Customer Reviews for

Mortal Ghost

Average Rating 3.5
( 904 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(227)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(111)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Great Trouble-Teen Story With Some Tech & Supernatural Mystery

First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes af...
First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes after loosing his family in a fire. All the important relationships that he has known have been selfish and abusive, including someone from his own family.

The boy is befriended by an open, honest and supportive family (who once had a troubled son of their own). We see his struggle with such an unfamiliar dynamic yet begin to slowly trust that it could be true. The boy, however, seems to have a supernatural gift or two and fears what will happen if people find out.

[Another reviewer said that the story jump around too much for them. I was able to follow it easily once I realized that it wasn't the writing style but the fact that the formatting of the book didn't clue the reader in when a location change had happened. A blank line or two before a scene or time change would have fixed the problem.]

For me, it was a very good story that kept me turning the pages.

posted by ScottF on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Badly written

I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of ...
I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of what is happening. I can see why this was a free book because if I bought it I would return it immediately! I'm not completely finished with the book and I'll keep plugging away and try to finish it but it will be a struggle because it's boring and rambles a lot!

posted by Azgirl25 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    What?

    This had to be one of the worst books I have ever read. It made no sense at all, and the only reason I finished the book was out of pure stubbornness and the hope that somewhere a long the way things would start coming together. I know its a free book and maybe I shouldnt have expected much from it in the first place. Just dont waste your time with this one, there are plenty of other freebies out there that are much better and if not better make sense at least.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You get what you pay for.

    I wanted this to be better. It started out okay. It went from bad to worse. I found the characters to be lacking depth. The story drags on and doesn't ever really clear up who or what Jessie is. His Abstract thoughts and feeling through the entire book are rather confusing. The addition of unnecessary scenes for shock value add nothing to the plot of this novel. I would NOT recommend this book!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Very Confusing

    This book seemed to be all over the place. Read it to the finsh just to see how it would end, but really wasn't one of my favorites.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Beware...this gets sick in a perverted way

    I rarely don't complete a book, but this was sickening.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    OCEAN





    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Unsure

    I was unhappy to find all of the homosexual content. I feel that the description of the book should have warned us. Sooo many questions were left unanswered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Blah

    Toooooo long! How can a person write this book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    It started out ok but

    Halfway thru it it became lame and boring- this authot is too adjectve happy-which makes the dtory drag on to boredom

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Read my comment so you can here me.

    Wow i havent bought the book yet but it seems that people say that the author jumps around with the book so before you say no to the book because of all the bad reviews take a chance and reaad the first chapter if you dont like it then stop reading if you like it be my guest and keep reading
    PS dont pay any atteion to my rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Too much is too much

    The first 300 hundred pages read easily, but all the remaining ones become bogged down in a dizzying and disconnected flurry of subplots and themes. I really wanted to like this book and I feel that within all these themes and subplots there's not just one good story, but a whole series, if only the whole confusing mess was adequately broken down to give each the full attention it really deserves. As it is I'm stopping while I can still appreciate aspects of these characters and their tales.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Hard to follow

    Bounced all over the lace.Both story wise and POV wise. Nothing really wrapped up. Author seemed more intent on cramming as much into the pages as possible than actually telling a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    What publishing company do these horrible authors go to?

    Unfortunatly, there is no zero stars button. The book had a good begining but goy boring in the middle. I gave up in page 800 something. Has anyone else noticed that most of these authors are British?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    DIDN'T LIKE THIS BOOK

    I didn't finish, got half way and got bored...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Bad, Bad book.

    Terrible Book. I'm actually on line now searching to see if the book is a 2nd or 3rd one in a series because I have no idea what's going on, so I assumed that it can't be a book 1. Writer is leaving out too much info, you really have to work to figure out what's going on, but then you're still left going, "Huh??"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Could've been better

    The book jumped topics way too much.. the author left out waayyyy too many details. The book left me confused throughout the whole way. Then the book wrapped up in a side detail. Was not a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Horrible

    I absolutely hated this book. It seems as if the author couldn't decide how he wanted to explain the character and his affliction so he jumped around to different ideas, with no clear understanding of what he is. I thought the characters lacked in depth, again seemed that the author was trying to push for a feeling for characters that just never came. Hated this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Not so good

    the book was to long to get to the end i didnt like it tht much andi will never buy it again!!!! the reason y i gave it a star is the book didnt intersate me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    confusing!!

    i just finished this book on my lunch book. usually a book of 300 pages takes me no more then 2 days to finish but this one took me a week and a half. it was very confusing with all of the god referances and half the time i didn't even know what was happening. there was a lot of detail left out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    So-so..

    If you like the Twilight series, which I don't, chances are you will like this book....otherwise stay as far away as possible. It's simply one more of the "twilight" clones that have been popping up like weeds. Bad writing and WAY too many unanswered questions to make it enjoyable. Not to mention one of hte major conflict points of the whole story is wrapped up in one or two sentances..and that's more of a side-note then part of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Needs editing

    Fantastic concept, but the book needs serious editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6