Customer Reviews for

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg is a thrilling story about a 12 year old boy who is on a mission to save his 17 year old brother named Harold, after he is illegally sworn into the army under aged. Their mean guardian Squint knows Harold is 17, but Squint lie...
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg is a thrilling story about a 12 year old boy who is on a mission to save his 17 year old brother named Harold, after he is illegally sworn into the army under aged. Their mean guardian Squint knows Harold is 17, but Squint lies saying Harold is 20 so he can be sold into the army for "3 years or death whichever comes first." Homer goes through a series of events while trying to save his brother which includes being robbed and kidnapped by slave catchers, rescuing an Underground Railroad conductor, and being captured by General Lee during the civil war. With these events and more Homer has to hurry to rescue Harold before he is sent to war under aged and possibly killed.
I highly recommend this book. I liked the way the author, Rodman Philbrick, wrote this story. You could literally feel the tension between the characters. There are other books by Rodman Philbrick that I would like to read. Books like 'Freak the Mighty' which is a story about a very smart cripple kid who meets a learning disabled strong guy who works together to do amazing things. Also, 'The Last Book in the Universe' which is a story about a boy named Spaz in a world about 200 years in the future after a huge earthquake destroys most of the world. Spaz has noticed that his sister has been missing so he runs away from home and finds her very ill on the street; he sets out to find a cure for her and takes a journal with him to write about his adventures and creates the last book ever written. He keeps the tensions live and the story very vivid. The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg received the Newberry honor award, and I agree. The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg was one of the best books I ever read.
By Brandon Jaikaran Lincoln Middle School Grade 7-

posted by Lovetoeat on August 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too much whiz

The book's language too complicated for my 9 year old.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg

    The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg is a thrilling story about a 12 year old boy who is on a mission to save his 17 year old brother named Harold, after he is illegally sworn into the army under aged. Their mean guardian Squint knows Harold is 17, but Squint lies saying Harold is 20 so he can be sold into the army for "3 years or death whichever comes first." Homer goes through a series of events while trying to save his brother which includes being robbed and kidnapped by slave catchers, rescuing an Underground Railroad conductor, and being captured by General Lee during the civil war. With these events and more Homer has to hurry to rescue Harold before he is sent to war under aged and possibly killed.
    I highly recommend this book. I liked the way the author, Rodman Philbrick, wrote this story. You could literally feel the tension between the characters. There are other books by Rodman Philbrick that I would like to read. Books like 'Freak the Mighty' which is a story about a very smart cripple kid who meets a learning disabled strong guy who works together to do amazing things. Also, 'The Last Book in the Universe' which is a story about a boy named Spaz in a world about 200 years in the future after a huge earthquake destroys most of the world. Spaz has noticed that his sister has been missing so he runs away from home and finds her very ill on the street; he sets out to find a cure for her and takes a journal with him to write about his adventures and creates the last book ever written. He keeps the tensions live and the story very vivid. The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg received the Newberry honor award, and I agree. The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg was one of the best books I ever read.
    By Brandon Jaikaran Lincoln Middle School Grade 7-

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

      Homer, a twelve year old orphan, runs away from his

     











    Homer, a twelve year old orphan, runs away from his home in Pine Swamp, Maine, to search for his brother that has been sold into the Union Army. Along his exciting journey to find his older brother, he meets many characters including the evil Stink and Smelt, the kind and friendly Mr. Brewster, and many other characters that have traits that are very unique. He comes along many obstacles that keep him from finding Harold in the Union Army. He travels along a bizarre and perilous journey south that eventually leads him to Gettysburg. Homer hopes to find Harold alive and not injured, but will he reach him in time? Will Homer make it to Gettysburg without being caught and prisoned and will he even be able to find Harold?




    The theme of the book The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg is that persisting, overcoming challenges and obstacles, determination, and being brave will reward and give a positive outcome. Homer keeps on persisting and being brave to try and find Harold in the Union Army. As the author says, "By rights, I should toss aside the flag and drop to the ground and try to get under the flying lead, but something in me won't let go. Now that the flag is in my hands it don't seem right to let it fall on bloody ground." Homer never gives up in being brave and showing determination and in the end, his bravery and determination pays off.




    I thought that this book was one of my favorites of all time because it was full of suspense, realistic fiction, adventure, and heartwarming events that really made an impact. There were so many events that left me hanging and wanting to read on. There were characters in the story that had traits that were unique in every way. The author of the book was very descriptive, imaginable, and thoughtful when writing the book. My rating for the book The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg would be a five star rating. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Love it

    In language arts class we are reading it andvit is awesome toatally should get it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Recommended

    Our Esprit sixth grade class really liked this book. We thought this book was very interesting in many different ways. It was fun and entertaining and also educating. It teaches you about the Civil War, slaves, and Civil Rights. It makes you think about what you have and others don't.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Too much whiz

    The book's language too complicated for my 9 year old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    FINDING THE ELDER BROTHER!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK . IT REMINDED ME OF MY ELDER BROTHER.FOR MY OLDER BROTHER'S 60 TH BIRTHDAY, I WROTE THAT THE MOVIE "IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE" ALWAYS RESONANTED WITH ME. RECENTLY I FIGURED OUT IT WAS THE RELATIONSHIP OF JIMMY STEWART'S CHARACTER AND HIS YOUNGER BROTHER THAT MIRRORED OUR RELATIONSHIP. BEING FROM A SINGLE FEMALE PARENT HOME,MY BROTHER WAS MY SURROGATE FATHER FIGURE.HE WAS IN CHARGE OF MAKING SURE I HAD BREAKFAST, GOT TO SCHOOL ON TIME AND STAYED OUT OF TROUBLE.MY EARLIEST WISH WAS TO BE BUILT LIKE HIM.WHEN HE CAME BACK FROM THE MILITARY DURING THE VIETNAM WAR, I JUMP FROM MY BED AND HELD HIM CLOSE TO MY HEART WITH TEARS IN OUR EYES AND THE BIGGEST LIFE AFFIRMING SMILE ON OUR FACES. WHILE I HAVE TRAVEL HITHER AND YON, HE HAS STAYED AT THE SAME JOB IN THE SAME CITY MOST OF HIS ADULT LIFE. HE HAS BEEN A ROCK TO ME, OUR SIBLINGS, HIS WIFE + TWO BOYS AND NOW GRAND KIDS.SO WITH HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDS GATHERED, I RAISE MY GLASS JUST LIKE THE END OF MOVIE AND SAY "TO MY BIG BROTHER, THE LUCKIEST GUY IN TOWN."

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    I loved this book!

    This book is a great read for all ages. It is full of action and adventure. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Storm's Foal Chapter 2

    The young foal didn't have a name that she knew of. Occasionally a traveler introduced a new word to her, so she only knew thirteen words: dirt, cloud, storm, tree, hello, sun, pony, mother, rainbow, Ponyville, food, water, and animal. <br>
    The foal realized she was a "rainbow pony" quickly. She also knew that the clouds were safe. She desperatly wanted to go there. <br>
    When it rained, she howled in misery until a nesting bird was forced to push the clouds away so the filly wouldn't be soak. <br>
    By the ti she was a year old, the filly was ready to go into the clouds. <br>
    "Rainbow cloud pony water," she announced to the first pegasus she saw. He looked confused. <br>
    "Where's your mother?" He asked. <br>
    "Food!" The foal answered proudly. The stallion made a forced smile and zoomed away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Love it

    I love this book.somtimes i feel i can not find a book i would like to read over and over but this book i think i can read as many times even if i remember how it goes. I love it. I give this book ***** or a 5 star because of how good it is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    ??? I did not purchase this book.

    Why are you asking me about this book since I did not buy it from you, and I don't own it and have never read it?I put a rating because it is a required field, but my rating is meaningless.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Read!!!

    I bought this book for my 11 year old Grandson,he usually likes the "Captain Underpants" type of books. I thought this one would be fun enough, while adding a little history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Adventure and Excitement on every page!

    This book would be a great read for kids fourth grade and up. I say this because of the serious nature of some of the content. Slavery and the Civil War is discussed, and children need to be aware of the significance of these areas in order to help the book flow. I really enjoyed the book and the humor used throughout. Twelve year old Homer and his brother are orphaned and sent to live with a horrible guardian. Harold, who is only 17, gets sold into the Civil War. Throughout the book, Homer tells of his adventures of going out in search of his brother to bring him home safe. There is a sense of hope at the end of the tunnel through the humor, even when Homer is down and out by things that happen to him. I would definitely recommend this book to parents and teachers, and think that they would benefit from reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    awesome

    best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Great book if you like adventure with a mix of comedy and history!

    The Moslty True Adventures of Homer P.Figg is about a 12 year old boy that is told to keep his mouth shut. Because his guardian squint has sold Harold, Homer's 17 year old big brother, to the army as a 20 year old man. Now Homer has left Pine Swamp,Maine in search for his oler brother before Harold reaches the war and it's too late. He has got himself in big trouble. As his adventures go on he meets new people, gets trapped on a slave cart, and captured by general Lee.
    After a long journey and fighting his own battle while looking for his bother, Homer ends up finding his brother. Homer gets yeld at by Harold to leave that it's too dangerous. Homer defies Harold's demand and follows his brother through the whole war. The story has a crippling ending (literally) that you will have to read the book yourself to find out what happends.
    I liked this book because it shows that we cant all save the world from it's troubles. Here Homer is out trying to save his brother Harold and comes to find out that Harold has adjusted in his ways and accepts his destiny of fighting in a war he doesnt belong in. Just like true life people are always trying to save another person not knowing what is behind all of their life story. It takes a loving and brave young brother to go thru the challenges that Homer went thru to find his brother.
    I would recommend this book if you like stories about adventure and history as I do. It's not a book for girls.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2