <P>As London chases after Salthook, fifteen years old apprentice historian Tom toils at what all rookies do. He cleans in his case the exhibits of the London Museum of Natural History. However, Tom¿s world changes when he rescues his hero, scavenger turned renowned archeologist Thaddeus Valentine from an assassination attempt. Tom¿s reward is apropos for an apprentice as he and the avenging assassin Hester Shaw are tossed out of the city into the vast wilderness. He learns from her why as she explains her connection to Valentine and the mayor. They team up to survive as Hester and Tom begin a series of adventures to stay alive. <P>Though classified as a children¿s fantasy, this complex tale can be enjoyed as a straightforward tale that young readers will appreciate or as a satire that adults will treasure. The characters are complex as Philip Reeve paints a picture that what is acceptable under certain conditions seems cruel under others as values are not quite as universal as we westerners would like to believe. MORTAL ENGINES is a winner for children and adults of all ages. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Amazing book from start to finish, read as part of a children's

    Amazing book from start to finish, read as part of a children's literature course, i am 45 and loved it and getting the rest of the series. You can really see where society has gone wrong and its faults and what things could even be like in the future. Its fantasy but has portrayals of realism running through it. Can't wait to read the next one and would strongly recommend :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Awesome

    I absolutely love this book! All I wish is that they had at least one illustration, showing what the cities look like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    Amazing. Unlike every other book, where you know that the main characters will survive in the end, Mortal Engienes is much less predictable. Phillip Reeve's writing is suspenseful and thrilling, leaving readers wondering who will survive when everything is over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If Mad Max: Road Warrior was a PG-13 Book Then Mortal Engines would be It

    Meet Tom and Hester who were recently ejected from the Mobile City London and are trying to get back on board. For Tom, London is the only life he knows. For Hester, she's obsess with getting revenge on Tom's idol, Valentine. As the story unfolds the concept of Municipal Darwinism (survival of the fittest city) is explained, Valentine's crime that left Hester disfigured is revealed, and London's secret weapon - MEDUSA- that not only threatens other Mobile Cities but people who are trying to rebuild a normal life that doesn't involve cannibalizing other cities, is unveiled. I couldn't make up my mind who I liked more, Tom or Hester. Persons reading this can identify with Tom's struggle to re-evaluate his beliefs in deciding what's good and bad after experiencing life from another perspective. Hester's mental walls gradually erode as emotions that were presume to disappear after Valentine scarred her come bubbling to the surface as she slowly takes a fancy to Tom. The supporting cast are brilliant like the charismatic public figure, Valentine, who habors a dark secret; the aviatrix, Anna Fang, who wants to stop Municipal Darwinism; the marauding pirate, Peavey, who wants to learn posh manners like a London Gentleman; or the soulless Stalker, Grike, who'll do anything to obtain his heart's desire. This was a great book with no slow parts. And as a bonus there were no Hollywood Celebs spewing racist or anti-semitic comments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    mortal engines

    this book was amazing. this post apocilipt book was great. i would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    A City Eat City World

    The world changed after the Sixty Minute War. North America was made inhabitable, cities were put on wheels, cities attacked each other, recycled each other, two leagues were formed, the Tractionist, the people who lived in cities, and the Anti-Tractionist who lived on the bear earth. London is finally coming out of the mountains to the Hunting Ground. It has been there for many generations, surviving only off of static settlements. On it lays a class three historian named Tom. Tom¿s parents were killed during the Great Tilt, when London tilted on its side and many people were crushed by falling objects, when Tom was a little boy. On the first suburb London caught on the Hunting Ground, Tom was looking for artifacts with his idle, also the lead historian, Valentine. After they were finished, Valentine and Tom went over to the refugees to see if they captured anyone important, but then a knife was drawn. The main thing I liked about the book was also the main thing I disliked about the book. The thing is, it¿s almost impossible to put down. Everything in it is exciting and interesting. If you were going to read it for ten minutes, you would end up reading it for twenty minutes, so you might not get your homework done in study hall. The only criticism I have on this book, is that you have to visualize almost all of the cities and vehicles, because if you look at the hardback cover you can see how they are indescribable. This book is one of four in The Hungry City Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Captivating!!!

    This was soooo great, I'm normally not the science fictiony type, but I loved this!!!! You will not be let down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Machine Mania

    In the future of Traction Cities (huge cities piled up on huge caterpillar tracks) eating other Traction Cities, a boy named Tom lives on the first Traction City, London, as a Third Class Apprentice, a really bad position to be in, to a historian. It all begins the night that London caught a small salt mining city, Salthook, and destroyed it for its resources. That night Tom and his hero/role model Thaddeus Valentine went to the bottom of the city to see what London got then came a girl that tried to kill Valentine, later running deeper into the city. Tom funs after her and then the girl falls out of the city, and tom along with her. They end up in the Outcountry, a place ruined by traction cities and where the Anti-Traction League lives and that is when the adventure begins. I really liked the book a lot, for futuristic setting, the characters, the technology, the betrayal, and the creative ideas that Philip Reeve came up with. I didn¿t have too many dislikes, but I didn¿t like parts when it would get boring very little would it do it and if I would have been a tree lover I wouldn¿t have liked it. This book is part of the series ¿The Hungry Chronicles¿. Some similar books are Predators Gold, anything really futuristic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Rolling Fury

    The future is something I always like to picture. Well in this book you don¿t have to picture the future. Mortal Engines takes place in the future, year of 2100. This book has mine boggling ideas about how the future is going to turn out. The author of this book is Philip Reeve and he is a well known author. His staggering ideas will fill you mine with amazement. I can¿t relate this book to anything but I can tell you if you like die hard excitement books, READ THIS!! This book is about this boy named Tom. Tom is an Apprentice Engineer for London, which is a traction city. Traction cities are cities of the future. They roll on huge wheels, just imagine your city on wheels going hundreds mph. Well Tom meets a man named Mr. Valentine and his daughter Katherine. Mr. Valentine was very famous for finding Medusa. Medusa is a huge gun that can destroy any traction city rolling. Mr. Valentine didn¿t find it he stole it from Hester mom, and killed both of there parents in the process. Hester got away with only a huge slash mark across her face. Hester is hunting down Valentine seeking revenge. Hester jumped down a shoot and Tom followed. Hester then explains to Tom what Valentine had done. Tom and Hester join forces against the evil Valentine. The quest begins for the search for the longevity hunt after Valentine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    High Level thinking book!

    Don't read Mortal Engines if you are not a high level thinker, or reader! The plot is very involved and the book is very long. It is truely a great book, and Reeve keeps you hooked until the very end! I am not a hard core reader, but this book made me want to keep reading and never stop! This book is one of the best that I have ever read! I think that everyone should read this book! Also, read the next book, Predator's Gold. It picks up where Mortal Engines left off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Absolutely Incredible.

    It's not hard to explain exactly why I loved this book so much. The characters were believable, the setting was original and the plot was the best I've seen for a long time. The settings were exotic and almost, strangely, believable. To me it sent a strong message about human nature... and about the dangers of technology. It was bittersweet, memorable and one of the best book's I've ever read -- and i'm a very avid reader. This is one of those you have to read to believe - it's amazing. This book is simply briliant... the detail, the characters, and the lurking sense that this happens not so far away from our lives. The style of writing reminded me of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy, and the book was bittersweet, memorable, and one of the best I've read, and I am a very avid reader. 5 stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    A really good book

    This book was one of the best books Ive read in a long time. I was so sad to see it end though. It wasn't a very happy ending but I guess in real life, not everything ends happily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1