Customer Reviews for

Mortal Ghost

Average Rating 3.5
( 904 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(227)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(111)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Great Trouble-Teen Story With Some Tech & Supernatural Mystery

First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes af...
First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes after loosing his family in a fire. All the important relationships that he has known have been selfish and abusive, including someone from his own family.

The boy is befriended by an open, honest and supportive family (who once had a troubled son of their own). We see his struggle with such an unfamiliar dynamic yet begin to slowly trust that it could be true. The boy, however, seems to have a supernatural gift or two and fears what will happen if people find out.

[Another reviewer said that the story jump around too much for them. I was able to follow it easily once I realized that it wasn't the writing style but the fact that the formatting of the book didn't clue the reader in when a location change had happened. A blank line or two before a scene or time change would have fixed the problem.]

For me, it was a very good story that kept me turning the pages.

posted by ScottF on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Badly written

I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of ...
I've never written a review before so I'll keep this brief. The story is choppy and very hard to follow. It's almost as if the author has A.D.D. and can't complete a thought on paper without moving onto another subject causing this reader to be confused and unsure of what is happening. I can see why this was a free book because if I bought it I would return it immediately! I'm not completely finished with the book and I'll keep plugging away and try to finish it but it will be a struggle because it's boring and rambles a lot!

posted by Azgirl25 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Great Trouble-Teen Story With Some Tech & Supernatural Mystery

    First, this e-book loads fine on the B&N Nook e-reader, but doesn't seem to be formated properly for the B&N iPhone app (only the cover and a blank page load).

    This was a great story. The reader follows a homeless teen boy who has been through several foster homes after loosing his family in a fire. All the important relationships that he has known have been selfish and abusive, including someone from his own family.

    The boy is befriended by an open, honest and supportive family (who once had a troubled son of their own). We see his struggle with such an unfamiliar dynamic yet begin to slowly trust that it could be true. The boy, however, seems to have a supernatural gift or two and fears what will happen if people find out.

    [Another reviewer said that the story jump around too much for them. I was able to follow it easily once I realized that it wasn't the writing style but the fact that the formatting of the book didn't clue the reader in when a location change had happened. A blank line or two before a scene or time change would have fixed the problem.]

    For me, it was a very good story that kept me turning the pages.

    44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Very interesting

    At first I actually had to put it down because it was a little too dense, couldn't figure out what will fill over 1000 pages. After I started back from the begining, and read some 50 pages or so more, it got interesting, and eventualy couldn't put it down. Strange story of shorts, paranormal abilities, deep wounds, little misteries within the plot, it turned out pretty good, although I still don't get the last chapter, not quite certain that the ending is the right one, not with so much hope and growing that goes throuht the book. A little diaspointed about it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Really good book....

    Be prepared for this book to make you cry towards the end. It was a great book, even though I wish there could have been a happier ending. It was well worth the read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Kayti bear

    The title sounded very dumb at first but once i read it it made sense an it a great read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Unique

    This book, although hard to follow at times, was a very good book. I couldn't put it down, and went to work several times tired from lack of sleep. Many reviewers criticize the writing style, however I found it interesting. Almost like being in someone's head. Totally random thinking. I liked it, and hope it is expanded in another book telling the daughter's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Good book

    Little weird at time little sad at the end but a great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Excellent Read

    I like many saw the many reviews of this book. I was pleasantly surprised that this is one of the richest fulfulling story that I have read in ages. The author has updated this edition taking in the feedback about punctuation and grammar.. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a great escape that measures the depth of the human heart but also stirs the imagination. I have read thousand of novels from romance to military scifi and would recommed this book as an enjoyable read for all ages.

    To the author- Great work! Thank you for sticking with this novel and updating for all of to truly enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Very good

    Charecters are so very real with detail and flaws . The story can be hard to follow but is so beautiful it stays with you days after you read the last page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Truly a remarkable story with a lot of detail!

    Truly a remarkable story with a lot of detail!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Good read

    This was a free book. I wasn't expecting much but it turned out to be a great book. Evocative writing. Had me hooked from the beginning. I almost missed my flight, I was so engrossed in this book. Read through it in three days. Don't pass it up!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Great book

    Even though it was long ut kept you wanting more and more. I also thought the story line was good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    This was a great story. I was engrossed in it since the beginning. Even though it was a long book, I still seemed to feel like it went by too fast and wanted more. I felt the emotions of all the characters and kept hoping for jesse to get a fair chance at life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I was impressed

    The author grabs you from the beginning and does not release you. I had a hard time putting down the book at all. I highly recommend this for ages 17 and up. There are some difficult circumstances/themes throughout the novel that a younger reader might have a hard time understanding.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Brilliant

    Some parts were a bit hard to follow but overall i thought this was an incredibly written book. I really cannot believe that it was free. Jesse had me mesmorized and i fell in love with his way of being with Sarah and Finn. Excellent read and i would have read it faster had it not been for my real life :-)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Loved it.

    Very good book . Well worth the time. Parts were a tad long winded but the descriptions were detailed and enabled the reader to truly visualize the characters and surroundings. Highly recommend this book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good idea

    This is one of the most original storylines I have read in a while. It could be brutal at times but made it memorable. As in real life the bad guys dont always get what they deserve nor do the heroes. Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Very good read

    Not for children, to many controversial issues. Initially hard to follow due to British flavor and slang, once mastered well written. Extremely detailed and lengthy for a free book. Recomend for those with a more mature taste in literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    loved it

    this book was really good and really different than anything else
    i have read .. i did get a little confused.but i liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    Realllly good it skiped around anit but other than tht it waz really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Needs more details

    Excellent story but needs more details like what happened when he told mick about his brother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12