Customer Reviews for

Mossflower (Redwall Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Must Read

    I have almost all of the books in this series and i have to say that no matter how many times i read this book or whichever new installments Jacques' adds to this extraordinary series, it will never equal Mossflower. it introduced me to the world of Redwall and all of its quirky characters and amazing places. If you haven't read it yet, it's a must!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Wonderful, absolutely wonderful!

    This book is so inviting and invigorating through its outstanding imagery. When I first read it, I could not put the book down at all! Even as you read the first chapter or two, the words launch you into new territories of unseen dangers and exciting adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    MOSSFLOWER

    I think that this book is better than Redwall, personally. It is adventurous, and suspenseful. I like those kinds of books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    This book rocks!

    I love the way the author writes the book. He makes it feel as if you are actually a little woodlander in Mossflower or standing next to tyannical Tsarmina. It's awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!

    This book is really really cool. I like how its funny and the battles are really cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    An extremely well written book!

    I must give this, as well as all other books written by Brian Jacques, an outstanding rating! Mossflower is in fact one of the greatist achievements of the Redwall novles! Very well done!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    I don't care what you say but this book is the best book in the world!!!

    This book is the greatest book in the world!!!Anyway it was exciting,intresting,and I never wanted to put it down EVER!!!The only and I mean only thing I don't like about this book is that the foxes are always killed.I am OBSESSED with this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    Awesome Book!

    I love Mossflower. I just finished reading it for the fifth time and I still loved it. If you haven't read any of the redwall books, then I suggest you read this one first(Martin the Warrior is a good starter too). They both give stories of Redwall's most famous hero. Forget what other people have said about reading their favorites first. You don't really have to read them in order(not the order that BJ wrote them)because they will make sense anyways, but it will make more since because you will be like 'hey, that dude was in the other book!' Martin the Warrior, Mossflower, and the Legend of Luke are good books to start off with(in that order). After that come Mariel of Redwall and the Bellmaker (also in that order).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    THE BEST BOOK IN THE SERIES!!!!!!!!!

    THIS ONE IS THE MOST MEMORABLE REDWALL BOOK! NO OTHER BRIAN JACQUES BOOK COMPARES TO THIS ONE!!! IF YOU HAVE NOT NOT READ IT YET, TURN OFF THE COMPUTER GET TO A LIBRARY AS FAST AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN, GET IT, THEN BANG YOUR HEAD ON YOUR DESK SINCE YOU HAVEN'T ALLREADY READ IT YET. WHEN GAIN CONSIOUSNESS READ THE BOOK TILL YOU FINISH IT. I PROMISE YOU, YOU'LL LOVE IT, NO MATTER WHAT. THIS IS THE HEIGHT OF BRIAN JACQUES REDWALL SERIES. 10 OUT OF 5 STARS. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    This book was a great book!! It was cool to read how Mossflower was free. Martin, Gonff, Dinny, and all the other creatures did very brave things. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    I LOVED IT!

    I DIDN'T LIKE IT AT THE BEGINNIG BUT MY FRIEND TOLD ME I WAS MISSING OUT AND TO KEEP READING... HE WAS RIGHT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    I Finally Have IT!

    After weeks of asking my parents, my dad got it. The forest green leather on the book is beautiful and it even comes with a built-in red bookmark. This is an excellent collection to the series to read or just show off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Mossflower Review

    a great book. The book as an exciting ending but a little rushy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    I love this book

    I loved Mossflower it was so cool. I am a dedicated Redwall Fan and I am best friends with Jamey Shelley I told him to keep reading. I loved Gonff the mouse theif, he was so cool. I hope Mr Jacques that someday i can meet you. you are number one among my favorite authors thanks for all the great books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    i case you didn't know...

    It's good yeah it's my favorite. But Brian Jacques got something wrong. A ballista does not fire rocks IT'S IMPOSSIBLE. A ballista is a huge crossbow fires gigantic arrows that are incapable of breaking stone. The machine described is a trebuchet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    my favorite

    this is my favorite of the redwall series and it was the first one i read i love it with all my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Adventure lies ahead!

    This is one of those books where you can't put it down, it's soooo interesting. There are absolutly no boring or dry parts, it's very easy to pick up. This is my favorite in the series. It's FULL of action and adventure. My favorite characters are Martin & Gonff -they sort of remind me of Frodo& Sam in 'Lord of the Rings'. Boy, you'll really enjoy this book, the author is really good at his writing: he describes a lot, but he doesn't make it boring. If you love Fantasy, 'Lord of the Rings', adventure, action, animals, or just plain old enjoyable reading, this is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    The best of Redwall

    I LOVE Gonff and Martin. The best characters are the origional ones. Gonff is hilarious and if you've read the other redwall books wondering who this Martin the Warrior guy is, read Mossflower. I never read Redwall, The first written of the series, but I've read a lot of the books. I love how it doesn't go in order and you can read whatever of the many books you find interesting. Mossflower gives a lot of insight into Martin the the foundations of Redwall. It is by far the best in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Here Is The Truth

    Ok here it is. The book is pretty good, not perfect but good. Half of the book does not need to be there cause of what happens on Salamandastron, but I am not gonna tell you what happens. Now most of it was good, like what was happening in Mossflower, but with Martin, Dinny, Gnoff, etc was not needed. Overall it is OK, but other Redwall books are alot better then this one, I was disappointed with what happened in the end. There it is 'The Truth'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Mossflower! WOW!

    This is the absoulte best. It has the most action paked adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9