Customer Reviews for

Mortal Fear

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

I purchased two books by this author and was reading his work for the first time. I really enjoyed the setting ,as I am famliar with the area of Mississippi in which sets his stories.
I like the the plao of this book and found it refreshingly different than many of the...
I purchased two books by this author and was reading his work for the first time. I really enjoyed the setting ,as I am famliar with the area of Mississippi in which sets his stories.
I like the the plao of this book and found it refreshingly different than many of the authors that write the same plat over and over but change the characters and the setting.
The plot was not so far fetched that it was not believeable and the ending was really good! The characters were exactly the type of characters I like to read about ,mysterious,strong and determined.
He will definately be on my watch list and i intend on purchasing all of the books by this author.

posted by Desertstars on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too long, too tedious, choose something else

Yikes. This is one long thriller. It has its moments, though I found some of the language choices a little odd, too formal, almost, a little stilted. I had to go back and re-read sentences here and there because they were so jarring (just like The Tale of Halcyon Crane ...
Yikes. This is one long thriller. It has its moments, though I found some of the language choices a little odd, too formal, almost, a little stilted. I had to go back and re-read sentences here and there because they were so jarring (just like The Tale of Halcyon Crane by Wendy Webb). Not a book I would recommend.

posted by theshippingnews on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I purchased two books by this author and was reading his work for the first time. I really enjoyed the setting ,as I am famliar with the area of Mississippi in which sets his stories.
    I like the the plao of this book and found it refreshingly different than many of the authors that write the same plat over and over but change the characters and the setting.
    The plot was not so far fetched that it was not believeable and the ending was really good! The characters were exactly the type of characters I like to read about ,mysterious,strong and determined.
    He will definately be on my watch list and i intend on purchasing all of the books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Terrific read

    I was hesitant to read this book even though I love this author's prose. I gave in and was very happy I took the chance and went forward.

    The story line is great and the plot is tight. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is not the typical book club topic. It was the first book by Greg Isles that I had read. (1997)Since then I seek out his books and can hardly wait for the next. if you are not familiar with this author, this is a great introduction. If you are familiar you would not be disappointed. I have purchased this book at least four times and never get it back when I lend it out.
    This book had me hooked from the very beginning. The only problem I have is putting these books down. Love them all.
    I would love to have this on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Wonderful Iles' Book!

    I have now read all but three of iles' books, and this is not unlike the others. It is wonderful. While turning angel is my favorite, this comes in a close second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Keeps getting better!

    The first Greg Iles book I read was 24 because I had heard that he had written it in 24 hours. I was very disappointed because I had seen this story several times before. Years later a friend recommended Blood Memory and I reluctantly picked it up. To my surprise, it was amazing. Then, I came across this book and I can honestly say it was one of my top 4 books of all time. Very rarely can a book keep me up till all hours of the night, but I could not put this down. I cared about the characters and the book was filled with numerous tense moments. I will be reading the rest of his books in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    Greg Iles hits close to the bullseye!

    I picked up my first Iles book (24 Hours) at a yard sale for a dime, and immediately after finishing it (the same night!) I went onto Barnes and Noble and ordered every book he wrote so far! I just finished reading MORTAL FEAR and loved it! It's a great book, and definitely worth picking it up! You WON'T be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    One of my favorites

    Greg Iles is absolutely my favorite author, I've read every book he's written, and I loved this book. It grabbed me from the beginning and I couldn't put it down. This book was especially enjoyable with the suspense, drama, and twists and turns. I highly recommend this and every book Greg Iles has written. Another thing I like about his writing is that the theme of the book changes, while many are set in Mississippi, they are no all the same and the characters change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    Another new author for me to add to my favorites

    I just finished Mortal Fear my first book by Greg Iles and I am so hooked. Just like I fell in love with Dean Koontz writing I am in love with Greg's writing. I could not put this book down. I love authors that really know how to 'tell' a story and he is right up there with the best. All the craziness of the killer, the plot, the people, Harper, Drewe, Miles, Erin, the monster, it was a superb book. When I think about a book for days after I have finished well, that is a sure sign of a great book. I am an avid reader and have been 'branching out' with new writers and Greg is for sure on my 'top 20' list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Found this one by accident

    This book was orphaned in my book case several years ago by a friend. I discovered it 3 weeks ago and decided to give it a shot. Much to my surprise, this turned to be one of my all time favorite books, surpassing John Grisham's 'The firm'. It contains quite a bit of slick computer stuff, but not too much for the non-computer people. I found myself sacrificing sleep just to continue with this book. It will not disappoint you. -JW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2002

    Fascinating, Twisting ,Hi Tech Thriller

    Greg Iles describes his characters in great depth, so you know who they are inside and out, which then adds the the development of his story. This was an intriguing story, filled with a serial killer with a plan for his own mortality. Harper Cole is the lead character, and his Dr. wife Drewe is brilliant and beautiful. It all makes for high tech drama as the serial killer selects his victims from an erotic internet service called Eros. It's a great read, as is Iles other novels, including 24 Hours, and Quiet Game as two of his other novels I have read. He writes a great story, and keeps you reading through all hours of the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    Great Read!

    Greg Iles has become my favorite writer. This is a great theme, with excellent character development, and gripping action. Tremendous book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    ILES DOES IT AGAIN!

    I started reading The Quiet Game by Greg Iles one day out of boredom. It was one of the best books I've ever read. I soon had read all of his books except this one - Mortal Fear. I was not disappointed. Iles has a knack for making the reader lose sleep. I finished this 600 page thriller in one night! I just couldn't put it down! He is writes like a artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    If you love suspense novels, than here's one for you!

    This was simply one of the best books I have ever read. It is very easy to follow. Usually a Stephen King fan, I picked this book up on a shelf one day and boy was I in for a surprise! This kind of stuff could actually happen. I could not put this book down and I feel it would make an excellent movie. I loved 'Harper Cole' and all the other characters. I sometimes feared the killer and sometimes I would feel sorry for him, because he was definantly a dark soul. I cannot say enough about this book except READ IT! If all his book are like this one than I have a new author to add to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2000

    solid, fast, interesting - a great book

    I've read over a hundred novels and this one is right at the top of the heap. Though the ending was simply 'ok' , everything else was as good as thriller writing gets...Mr. Iles has a gift for phrasing and setting up all components of the story to make everything come together perfectly...the pace is good, the 'feel' is perfect and I loved the charecter 'Harper Cole' - he's real, full of wisdom and a hero in a different kind of way...what more can I say about this perfect book ? michael

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Fascinating suspense

    What else can I say, except that this book is HOT! Riveting suspense from the first page to the last. I stayed up all night long, not able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    A Thrilling Ride

    This book was a fantastic thriller. I loved the fast paced high tech story line and the fact that the story took place in the south very much intrigued me since I live in south. I definitly will read more of Mr. lles books and hope they are as great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1