Customer Reviews for

Most Evil: Avenger, Zodiac, and the Further Serial Murders of Dr. George Hill Hodel

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read, but not very plausible.

    The book was interesting and well written, but not the best book. While it had a lot of information which was very useful and fun to read, I am unconvinced that George Hodel was really what this book says he is. Those strings of murders were unrelated and had different MO's and signatures, and I doubt it was the doing of the same man. But if you want to check it out, it does for an interesting read. I wouldn't recommend it to just anyone, because I'm sure lots of people would find this book ridiculous. However, I would recommend it to someone who just wants information on the murders, although it wouldn't be my first choice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    The Zodiac revealed.

    Fascinating read by Steve Hodel. The book contains solid evidence that his father was not only The Black Dahlia murderer but The Zodiac Killer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Gives you something to think about!

    Intriging

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True Crime Buffs This is a Must Read

    Steve Hodel not only makes a cogent argument but shows great courage. He is able to offer great support for his theory, and is able to present it in a way that most will be able to understand. I recommend this and the rest of Mr. Hodel's titles to anyone who is open minded is wiling to look at all the evidence before drawing conclusions on these historic and confounding murders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting, if not fully convincing

    Most Evil; author Steve Hodel picks up where he left off in his first book, Black Dahlia Avenger. In the first book he set out to prove conclusively that his father, Dr. George Hodel, was the perpetrator of one of Los Angeles' most notorious unsolved murders. In Most Evil, the son sets out to prove that his father not only committed that heinous murder, but strings of seemingly unrelated serial murders in multiple states, as well as in the Philippines; most notably, the younger Hodel asserts that Dr. George Hodel was the serial killer who called himself The Zodiac.

    Steve Hodel, a veteran LAPD homicide detective, applies his expertise and intimate knowledge to draw a line connecting several murders in California in the 1940's to the "Lipstick murders" in Chicago (also in the '40's), then to another series in Manila, and finally to the highly publicized Zodiac killings in and around San Francisco in the '60's.

    Decidedly, an interesting read to any students of the psychology and investigation of serial criminals, Most Evil does manage to draw some tenuous connections. In a purely surface sort of way, I can see where one could be convinced that each and every one of these dozens of grisly murders and attacks could have been committed by Dr. Hodel. By all description, he was a medical practitioner, brilliant and charismatic, a world traveler and suspected (arrested and charged, but not convicted) of molesting and even impregnating his own daughter.

    However, in reading Detective Hodel's recounting of the "evidence", I found myself having to step back and ask if the "May haves" and "Could possiblys" weren't almost as likely to point in other directions. Like the UFO and Bigfoot "proofs" I enjoyed in my childhood, I see nearly as many holes in the story as there "facts". I lost count of the times the author wrote, "If there is any DNA on the missing item it might well prove."

    Likewise, I found it disconcerting the way he continually misstated his own credentials; an LAPD Homicide Detective for 24 years. While I'm sure Detective Hodel was an active member of LAPD for 24 years, at least the first 5 to 10 of those would have been as a street cop, and only later would he have been promoted to the lofty rank of Detective. That he retired after 24 years and not 25 or 30 raises the question in my mind of "Why?" All of which only added to my doubt and unwillingness to take the information presented at face value.

    In the end though, I have to admit that the seemingly overwhelming too coincidental to be coincidental details do paint quite a case against the late Dr. Hodel.

    For buffs of this genre, Most Evil presents a lot to think about and a rare glimpse into the murky world of serial murderers. I may just have to reread John Douglas' book, "The Cases That Haunt Us", wherein he examines the actual Zodiac case and compare it to Hodel's observations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Excellent

    Very interesting reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing follow up to the Black Dahlia Avenger

    An absorbing read, Most Evil by Steve Hodel is an intriguing look at how the Black Dahlia murder, Zodiac murders, and the Lipstick murders may have all been the work of his father, Dr. George Hodel. For readers of the Black Dahlia Avenger (Steve's first book on his father), Most Evil expands the life story of George Hodel to include the possibilities (and in Steve's mind, the almost certainty) that he was involved in murders across the globe. Although seemingly fantastic as a theory, Steve Hodel does a good job in presenting evidence and explanations that make his conclusions seem feasible.

    Whether Most Evil is just an engaging story or an factual portrayal of past murders may never be known, but I would love to see Steve's continuing discoveries in a future book. Considering the modern times we live in where TV justice (CSI, Law & Order, Criminal Minds) provides solutions and convictions in 60 minutes or less, Most Evil leaves the door wide open for continued exploration of the loose connections of some of the biggest murder sprees of the past. Most Evil leaves you looking for more, in a good and bad way. Good, because the book only whets your appetite for more detail, Bad because you always sense that "something" seems to be missing. For me, that "something" is what should be a massive trail of evidence in the personal items and conversations of Dr. George Hodel from his long and interesting life in the U.S. and abroad. For someone who may have committed one murder, let alone strings of murders in the U.S. and abroad, you would think there would be some kind of misplaced (or purposely hidden) evidence (notes, journals, safe-deposit box, etc.) that would provide a hard tie-in to the genius of such a person. Let's hope Steve Hodel continues to explore all of the open ends he created in Most Evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Incredible true story!

    I've read thousands of books over my long life, both fiction and nonfiction. After reading Most Evil, it goes to the top of my list. George Hodel was a sick, evil genius who thought he was creating a bizarre art masterpiece out of murder. His son Steve and co-author Pezzullo have done a remarkable job piecing this elaborate story together and taking the reader into Dr. George Hodel's dark rabbit hole of a mind. This true story tops everything Stephen King and other horror writers have even written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Fbi the untold storys

    This book claims he knew (gino valentino) knew who the zodiac killers where but noone will listen to him, its a great read which leaves me confused about most evil and the neg reviews! I can't understand why noone would check dna to find the truth seems there is a lot of coverup from corrupt departments!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1