Customer Reviews for

Mortal Ghost

Average Rating 3.5
( 902 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(226)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(111)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Great Trouble-Teen Story With Some Tech & Supernatural Mystery

First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes af...
First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes after loosing his family in a fire. All the important relationships that he has known have been selfish and abusive, including someone from his own family.

The boy is befriended by an open, honest and supportive family (who once had a troubled son of their own). We see his struggle with such an unfamiliar dynamic yet begin to slowly trust that it could be true. The boy, however, seems to have a supernatural gift or two and fears what will happen if people find out.

[Another reviewer said that the story jump around too much for them. I was able to follow it easily once I realized that it wasn't the writing style but the fact that the formatting of the book didn't clue the reader in when a location change had happened. A blank line or two before a scene or time change would have fixed the problem.]

For me, it was a very good story that kept me turning the pages.

posted by ScottF on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Badly written

I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of ...
I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of what is happening. I can see why this was a free book because if I bought it I would return it immediately! I'm not completely finished with the book and I'll keep plugging away and try to finish it but it will be a struggle because it's boring and rambles a lot!

posted by Azgirl25 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Badly written

    I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of what is happening. I can see why this was a free book because if I bought it I would return it immediately! I'm not completely finished with the book and I'll keep plugging away and try to finish it but it will be a struggle because it's boring and rambles a lot!

    32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Huh?

    While the premise seemed interesting, this book was terribly written which made it very hard to read. Another reviewer mentioned that it seemed as if the author has ADD, and I wholeheartedly agree, many of the scenes jump around without any type of segue. For me, even blank spaces or better formatting wouldn't have helped the issue, since the content itself didn't flow. The characters had potential, but there was still way too much left unexplained by the end of the book.

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    took forever to get through!

    I think this book had potential but it was NOT an enjoyable read. I struggled to get through it. Typically when you read a book and there is some sort of time break or change in topic in a chapter there is a space or symbol, not with this book. Often times I was confused as to what was going on.
    Also the plot to this book is very weak. I was left confused at the end and very disappointed that I wasted my time reading this book

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    It has good potential but it is VERY choppy.

    The story line is hard to follow because the author switches from event to event and one characters thoughts to another so quickly that it is difficult to follow what is happening. But if you ignore that the story does have potential, though I did not like the ending.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Confusing and Unfinished

    The premise of the book sounded very interesting so I took a chance and read it. Unfortunately it didn't live up to my expectations. The book continually jumped back and forth between the viewpoints of several characters without a break... one line was from one point of view and the very next line was someone else. Also the scenes changed in the same way. One minute they are doing real life things and the next Jesse is in some fantasy, unreal, dream world with so much fantastic imagery that it made no sense. Then there were the scientists and the carbon based computer that apparently could enter Jesse's mind and talk to him.

    Also the book left all the questions unanswered. I was tempted to stop reading about half way through but I kept hoping everything would be explained. It wasn't. Jesse's true identity was never explained, why did he carry the name and memories of a boy that died in childhood? If he wasn't Jesse, who was he? Who were all the people he remembered, such as Liam and Mal, and what did they do to him? What really happened to him at the end of the book, did he die, did he heal, will he ever truly come back? No explanation as to who Finn really was, what was his "true" job, why did he need a gun? Why was Peter being tortured for Finn's art, and why didn't Finn know about that? What was so special about the child's top?
    It goes on and on with no answers...just frustration and annoyance. The most positive thing was that it was free.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Waste Your Time With This One

    I did not like this book. The author had me thoroughly confused as to what was happening. I was faced with two options, either I could keep reading on and hope that it would come together and make sense in the end, or just give it up. After 200 pages, I really wanted to give it up. At times I thought to myself, maybe it is just me. Am I this thick, naive, or uneducated that I can't grasp what a simple story this is? But I don't believe so.
    The story seems to me to change from chapter to chapter. It's as if even the author doesn't really know the direction it's going either, which in some instances can be a good thing, but not this time. At the beginning it's about Jesse and his mysterious past, at another time it's about Sarah's weird parents Meg and Finn, and at other times it's about Sarah's horrific and detailed experience with Mick and Gavin. It simply doesn't flow, and isn't cohesive.
    However, I did like the character development. Finn, Meg, Jesse, and Sarah were all great characters, and prove to be the best part of the entire book. I have a few more stories by the same author, ('Corvus', 'Noise', and 'Snowstorm'), but I believe I will wait a while before getting to them. I'm willing to give the author another chance, but I'm not as optimistic as I was at the beginning of reading 'Mortal Ghost'. I'm desperately hopeful that I'll not go through the same ordeal again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Where's the story?

    Some authors become too obsessed with words, a misguided tactic to impress rather than engage the reader with characters and plots that are believable. I don't care what genre the story fits, it's got to be coherent enough to be credible, especially ones that toss balls around supernatural courts. If I go, "Huh?" at any point during a read, the author has sacrificed art for the sake of whatever lured him to write the story in the first place. Such is the case with MORTAL GHOST. When I finished reading this, instantly I knew this could have been a really good story had the author cared more about his characters and the story than his use of words to impress. I also recoil at sub-plots that are unnecessary (did Sarah really have to get raped in order for us to believe Jesse was capable of love?), the overuse of metaphors that made me want to repeatedly bang my head against the wall and what's with all these incoherent jolts of story-line that are as disjointed as an old arthritic cat chasing an equally crippled mouse? I certainly want to never hear the word "silver" or any variation of it ever again, or copper or sweat or...you pick. And it ends as conveluted as it began, with Jesse, some thirteen months after a firey exit, swimming through the depths of the sea with a child we presume to be his, but what the hell, you decide. Disappointed is an understatement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Wierd & depressing story

    Had to skip alot of chapters just to get through this book Was good at the begining then pettered out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good read

    Jumped around alot nice ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Weird

    Very disjointed. Too many different stories not quite melding together. Not very satisfying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    A sleeper

    This book is slow and I am having a hard time finishing it. I will resubmit another review when I am done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Ummmm

    Yeah I thought it was going to be good....and then I read the first few chapters and I couldn't get into it. There's too many secrets and the author doesn't really answer any of them in the first 5 chapters. I couldn't finish it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Wait, what?

    The synopsis had me hooked and the first part of the book was intriguing and had me hooked. Then suddenly it took a really random turn and it seemed as if the writer was trying to put every small and random thought they had into the book not caring if it worked or not. I would love to say I finished it, but I had to stop after the first 230 pages because I couldn't go on with the awkward and confusing change of the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Good Plot, badly written

    The plot behind the story is a good one, but the writing style is bad enough that I almost didn't finish the book. Run on thoughts, jumbled topics, and paragraphs need identifying. I hope all the authors written works are not this carelessly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Good thing it was free.

    This book was by far the most confusing book I've ever read as far as breaks between topics. And I read on average 3 books a week. I've never had to go back and make sure I haven't skipped a page and I've done it several times so far in this book.

    The story line is something to be desired. The editor must have been asleep when they edited this book, because the errors are abundant.

    I would not recommend this book, and I'm not sure I will read anything more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    this book is a struggle

    I am an avid reader and usually finish a book within a few days. I have been reading this one on and off for weeks. The writing style and story line are just so fragmented that it is difficult to stay interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Enjoyed It!!

    A rather long read, gets a little long winded and goes off track sometimes but it was easy to get involved with the characters. Strange ending though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    It's OK

    Long and drawn out. Still leaves you with more questions than answers. Wouldn't read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    mixed up

    this could have been a very good book, if it wasn't so mixed up. paragraphs didn't fit together right, sentences were out of order. very hard to follow and tons of unanswered questions. i had to force myself to finish reading it, ending awful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    great but could be better

    i think that if you were to add a little zap of more intensity and a good saga it would be a great sell !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6