BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Most They Ever Had

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Red Clay and Black Dirt

    I don't know what someone who is not from the South will think of this book. I am from there, from the places Rick Bragg writes about. I am from those people. I come from the red clay and the black dirt. This story of the mill people resonates in my bones, in my genes. It hums and throbs like those machines. It cuts through me like the mill whistle in my home town pierced through the air.

    This is not a story about the economy. Not a microcosm for what is happening all across the country. It is a story about the people in one small mill town. It is a story about what they felt, and what they knew, and what they had to do.

    It is a moving story. It is real. Bragg is eloquent as he listens to these people telling their stories, eloquent in letting their silences speak.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Looking back 60 years ago my family was in the condition as his

    Looking back 60 years ago my family was in the condition as his. If we were ""white trash" we just didn't know how the other half lived. As we grew we all learned to aspire for more. Bragg allowed me to recall much poverty from which I had move away, while reminding me of the important things I left behind. I will be reading every thing he writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Author

    A story that needed to be told. While difficult to read because of the poverty and suffering of the people who worked in factories years ago, it is enlightening and heartbreaking. Heartbreaking because we know that the things that happened in this book are still happening in countries around the world. Today we cannot even imagine working for pennies a day and no benefits but that is what happened. I've often wondered... why dont they just leave, look for another job. Bragg gives incite into this question.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    The Most They Ever Had By Rick Bragg

    Having grown up in a mill village in Georgia where both parents were Cotton Mill workers, I was curious to see how the author would present the people and places of my youth.
    I needn't have worried. His gritty portrayal of the harsh working conditions, the determined work ethic of the so-called "lint heads", and their fierce loyalty to the very mills that were slowly killing them was painfully accurate.
    To all the children of that era and especially to the survivors, this book is a tribute to a past that should not be forgotten. And, to those who had no connection to the cotton mills of the South, it is a portrait to the strong, hard-working men and women that helped propel our nation into the 21st Century.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Great Read

    This is just another great Rick Bragg book. If you have read his other books and wondered about some of the characters this wil "flesh that out".
    It is not a big book page wise but is packed with inspirational first person accounts of making a living the hard way. The folks in this book have a very hard life but do not complain or make excuses.Rick writes from his heart and the hearts of others and the result is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating look at a different American reality, one I am thankful to not have experienced...

    Buy and read it, or if you have to, go to the library. America is not exactly what one sees on Must See TV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Another Excellent Book by Rick Bragg

    Rick Bragg continues to write so realitically about his people - who are also the same people in our own lives. This new book shows how a changing economy and drive for profit in an unequal market affect our lives. Information technology has made the world flat - but it is not equally flat from a economic standpoint. Every politician, legislator, and business executive should read this book to gain a better understanding of how decisions impact lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1