Customer Reviews for

Mortal Fear

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

I purchased two books by this author and was reading his work for the first time. I really enjoyed the setting ,as I am famliar with the area of Mississippi in which sets his stories.
I like the the plao of this book and found it refreshingly different than many of the...
I purchased two books by this author and was reading his work for the first time. I really enjoyed the setting ,as I am famliar with the area of Mississippi in which sets his stories.
I like the the plao of this book and found it refreshingly different than many of the authors that write the same plat over and over but change the characters and the setting.
The plot was not so far fetched that it was not believeable and the ending was really good! The characters were exactly the type of characters I like to read about ,mysterious,strong and determined.
He will definately be on my watch list and i intend on purchasing all of the books by this author.

posted by Desertstars on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An overly long series of sadly missed opportunities!

EROS is a high end, very expensive, intensely private and ultra-kinky erotic on-line chat room service. When several normally high frequency users of the service drop off line but continue to allow the almost exorbitant debits to be charged to their bank accounts, Harpe...
EROS is a high end, very expensive, intensely private and ultra-kinky erotic on-line chat room service. When several normally high frequency users of the service drop off line but continue to allow the almost exorbitant debits to be charged to their bank accounts, Harper Cole, the EROS systems operator, becomes suspicious and worried. As a skilled internet derivatives, commodities and futures trader, he is well aware of the power of money and is justifiably concerned that something has happened to this set of vanishing customers. Further investigation with the help of his colleague, Miles Turner (a very eccentric geek type with extraordinary computer skills) morphs these worries into an ironclad certainty that these customers have been murdered by another EROS customer whom they label "Brahma".

They also discover that Brahma has murdered a male EROS customer and stolen his on-line EROS persona to trap unwitting victims.

When they bring their suspicions to the attention of the authorities, local police and the FBI immediately place him and Miles as #1 and #2 on the suspect list for the string of brutal serial killings concentrating their efforts, of course, in this completely wrong direction. Cole and Turner realize that their own freedom, not to mention the lives of other EROS subscribers, depend on their trapping the killer themselves. Concocting an elaborate on-line false identity, they conduct an elaborate ruse to bring the killer into the open but time after time, the brilliant killer sniffs out his pursuers and remains one step ahead of them. They come to realize that they are now targets and, not only have they placed themselves in dire peril, but they've managed to endanger Cole's child, the mother of his child and his trusting wife.

Greg Iles has created a plot with the potential to sizzle off the page - sex, brutality, blood and guts, computer technology, cat and mouse games with an insanely brilliant and devious killer - but, sadly, "Mortal Fear" is actually an overly long, under-edited series of sadly missed opportunities.

"Mortal Fear" could have delved into the sociological ramifications of on-line sex as a form of infidelity. It didn't. "Mortal Fear" could have dug deeply into the legal issues of "right to privacy". It didn't. "Mortal Fear" could have discussed the psychological impact of incest on its participants and victims. It didn't. "Mortal Fear" could have provided some absolutely fascinating sidebars on the science of transplants, hemophilia and the pineal gland, in particular. It didn't. (I know, I know ... that came out of left field but if you actually bother to read "Mortal Fear" after reading this review, you'll discover how these things fit into Iles' plot!) "Mortal Fear" could have discussed the esoteric art of serial killer profiling in considerably greater detail. It didn't. On top of that, each and every one of his characters were quite flat. There was lots of action, lots of dialogue and lots of movement but none of it really seemed to lift the story off the page into believability.

Frankly, a poor effort overall in comparison to some of his other page turners such as "Turning Angel". Not recommended.

Paul Weiss

posted by The_Iceman on December 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Too long, too tedious, choose something else

    Yikes. This is one long thriller. It has its moments, though I found some of the language choices a little odd, too formal, almost, a little stilted. I had to go back and re-read sentences here and there because they were so jarring (just like The Tale of Halcyon Crane by Wendy Webb). Not a book I would recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An overly long series of sadly missed opportunities!

    EROS is a high end, very expensive, intensely private and ultra-kinky erotic on-line chat room service. When several normally high frequency users of the service drop off line but continue to allow the almost exorbitant debits to be charged to their bank accounts, Harper Cole, the EROS systems operator, becomes suspicious and worried. As a skilled internet derivatives, commodities and futures trader, he is well aware of the power of money and is justifiably concerned that something has happened to this set of vanishing customers. Further investigation with the help of his colleague, Miles Turner (a very eccentric geek type with extraordinary computer skills) morphs these worries into an ironclad certainty that these customers have been murdered by another EROS customer whom they label "Brahma". <BR/><BR/>They also discover that Brahma has murdered a male EROS customer and stolen his on-line EROS persona to trap unwitting victims. <BR/><BR/>When they bring their suspicions to the attention of the authorities, local police and the FBI immediately place him and Miles as #1 and #2 on the suspect list for the string of brutal serial killings concentrating their efforts, of course, in this completely wrong direction. Cole and Turner realize that their own freedom, not to mention the lives of other EROS subscribers, depend on their trapping the killer themselves. Concocting an elaborate on-line false identity, they conduct an elaborate ruse to bring the killer into the open but time after time, the brilliant killer sniffs out his pursuers and remains one step ahead of them. They come to realize that they are now targets and, not only have they placed themselves in dire peril, but they've managed to endanger Cole's child, the mother of his child and his trusting wife. <BR/><BR/>Greg Iles has created a plot with the potential to sizzle off the page - sex, brutality, blood and guts, computer technology, cat and mouse games with an insanely brilliant and devious killer - but, sadly, "Mortal Fear" is actually an overly long, under-edited series of sadly missed opportunities. <BR/><BR/>"Mortal Fear" could have delved into the sociological ramifications of on-line sex as a form of infidelity. It didn't. "Mortal Fear" could have dug deeply into the legal issues of "right to privacy". It didn't. "Mortal Fear" could have discussed the psychological impact of incest on its participants and victims. It didn't. "Mortal Fear" could have provided some absolutely fascinating sidebars on the science of transplants, hemophilia and the pineal gland, in particular. It didn't. (I know, I know ... that came out of left field but if you actually bother to read "Mortal Fear" after reading this review, you'll discover how these things fit into Iles' plot!) "Mortal Fear" could have discussed the esoteric art of serial killer profiling in considerably greater detail. It didn't. On top of that, each and every one of his characters were quite flat. There was lots of action, lots of dialogue and lots of movement but none of it really seemed to lift the story off the page into believability. <BR/><BR/>Frankly, a poor effort overall in comparison to some of his other page turners such as "Turning Angel". Not recommended. <BR/><BR/>Paul Weiss

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I purchased two books by this author and was reading his work for the first time. I really enjoyed the setting ,as I am famliar with the area of Mississippi in which sets his stories.
    I like the the plao of this book and found it refreshingly different than many of the authors that write the same plat over and over but change the characters and the setting.
    The plot was not so far fetched that it was not believeable and the ending was really good! The characters were exactly the type of characters I like to read about ,mysterious,strong and determined.
    He will definately be on my watch list and i intend on purchasing all of the books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    A must read (or hear...)

    Not finished yet, but so far... so good. I got the audiobook and I am enjoying it lots. Great entertainment -- as usual. i have read/heard every book by Greg Iles and have NEVER been dissapointed. The only negative I find is that since I am technologically impaired... it gets a bit too technical and drawn out for my taste. When is the next book coming out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Terrific read

    I was hesitant to read this book even though I love this author's prose. I gave in and was very happy I took the chance and went forward.

    The story line is great and the plot is tight. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is not the typical book club topic. It was the first book by Greg Isles that I had read. (1997)Since then I seek out his books and can hardly wait for the next. if you are not familiar with this author, this is a great introduction. If you are familiar you would not be disappointed. I have purchased this book at least four times and never get it back when I lend it out.
    This book had me hooked from the very beginning. The only problem I have is putting these books down. Love them all.
    I would love to have this on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Wonderful Iles' Book!

    I have now read all but three of iles' books, and this is not unlike the others. It is wonderful. While turning angel is my favorite, this comes in a close second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Heart throbbing

    A suspense filled page turner.fascinating and additive, a thriller of such accomplishment it justifies reading twice.

    J. Carroll Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Entertaining Read!

    My first book by this author and I have since bought two more. Great story. My only complaint is the lack of punctuation which makes it a tough read at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    a page turner

    Just when I thought I had figured out who the "bad guy" was, another plot twist was thrown in. This book kept me up past my bedtime for several nights, and I felt it was one of Greg Iles better stories. I am a relatively new fan of his, and this was the third book I've read by him. His writing style is flawless, and his characters are well developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Story tat sinks...

    Hve read this story sometime back, it starts off nicely and in certain sections very engaging to the reader. But somewhere to the middle of the book the story plot becomes stale. also the plot of cyber story kind of fresh but no substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Entertaining

    This is the first book I've read by Iles. It was an entertaining novel but I do think it was a bit long and strained credibility with a some far-fetched plot twists, particularly towards the end. I will read more of his work. He is certainly a writer to watch as he had some interesting insights into the effects of guilt on the protaganist's marital relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Keeps getting better!

    The first Greg Iles book I read was 24 because I had heard that he had written it in 24 hours. I was very disappointed because I had seen this story several times before. Years later a friend recommended Blood Memory and I reluctantly picked it up. To my surprise, it was amazing. Then, I came across this book and I can honestly say it was one of my top 4 books of all time. Very rarely can a book keep me up till all hours of the night, but I could not put this down. I cared about the characters and the book was filled with numerous tense moments. I will be reading the rest of his books in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    Greg Iles hits close to the bullseye!

    I picked up my first Iles book (24 Hours) at a yard sale for a dime, and immediately after finishing it (the same night!) I went onto Barnes and Noble and ordered every book he wrote so far! I just finished reading MORTAL FEAR and loved it! It's a great book, and definitely worth picking it up! You WON'T be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    One of my favorites

    Greg Iles is absolutely my favorite author, I've read every book he's written, and I loved this book. It grabbed me from the beginning and I couldn't put it down. This book was especially enjoyable with the suspense, drama, and twists and turns. I highly recommend this and every book Greg Iles has written. Another thing I like about his writing is that the theme of the book changes, while many are set in Mississippi, they are no all the same and the characters change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    A disappointing book

    I have read most of Greg Iles novels but this one was definately my least favorite. It begun interestingly enough but became very repetitive and somewhat boring. The ending is too far-fetched for my liking. The best I have read by Iles is Blood Memory and Quiet Game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    It was okay

    This is the third book of Greg Iles that I've read and it was my least favorite. Still, I finished it and was glad I did so. It dragged in a few parts but overall it was an okay read. I still believe that Iles is a master at creating characters and making the reader feel like a part of the scene. I was able to get a real good picture in my head of each character and the settings. My complaint with this book is that it gets a little 'too far out there'. I'm not sure that things would or could happen as written. Okay....I know its just a book but I would've preferred something a bit more plausible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    started off Great

    but then toward the middle of the book, I lost interest. This is my 1st Iles book. I havent finished it, cause i'm afraid it's not going to have a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    This was the first book I'd read by Greg Iles and it was wonderful. He is an excellent storyteller and the book maintained its suspensefulness almost to the end. (I did think the book lost momentum in the final chapters.) Despite that, it was well worth the read! There are few writers out there that are as good as Greg Iles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    Another new author for me to add to my favorites

    I just finished Mortal Fear my first book by Greg Iles and I am so hooked. Just like I fell in love with Dean Koontz writing I am in love with Greg's writing. I could not put this book down. I love authors that really know how to 'tell' a story and he is right up there with the best. All the craziness of the killer, the plot, the people, Harper, Drewe, Miles, Erin, the monster, it was a superb book. When I think about a book for days after I have finished well, that is a sure sign of a great book. I am an avid reader and have been 'branching out' with new writers and Greg is for sure on my 'top 20' list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2