Customer Reviews for

Moscow Rules (Gabriel Allon Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

engaging spy thriller

Art restorer Alessio Vianelli also known in some secretive circles as Israeli master-spy Gabriel Allon is on his honeymoon with his second wife Chiara in Umbria when his friend and undercover associate Uzi Navot meets with him at an Assisi, Italy restaurant. Uzi, a sen...
Art restorer Alessio Vianelli also known in some secretive circles as Israeli master-spy Gabriel Allon is on his honeymoon with his second wife Chiara in Umbria when his friend and undercover associate Uzi Navot meets with him at an Assisi, Italy restaurant. Uzi, a senior official for the Israel secret intelligence service, informs Gabriel that Russian arms dealer Ivan Kharkov is selling weapons to al-Qaeda. The assumption is obvious that a planned major terrorist attack is forthcoming, but none of the western espionage agents knows which cell or where. Gabriel insists on investigating. ---- The tip came from inside Moscow as Ivan¿s wife Elena warned the west. Gabriel believes she is the only avenue to who specifically her spouse is selling the weapons to she must be recruited in order for her to obtain Kharkov's ledger sheet. Unknown to Gabriel and his associates is that the former Russian Colonel and his associates have grandiose schemes to return Russia to its Soviet Empire glory days and thanks to western, Chinese, and Indian thirst for oil, money is no longer an obstacle. ---- The Allon counterespionage series is one of the best spy thriller sagas on the market today however his latest escapades in Moscow is fast-paced, but lacks the moral underpinnings that make the enemy seem human. Perhaps it is because MOSCOW RULES follows the fantastic THE SECRET SERVANT, which placed the spy thriller quality bar at stratospheric levels especially with the extraordinary explanation on how a person metamorphosis into a terrorist. In spite a shaky ending, Daniel Silva¿s tale showcases a different no longer bleak Moscow in which oil money and America¿s economic woes has made many think they can revisit and win the Cold War especially influential ruthless former military colonels. ---- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good guy Gabriel

Artist/not-so-secret agent Gabriel Allon is lured from his idyllic Umbria honeymoon by a request for a "small favor" from his mentor/father surrogate, former head of the Mussad. The favor turns out to be lethal. Although the mission that develops is a crucial one, invol...
Artist/not-so-secret agent Gabriel Allon is lured from his idyllic Umbria honeymoon by a request for a "small favor" from his mentor/father surrogate, former head of the Mussad. The favor turns out to be lethal. Although the mission that develops is a crucial one, involving covert arms sales and global terrorism, Gabriel has learned to subjugate what his heart tells him in order to do what he deems right. Somehow, Moscow Rules is missing the edge that all previous Allon novels have offered. While there is menace and violence to spare, Gabriel himself seems to be going through the paces because, well, that's what he does. The villain of the piece, Ivan Kharkov, seems a caricature designed to personify all the tyrannical elements that persist even in modern Russia, and his wife, who rats him out, doesn't come across as strong or committed enough to fulfill her mission. Nevertheless, I'd rather read a Silva covert-ops novel than one by virtually anyone else writing today, and Moscow isn't bad, simply not quite as sharp as its predecessors.

posted by katknit on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Spy Thriller

    i loved this book!!! This is the first book i read from the series and from Daniel Silva. I just couldn't put the book down. It keeps you hooked. It is very well written and you dont lose interest in the plot.
    I will definitely read the whole series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Bravo

    Great book I could not put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Excellent read - cringed during the torture scenes

    Good seque to THE DEFECTOR or is THE DEFECTOR good follow-up to MOSCOW RULES? My oppinion, read MOSCOW RULES first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    excellent read, interesting story and characters are great

    I had not read this author before and this was such a great story, and the main character was so interesting, it led me to read all the older books from this author!! If you like real world action, this book has it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    Great Fast Thriller Read

    Enjoyed the characters and plot - kept me involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well-written and gripping story

    I was drawn into this story very quickly and the pace increased as I went on. This was the first of Daniel Silva's stories that I have read and I will be going back to look for more. I just finished "The Defector," and it was even better.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Period Refreshing

    For me the primary enjoyment is the refreshing changes from the Soviet era. The current periodic surroundings are still historic Russian, the fiction ubiquitous, and the read suspenseful and shared. Don't attach all the characters to today's reality but read this entertaining fiction with the understanding that crime is not restricted to a nationality. Also this is espionage fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Little too detailed for my taste

    While this is a good read it seems a little to detailed and drawn out for my taste. There are definately times where you just want to move along and get back to the main story-line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful, taut, can't-put-it-down read!

    Best by far in the Gabriel Allon series is this fast-paced, taut novel! Silva has created wonderful characters to assist Allon as he unravels the mysterious deaths of two Moscow journalists and find "the swords of Allah." Are the Israeli, American, British, and French secret services in time to save more innocent lives around the world from certain death?

    The famous art restorer's honeymoon in Umbria, Italy is interrupted to see Boris Ostrovsky. The Russian editor in Chief of the Moskovsky Gazeta uses the name the art restorer's mother gave him and King Saul Boulevard agrees. What was just a little meeting to hear what the journalist has to say becomes a frightening scenario involving Ivan Karkov, a Russian oligarch and arms dealer, his wife, and Al Qaeda. Allon uses elements of his two lives: assassin and art restorer to unravel and stop the terrorist group from implementing their "Wrath of God" world wide.

    What I loved about this novel is Allon travels all over the world as well the time span is months rather than mere days or a few weeks to accomplish his mission. And the people he enlists to assist him are wonderful characters in their own right whether he is out front or in the shadows. Leaving Allon behind alone without any back-up in Russia kept me turning the pages all though the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Reading Experience

    This is my first experience with Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon, the Israeli secret agent who is ostensibly in retirement, and well worth it. Couldn't put the book down. Loved the description of life in Moscow, the arms business, life as a journalist in Russia. It's a dark story and totally believable. Everything fits - the corruption, the danger, the terror, the brutality. Gabriel Allon, in trying to uncover the killers of those who were trying to tell the truth, is real, vulnerable, dangerous and ruthless. The characters are well developed, believable and complete. As I understand, Allon has been around for some time but I didn't need to read anything before this book to know him (although after this, I will).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Daniel Silva - Moscow Rules

    Once again, Daniel Silva is an exciting writer. He takes you to the location and enlightens you about the geographical location, the political background and draws you in to not only read a book but to be a part of it.
    I think he's outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There is a reason Daniel Silva is a best seller

    Both "Moscow Rules" and the follow-up novel "The Defector" are a must for Daniel Silva fans and anyone who likes a good spy novel. Readers will get hooked on Gabriel Allon. I have read every one of Daniel Silva's novels and like several other Facebook buddies Daniel has already, we are ready for more. You will like his research and the strength of his characters. When you are in bed reading and you have to get up and pace the floor, you know the writer has done his job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Watch Out!

    Daniel Silva does it again! Gabriel Allon tries to stay home, but the bad guys won't let him. A thrill around every bush and lots of help from the international spy guys. If you like Gabe, this is a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    Fantasy rules

    Daniel Silva lives in a world of fantasy. He is not going to Moscow (as one of his readers pointed out) and he has never been there, nor is he aware of what is going on in Russia.<BR/>As for terrorism, Moscow has suffered not less that New York City from the terrorist attacks. By the way, it is one of the duties of the KGB to fight terrorism. <BR/>Maybe instead of making up stories Silva should learn something from the real sources of information.<BR/>The majority of people in Russia share the same concerns and have the same values as people in the US or anywhere in the world.<BR/>If you want to know about Russia read the books based on facts not sick imagination. There are many now in English by American and British journalists and not only.<BR/>As an example, "Red Moon Rising" by Matthew Brzezinsky describes the dramatic events of the Race in Space in the late 50's and early 60's, the events that actually did take place and are more exciting than fiction.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    This book rules!

    I picked this up just because it was #1 on the NY bestsellers list - and it definitely earns this title! I could not put it down, finishing it in about a day (unfortunately I had to do other things during the day). I've never read Daniel Silva before, but I will surely read more from him! PS. I'm never going to Moscow!!! haha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Moscow Rules - Rules

    Moscow Rules is a really good book overall. I think the characters are rich in details and intrigue, the story flows very well, and the book is easy and enjoyable.I would like to see a big climatic ending, but I can see that the author sets things up for another book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Silva Rules

    I am not going to re-cap the plot - others have already done that. Admittedly, I am a fan of the Gabriel Allon series but I found this to be one of his best books - nail biting good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Best Gabriel Allon book so far

    I was doubtful that this book could be as good as his other 'Gabriel Allon' series, but it was the best one of all. I didn't want it to end. Hopefully there's another book coming next year that picks up where this one left off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Silva rules

    Daniel Silva's latest Gabriel Allon thriller is about the art restorer/spy's efforts to stop the sale of Russian weapons to al-Qaeda, which could lead to the deadliest terrorist attack on the U.S. since 9/11. The arms dealer is Ivan Kharkov, former KGB officer and currently a wealthy, ruthless practitioner of organized crime in modern Moscow, where a new crop of Stalinists is becoming a growing threat to Russia's oldest nemesis, the United States. (This part of the novel, concerning the return of traditional Stalinist principles and sentiments to present-day Russia as a way to reclaim past glories and global dominance, reminded me of Martin Cruz Smith's novel 'Stalin's Ghost.' Very interesting subject matter for a spy story, and it's done well in both books.) Allon uses his art background to gain access to Kharkov's wife Elena, an art collector, but nothing is easy after that. I think Silva writes some of the fastest-paced novels in the genre, and I raced through this one in one day. Tremendously exciting and highly recommended. Also recommended: A STRANGER LIES THERE - winner of the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery, it has a great protagonist in Tim Ryder, a former 70's radical whose past comes back to haunt him one morning in the form of a dead body on his front lawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm Not Going to Moscow

    Daniel Silva probably won't be going to Moscow either, given the nasty stuff he portrays Russians engaging in. Silva presents another winning novel, given a star short by me only for the choices he made in the final pages. As much as I've enjoyed the Gabriel Allon stories, it might be time to give him a rest. He's probably seen enough troubles for awhile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9