Customer Reviews for

The Mote in God's Eye (Mote Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great first contact novel

I was looking for a book that involved first contact with an alien species. This one was recommend several times as a book that deviates from the usual "the aliens find us first" approach. I enjoyed it very much and loved how the interactions between two very different ...
I was looking for a book that involved first contact with an alien species. This one was recommend several times as a book that deviates from the usual "the aliens find us first" approach. I enjoyed it very much and loved how the interactions between two very different species, both physically and culturally, played out.

posted by 8678654 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Formatting make it almost unreadable.

The line spacing and font size is inconsistent and annoying. One page will be double spaced the next single. Publisher defaults are single spaced and too small for my eyes - one of the main reasons I bought a Nook was to be able to enlarge text.

Makes what might be a...
The line spacing and font size is inconsistent and annoying. One page will be double spaced the next single. Publisher defaults are single spaced and too small for my eyes - one of the main reasons I bought a Nook was to be able to enlarge text.

Makes what might be a great book a complete frustration. Can't even get into enjoying the story....

posted by Patrickigh on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Wow

    I can't believe I went so long without reading this. A truly magnificent SciFi book. Well worth your time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    A great first contact novel

    I was looking for a book that involved first contact with an alien species. This one was recommend several times as a book that deviates from the usual "the aliens find us first" approach. I enjoyed it very much and loved how the interactions between two very different species, both physically and culturally, played out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the first of several science fiction books that left me

    This was the first of several science fiction books that left me awe-struck and the first book that I kept to re-read to appreciate its nuances as well as the chance to gage my reading evaluation skills.
    The premise of a second chance for a controlled first contact with a technological near equal  is fantastic and well developed.  This collaboration was made the stronger by the careful selection of characters and voices by each author. 

    We are playing in Pournelle's future post-"Co-Dominion" universe until we enter the Motie system.  Niven's voice/personality is given a "seat" on-board the battle-cruiser MacArthur - the prime setting  for much of the story in the role of Sailing Master Renner.
    From this point forward, Niven's writing becomes more apparent.  Character development is much better than typically found in SF stories - especially when one's SF diet began with Asimov's Foundation series.  Please note that this book was published during the mid-1970's and that some of the writing team's social attitudes may seem a bit dated after nearly forty years in print.  
    Please don't let this point of view get in the way of reading one of the strongest first contact novels that I have read..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Ashfur to motestar

    Can i join

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    It's well-thought out and they really show their work. Assuming

    It's well-thought out and they really show their work. Assuming you're a fan of their other collaborations, or hard SF in general, you'll definitely love this one. It's also got a fascinating world and culture that they've built, both on the human side and the Moties, so I'd imagine pretty much any science fiction fan will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Join Thunderclan!

    Join Thunderclan! I am Silverstar,your leader. We have all places open (deputy, medicine cat, ect.) ecept for leader. We are at 'thunder88' first reveiw. If you wish to join, title your review with the place you want and then tell me why you want it. Join Thunderclan now!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Woogster

    If you enjoy sci-fi this book is a must read. I usually read fantasy, horror or sci-fi and just came across this novel not knowing it's place among great space storys. The storyline deveops at moderate pace then changing into a juicy space tale, really holds your attention. I've since realized this book is one of the great sci-fi novels, not to be missed by fans of this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    GO TOTHE SCARLET LETTER!!!!

    NOW

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    SF at its best

    This is hard SF regarding man's first contact with aliens. Extremely well written, strong logical plot, fleshed out characters, lots of twists and turns, and edge of the seat reading at times. A military cruiser makes first contact, what do you do? Go back to Earth and risk an unknown race finding its location? Excellent, excellent read that any true SF fan should have in his or her collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Join Oceanclan!!

    We need you! All positions are open except for leader and deputy! Join us at beach resort all results! See you there!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Any one here

    ?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Lillyday to se*star

    A se.xy she cat come up. Im single and need a se.xy mate.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Berryheart

    "Anyone here?" She calls.~Berryheart

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Tawnysky

    Not without motestar...

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    May i join?

    Im clawcloud. Im white with sharp claws blue eyes. I also have a black spot that looks like a claw. Im a she whod like a mate.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Goldenwillow

    Which we didnt do.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Thornfur

    Stretches out. Anyone need a mate?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Motestars kit

    Wut is my mame* it asks weakly

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    To Motestar

    Wanna make it be we border each other. The Poolan border is "pool water" then your border can be the next five restults okay. We can find two other clans and make there be four okay im Poolstar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Dark forest cats

    *The dark forest cats tear away the camp walls and attack moteclan*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4