BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Moscow Rules (Gabriel Allon Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

engaging spy thriller

Art restorer Alessio Vianelli also known in some secretive circles as Israeli master-spy Gabriel Allon is on his honeymoon with his second wife Chiara in Umbria when his friend and undercover associate Uzi Navot meets with him at an Assisi, Italy restaurant. Uzi, a sen...
Art restorer Alessio Vianelli also known in some secretive circles as Israeli master-spy Gabriel Allon is on his honeymoon with his second wife Chiara in Umbria when his friend and undercover associate Uzi Navot meets with him at an Assisi, Italy restaurant. Uzi, a senior official for the Israel secret intelligence service, informs Gabriel that Russian arms dealer Ivan Kharkov is selling weapons to al-Qaeda. The assumption is obvious that a planned major terrorist attack is forthcoming, but none of the western espionage agents knows which cell or where. Gabriel insists on investigating. ---- The tip came from inside Moscow as Ivan¿s wife Elena warned the west. Gabriel believes she is the only avenue to who specifically her spouse is selling the weapons to she must be recruited in order for her to obtain Kharkov's ledger sheet. Unknown to Gabriel and his associates is that the former Russian Colonel and his associates have grandiose schemes to return Russia to its Soviet Empire glory days and thanks to western, Chinese, and Indian thirst for oil, money is no longer an obstacle. ---- The Allon counterespionage series is one of the best spy thriller sagas on the market today however his latest escapades in Moscow is fast-paced, but lacks the moral underpinnings that make the enemy seem human. Perhaps it is because MOSCOW RULES follows the fantastic THE SECRET SERVANT, which placed the spy thriller quality bar at stratospheric levels especially with the extraordinary explanation on how a person metamorphosis into a terrorist. In spite a shaky ending, Daniel Silva¿s tale showcases a different no longer bleak Moscow in which oil money and America¿s economic woes has made many think they can revisit and win the Cold War especially influential ruthless former military colonels. ---- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good guy Gabriel

Artist/not-so-secret agent Gabriel Allon is lured from his idyllic Umbria honeymoon by a request for a "small favor" from his mentor/father surrogate, former head of the Mussad. The favor turns out to be lethal. Although the mission that develops is a crucial one, invol...
Artist/not-so-secret agent Gabriel Allon is lured from his idyllic Umbria honeymoon by a request for a "small favor" from his mentor/father surrogate, former head of the Mussad. The favor turns out to be lethal. Although the mission that develops is a crucial one, involving covert arms sales and global terrorism, Gabriel has learned to subjugate what his heart tells him in order to do what he deems right. Somehow, Moscow Rules is missing the edge that all previous Allon novels have offered. While there is menace and violence to spare, Gabriel himself seems to be going through the paces because, well, that's what he does. The villain of the piece, Ivan Kharkov, seems a caricature designed to personify all the tyrannical elements that persist even in modern Russia, and his wife, who rats him out, doesn't come across as strong or committed enough to fulfill her mission. Nevertheless, I'd rather read a Silva covert-ops novel than one by virtually anyone else writing today, and Moscow isn't bad, simply not quite as sharp as its predecessors.

posted by katknit on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    A great thrill ride

    Silva's Gabriel Allon books are must reads for fans of good spy novels. This is the strongest yet, but I highly recommend the previous books in the series, all of which are good. I'm just sad that I will now have to wait for a year for Silva to write another one, as I knocked this one off in a day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intelligent writing....love it!

    This is the third novel featuring Gabriel Allon that I've read. I found the first in Heathrow during a long wait the day after that crazy doctor failed in his bombing attempt with his SUV full of explosives there in London. Maybe because of the situation, I fell immediately in love with Gabriel Allon and his cause.

    Silva's research is fantastic. I loved reading the explanation and thanks at the end of Moscow Rules. He puts so much work into his novels. It really pays off, and the intelligent reader of fiction will certainly appreciate his efforts. Though Allon is the consummate spy, he doesn't speak Russian nor know a very lot about the history and people other than the interactions between the Russian government and his own. He knows about the Russian arms dealers, but his lack of Russian language really works to give him a more human feel. Of course, so does the ending, but I wouldn't dream of spoiling it for the next reader!

    Moscow Rules, and others in the series, are intense. I like to make sure I have ample time to process the twists and turns of the story line, so I read them on a weekend without my six year old, when flying, or whenever I know I can have some time for thought to process the story. Moscow Rules was especially intriguing because of the Russian culture and history in the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Another fine read from Silva

    I've read several of Daniel Silva's books. All are very good, and so is this one. It is a fine, fast-paced thriller. He's one of the best of this genre, in my view. Read it; you'll like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Allon at his best

    Gabriel Allon is what one would call the master of instant justice. Sometimes you wish the characters were true. The plot is developed at such a pace that you have a difficult time putting the book down. Good guys win! How different is that from reality?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Great book!

    Loved reading this book,every page great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    LOVE Silva's books....

    Better read A Death in Viena before you read this one to follow the story. Love his books! Hope he comes up with a lot more....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    Another exciting novel from the spy-master, Daniel Silva.  Mosco

    Another exciting novel from the spy-master, Daniel Silva.  Moscow Rules has our hero Gabriel Allon back in action.  This time he's in Moscow where he's brutalized and told not to come back. But Moscow is where he must return to stop one of the most powerful arms dealers in the world from delivering the deadly weapons to al-Qaeda.  The twists and turns in this non-stop action thriller were exhausting, but I hope to recover in time to read Silva's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    If you enjoy being on the edge of your chair this is the book for you.

    I like to read a series in order so began with The Killing Artist and have read these in order. I am always sorry for one book to end, but can hardly wait for the next one. Very exciting writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Great book

    There isn't a book in the Gabriel Allon Series by Daniel Silva that has not been great. It's the kind of book that once started one cannot put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great Read

    I do most of my reading during the summer months when my schedule is less busy. Summer 2011: I discovered Daniel Silva and the Gabriel Allon series. I read all 11 books in a very short period of time. They are interesting and never a dull moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Fantastic

    The best of the series. Gabriel rocks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Spy Thriller

    i loved this book!!! This is the first book i read from the series and from Daniel Silva. I just couldn't put the book down. It keeps you hooked. It is very well written and you dont lose interest in the plot.
    I will definitely read the whole series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Bravo

    Great book I could not put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Excellent read - cringed during the torture scenes

    Good seque to THE DEFECTOR or is THE DEFECTOR good follow-up to MOSCOW RULES? My oppinion, read MOSCOW RULES first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well-written and gripping story

    I was drawn into this story very quickly and the pace increased as I went on. This was the first of Daniel Silva's stories that I have read and I will be going back to look for more. I just finished "The Defector," and it was even better.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Period Refreshing

    For me the primary enjoyment is the refreshing changes from the Soviet era. The current periodic surroundings are still historic Russian, the fiction ubiquitous, and the read suspenseful and shared. Don't attach all the characters to today's reality but read this entertaining fiction with the understanding that crime is not restricted to a nationality. Also this is espionage fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful, taut, can't-put-it-down read!

    Best by far in the Gabriel Allon series is this fast-paced, taut novel! Silva has created wonderful characters to assist Allon as he unravels the mysterious deaths of two Moscow journalists and find "the swords of Allah." Are the Israeli, American, British, and French secret services in time to save more innocent lives around the world from certain death?

    The famous art restorer's honeymoon in Umbria, Italy is interrupted to see Boris Ostrovsky. The Russian editor in Chief of the Moskovsky Gazeta uses the name the art restorer's mother gave him and King Saul Boulevard agrees. What was just a little meeting to hear what the journalist has to say becomes a frightening scenario involving Ivan Karkov, a Russian oligarch and arms dealer, his wife, and Al Qaeda. Allon uses elements of his two lives: assassin and art restorer to unravel and stop the terrorist group from implementing their "Wrath of God" world wide.

    What I loved about this novel is Allon travels all over the world as well the time span is months rather than mere days or a few weeks to accomplish his mission. And the people he enlists to assist him are wonderful characters in their own right whether he is out front or in the shadows. Leaving Allon behind alone without any back-up in Russia kept me turning the pages all though the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Reading Experience

    This is my first experience with Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon, the Israeli secret agent who is ostensibly in retirement, and well worth it. Couldn't put the book down. Loved the description of life in Moscow, the arms business, life as a journalist in Russia. It's a dark story and totally believable. Everything fits - the corruption, the danger, the terror, the brutality. Gabriel Allon, in trying to uncover the killers of those who were trying to tell the truth, is real, vulnerable, dangerous and ruthless. The characters are well developed, believable and complete. As I understand, Allon has been around for some time but I didn't need to read anything before this book to know him (although after this, I will).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Daniel Silva - Moscow Rules

    Once again, Daniel Silva is an exciting writer. He takes you to the location and enlightens you about the geographical location, the political background and draws you in to not only read a book but to be a part of it.
    I think he's outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There is a reason Daniel Silva is a best seller

    Both "Moscow Rules" and the follow-up novel "The Defector" are a must for Daniel Silva fans and anyone who likes a good spy novel. Readers will get hooked on Gabriel Allon. I have read every one of Daniel Silva's novels and like several other Facebook buddies Daniel has already, we are ready for more. You will like his research and the strength of his characters. When you are in bed reading and you have to get up and pace the floor, you know the writer has done his job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5