Customer Reviews for

Mortal Ghost

Average Rating 3.5
( 904 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(227)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(111)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Great Trouble-Teen Story With Some Tech & Supernatural Mystery

First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes af...
First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes after loosing his family in a fire. All the important relationships that he has known have been selfish and abusive, including someone from his own family.

The boy is befriended by an open, honest and supportive family (who once had a troubled son of their own). We see his struggle with such an unfamiliar dynamic yet begin to slowly trust that it could be true. The boy, however, seems to have a supernatural gift or two and fears what will happen if people find out.

[Another reviewer said that the story jump around too much for them. I was able to follow it easily once I realized that it wasn't the writing style but the fact that the formatting of the book didn't clue the reader in when a location change had happened. A blank line or two before a scene or time change would have fixed the problem.]

For me, it was a very good story that kept me turning the pages.

posted by ScottF on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Badly written

I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of ...
I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of what is happening. I can see why this was a free book because if I bought it I would return it immediately! I'm not completely finished with the book and I'll keep plugging away and try to finish it but it will be a struggle because it's boring and rambles a lot!

posted by Azgirl25 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Missing an ending?

    The story was difficult to get into and felt as though there were chunks edited out. I actually thought I had not received a complete ebook until I read the other reviews. I think the author forgot to finish it. I really would like to see the rest of the story somehow.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Pretty good story, but disturbing content!

    I normally do not read stories with supernatural plots, but there is actually a good story hidden amongst the numerous pages that I considered confusing and unnecessary. I never could decide whether I thought our main character was truly supernatural or a delusional schizophrenic. Be prepared for a disturbing rape scene and incest references.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good read (D)

    Very interesting read. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Hmm

    good diffrent ...i really liked it.. not the kind of story thats wrappef in a pretty happy bow...but enjoyable hope for part two

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this story. I noticed that previous reviewers stated that they found the story to be choppy and that parts of it were confusing, but I found the book to be mind opening. The story line was interesting and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book has elements of just about everything in it. It start

    This book has elements of just about everything in it. It started off as realistic fiction. Girl meets boy, who somehow ends up staying with the girl's family. But added to that is that the boy, Jesse, has flashbacks about his past, and visions of a boy he has never met, while having conversations with something that could be a computer. And, if that isn't enough, he also has fire-starting and healing powers.

    It is quite well-written, even with the confusion of so many genres appearing in the same book. It was also highly entertaining, mostly because you never knew what was going to happen next. I couldn't stop reading it, mainly because I kept having to decipher just what was happening.

    As I read on, I could understand the title of this book. In some ways, Jesse was a ghost. Someone who was there, but who wasn't who he thought he was. I really liked his vulnerability. He held a lot of guilt over his past and a belief that he was better off alone. He also had to live with the gifts he had been given - even if he considered some of them a curse. He's also trying to find out who he is. What teenager doesn't ask themselves at one time who they are? I know I did. And that's what draws me to this book - the underlying realism to it - even when it's anything, but that.

    Some of the scenes written are very intense and I wonder if L. Lee Lowe wrote purely for fun or if there was some hidden meaning behind the writing. In one scene, the one with the man hanging from the tree, it felt almost spiritual to me. As if Jesse had to put something to rest before he could move on. Like letting go of his past so he could live the life he should be living and not the one he was. And, I know it may only be me reading into it, but it reminds me of Shakespeare's 'As you like it' - 'All the world's a stage, and all the men and women merely players...' In some ways that's how it feels. It's like Jesse is a puppet with someone else pulling the strings, especially with Red and the others.

    Sarah, another character, is what held Jesse together. She's the one who gives him hope. She goes through a similar hell to Jesse and yet at the same time different. In some ways, she's also his downfall or at least the guys she hung around with were. There are other characters I adore as well, like Sarah's dad, Finn. He gave Jesse support when he needed it and was there for him when no other male figure was.

    This whole novel was complicated, gave me hope of a happy ending for the characters, and was bittersweet. I can't go to much into why it's bittersweet because it would contain spoilers. I didn't consider the book a light read, well, it was a light read at the start and evolved from there. To be honest, some of it I didn't understand at all, mainly because, as I mentioned earlier, there was more than one or two genres in it. But even so, it didn't stop me from liking it. The book is also longer than most, so it will take more time to read.

    I think this book is best suited to someone who prefers a challenging book, because that's how I found it.

    And now, since I don't have anything more to add, here is my rating :- 3 out of 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Different

    Its different kept my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Interesting Premise, good story

    I found this to be a fairly quick read. It wasn't completely captivating like the hunger games but I did enjoy the characters and it definitely contains some darker material that I would not recommend for readers under 14 or so. *rape and abuse* I think it is a good example of the dangers of peer pressure and has interesting turns to the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Good Read

    have read better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Ok

    Not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    It okay

    This book is okay but not the best ghost story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    great way to pass the time

    Was not bad,and was interesting. the book kept me reading. The ending is a little iffy, but still a mysterious and precious moment to end with. I reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Like this book.

    i enjoy reading this book, but it left me with some questions at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Still not quite sure what happened.

    Interesting premise. Good character development. Otherwise, not terribly well-written.
    Left with too many unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    fascinating concept

    `The story and characterizations fascinated me enough to keep reading this nookbook; although the editing and structure was poorly executed, I couldn't stop reading it. It had a lot of potential, it just needs a a good editor to fix the style and structure issues. It did challenge me to think and that made it worth my time in reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    very odd

    This book was super weird. I couldn't really grasp what was going on for most of the book and it seemed to drag on forever, i swear it took me months to finally force myself to finish this book. at times i felt like i knew what was going on, then a second later it was completely different and it really bugged me. didn't care for this book at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    ....confused!

    I really liked the idea of this story. But, I was so confused in the beginning that nothing made sense. When I was done with the entire book I went back and read it again. I think it was the errors that had me so confused.
    Anyhow...... Other than being unbelievable, it was entertaining. I like that it made you think and consider other possibilities than what we believe of life and death.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Great Read!

    Like some of the other reviewers, I found the story to be a bit disjointed at times. I'd go back a page thinking I had missed one..only to find I hadn't. It was no problem, however, to keep up with the story. A bit slow at first, it really sped up! I thought, at first, that the book ended leaving a few unanswered questions but then realized those questions were answered by the title of the book itself. I loved the ending! This was a real love story. My first thought after reading the last page is that this would make a great movie! Love, paranormal, exciting...a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Good book, but...

    This book was good, but who proofreads these books? You would be reading about one thing happening and in the next line it would be a different location and event. At least they should start a new paragraph! Also, it was a very unsatisfying ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    It was a good book, but confusing in some areas. You just really have to pay attention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10