Customer Reviews for

Mortal Obligation: Book One of the Dark Betrayal Trilogy

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

My Summary: Since her brother's death, seventeen year old Ree ha

My Summary:
Since her brother's death, seventeen year old Ree has had disturbing dreams and always feels like she is being watched. She doesn't understand what's happening. All she wants, is to get through high school. Then there is her brother's best friend Paden. He's...
My Summary:
Since her brother's death, seventeen year old Ree has had disturbing dreams and always feels like she is being watched. She doesn't understand what's happening. All she wants, is to get through high school. Then there is her brother's best friend Paden. He's promised to watch over Ree, but she wants more than friendship. She's loved him since she was a child. One night when they head out to a concert, Ree and Paden feel like they are being watched. Turns out, that the "people" watching her want to destroy Ree before she can save the world. She had no idea that she was the answer to protecting the world from darkness. Ree has guardians, who turn out to be her friends. Her guardians are the descendants of Gods. As she reveals the truth about her destiny, not only does she find her heart torn between two guys, but more surprises will be revealed.

My Take:
I feel like it's been a while since I've read a vampire story. Honestly, I wasn't sure what to expect. What I liked was that the vampires were different than other vamp stories. I also like that there is mythology tied into the story. There's also a bit of magic too. A well rounded mix, that brings the story together nicely in the end.

When I first met Ree, I felt a bit sad for her. Not only is she a bit of a loner at school, but her family is so distraught over her brother's death, that they kind forget about her. However, once she starts to learn the truth about who she is, she really steps up to the plate. There is nothing worse to me than a whiny heroine and thank goodness Ree handles all these changes with a kick butt attitude.

On to my favorite part of the story....PADEN. I'm the type of gal that focuses a lot on the boys in the book. Are you shocked? If I don't feel a connection to the lead guy right away, the story drags a bit for me. Luckily for me, I fell for Paden pretty much immediately. I mean, I got a little irritated with him from time to time with the whole, "I can't date you because, you are my friend's sister." deal, but he redeemed himself. I love that Paden is her main protector. He's so fiercely devoted to keeping Ree safe that it made me swoon more than once.

Now, there is another fellow, Roland, that enters the scene to make things a bit challenging for Paden. In fact, I think he pushed Paden into confessing his feelings for Ree, because he was jealous of Roland. I can see the benefit to having Roland in the story and there is definitely a strong connecting story between Roland and Ree, but I'm just not loving him. Paden is my choice, hands down.

As for the story, I admit, the flow was smooth, but I kept waiting for "the" moment that I would be wowed. I felt the connection to the characters, but I needed that special something to make me love the story. The first moment came when you begin to understand the possible connection between Ree and Roland. It should definitely make for an interesting twist as the story continues. The second moment for me came at the end. What a great ending! I admit that I had some suspicion about what happened, but once it happened, I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next.

My final thoughts are: the writing was great, I connected to the characters, and I look forward to the next book in the trilogy, Mortal Defiance. I feel like this is a great read for the YA community. If you are looking for a good mix of paranormal characters with a twist, this is a great pick for you. I really look forward to reading Mortal Defiance. I can't wait to see what happens next!

posted by TheAutumnReview on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

its a good book

I like this book very much.. I just couldn't put it down

posted by KaylaCA on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    My Summary: Since her brother's death, seventeen year old Ree ha

    My Summary:
    Since her brother's death, seventeen year old Ree has had disturbing dreams and always feels like she is being watched. She doesn't understand what's happening. All she wants, is to get through high school. Then there is her brother's best friend Paden. He's promised to watch over Ree, but she wants more than friendship. She's loved him since she was a child. One night when they head out to a concert, Ree and Paden feel like they are being watched. Turns out, that the "people" watching her want to destroy Ree before she can save the world. She had no idea that she was the answer to protecting the world from darkness. Ree has guardians, who turn out to be her friends. Her guardians are the descendants of Gods. As she reveals the truth about her destiny, not only does she find her heart torn between two guys, but more surprises will be revealed.

    My Take:
    I feel like it's been a while since I've read a vampire story. Honestly, I wasn't sure what to expect. What I liked was that the vampires were different than other vamp stories. I also like that there is mythology tied into the story. There's also a bit of magic too. A well rounded mix, that brings the story together nicely in the end.

    When I first met Ree, I felt a bit sad for her. Not only is she a bit of a loner at school, but her family is so distraught over her brother's death, that they kind forget about her. However, once she starts to learn the truth about who she is, she really steps up to the plate. There is nothing worse to me than a whiny heroine and thank goodness Ree handles all these changes with a kick butt attitude.

    On to my favorite part of the story....PADEN. I'm the type of gal that focuses a lot on the boys in the book. Are you shocked? If I don't feel a connection to the lead guy right away, the story drags a bit for me. Luckily for me, I fell for Paden pretty much immediately. I mean, I got a little irritated with him from time to time with the whole, "I can't date you because, you are my friend's sister." deal, but he redeemed himself. I love that Paden is her main protector. He's so fiercely devoted to keeping Ree safe that it made me swoon more than once.

    Now, there is another fellow, Roland, that enters the scene to make things a bit challenging for Paden. In fact, I think he pushed Paden into confessing his feelings for Ree, because he was jealous of Roland. I can see the benefit to having Roland in the story and there is definitely a strong connecting story between Roland and Ree, but I'm just not loving him. Paden is my choice, hands down.

    As for the story, I admit, the flow was smooth, but I kept waiting for "the" moment that I would be wowed. I felt the connection to the characters, but I needed that special something to make me love the story. The first moment came when you begin to understand the possible connection between Ree and Roland. It should definitely make for an interesting twist as the story continues. The second moment for me came at the end. What a great ending! I admit that I had some suspicion about what happened, but once it happened, I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next.

    My final thoughts are: the writing was great, I connected to the characters, and I look forward to the next book in the trilogy, Mortal Defiance. I feel like this is a great read for the YA community. If you are looking for a good mix of paranormal characters with a twist, this is a great pick for you. I really look forward to reading Mortal Defiance. I can't wait to see what happens next!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Check this one out!

    I was really excited to get into Ree's world after reading the summary of Mortal Obligation. And my excitement was generously rewarded as I was swept up in this great story.

    What I liked: 1) The Guardians. How they are...created, or tapped as Guardians is pretty cool. 2) Roland. Okay, I'm majorly crushing on this guy. He seems to be super sweet, but also kinda dangerous at the same time. 3) And then of course there's Paden. Strong, sorta silent type whose nursing an unrequited crush? Let's say it together now, LOVE TRIANGLE! There were some incredibly sweet scenes with Paden that just made me want to sigh. 4) The battle scene. This was one of the best written battle scenes I've read in a while. Seriously, I was holding my breath at one point. 5) I didn't expect the killer twist at the end. Going back and thinking about it, I was like, oh, man. I should have seen that coming! But I didn't. :)

    What I didn't like: 1) It's a little slow on the uptick. It took me a bit to get into the story. Of course once I did get into it, I didn't emerge until I was finished.

    Overall thoughts: This is a great start to The Dark Betrayal Trilogy. It opens up a new world full of interesting characters, a new twist on paranormal concepts, and a different backdrop. I can't wait to see where the story goes next for Ree and her friends.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    BookWhisperer Reviews: Mortal Obligation

    Mortal Obligation is an strange and unique twist of paranormal and scifi. With a detailed mix of mythology and supernatural being; this story transforms into an Xmen like group that is dedicated to the fight against evil. Admittedly, I struggle with the background of this story. The mixture was very unique and creative, but I felt it was difficult in envision. Even with this obstacle it was surprising easy to continue, and overcome the this obstacle to find an enticing and enjoyable read. The characters prove entertaining and interesting that add to a fulfilling experience. As a debuting novel for this series it is obvious that this was the first book, and the novel appears ready to take off from here. With the momentum that was previewed in concluding book one; I anticipate that will surpass my expectations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    AMAZING

    Loved this book. Great story line and the there is a great mix of humor from the charactors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I love roland

    Rolands sooo cute ree and him should be together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mortal Obligation is a great book. This is a great YA love stor

    Mortal Obligation is a great book. This is a great YA love story even if Padon if being a pigheaded man. Love the description and the plot of this book and can not wait to share it with my daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book One, in the Dark Betrayal Trilogy, Mortal Obligation, by N

    Book One, in the Dark Betrayal Trilogy, Mortal Obligation, by Nicole Chase is a fascinating young adult, paranormal read. I was swept into Ree McKenna's very different life, as she and her friends receive powers from the gods, to battle an ancient foe from another world, who threatens the existence of Earth.

    Filled with many twists, readers will find the storyline of Mortal Obligation, unpredictable as they follow Ree's path. At the start of the book it would be easy to think that this was a vampire or ghost story, but with an original concept, Chase has created a unique read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    loved it

    loved the story line I will def have to finish reading the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    a must read. highly recommended.

    a must read. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I know I've said this a lot, but lately, I've had a hard time ge

    I know I've said this a lot, but lately, I've had a hard time getting into paranormal young adult books. I don't know for sure why that is. Possibly it's because many of the books feel like similar stories with minor tweaks. So I've started going into these books with a "cautiously optimistic" outlook.

    Mortal Obligation captured my attention right away. The plot isn't hesitant or plodding. The storyline fast-paced and steady. I don't enjoy books that dangle a secret over the reader for most of the story. It seems like a tactic to keep the reader hanging on. So I love that author Nichole Chase didn't waste time, leaving the reader wondering what Mortal Obligation is all about.

    The lore behind Mortal Obligation was unique. I actually knew the basics of the paranormal aspect, because I forced a friend to tell me (thank you, Autumn!). But it was so much more. I don't want to inadvertently spoil the plot for future readers, but I can safely say that I've never come across a story with the same concept. The lore definitely went above and beyond my expectations.

    I also enjoyed the characters. Ree was a typical teen, sweet, caring, and a bit shy. She handles her obstacles with a level head and determination. Her friends Jules, Bryce, Weylin and Melanie were funny and loyal. And I appreciate that Chase gave the group of friends ethnic diversity. Two thumbs up! And the guys, Padan and Roland are both worthy (I think) of Ree's affection. And I'd like to say Padan, as her life-long friend and crush would be the obvious choice, but... Roland was dark, maybe a bit dangerous and very yummy. We shall see.

    So yes, I enjoyed Mortal Obligation very much. It was fast-paced, clever, and engaging. The ending dealt huge, shattering plot twist. And I feel like a dummy for saying this, but I didn't see it coming. It surprised me and I loved it. So if you're looking for a new take on paranormal, Mortal Obligation may be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Good book

    good book. theres some typing problems but it has a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    This story is about a group of teens that are given powers from the Gods to help fight against the dark forces. I really liked this first book. It is about the teens learning that they have powers and what they are to do with the powers. I will definately read the next two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2