Customer Reviews for

The Mote in God's Eye (Mote Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great first contact novel

I was looking for a book that involved first contact with an alien species. This one was recommend several times as a book that deviates from the usual "the aliens find us first" approach. I enjoyed it very much and loved how the interactions between two very different ...
I was looking for a book that involved first contact with an alien species. This one was recommend several times as a book that deviates from the usual "the aliens find us first" approach. I enjoyed it very much and loved how the interactions between two very different species, both physically and culturally, played out.

posted by 8678654 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Formatting make it almost unreadable.

The line spacing and font size is inconsistent and annoying. One page will be double spaced the next single. Publisher defaults are single spaced and too small for my eyes - one of the main reasons I bought a Nook was to be able to enlarge text.

Makes what might be a...
The line spacing and font size is inconsistent and annoying. One page will be double spaced the next single. Publisher defaults are single spaced and too small for my eyes - one of the main reasons I bought a Nook was to be able to enlarge text.

Makes what might be a great book a complete frustration. Can't even get into enjoying the story....

posted by Patrickigh on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Warflash

    A large muscular she cat strides in her body moving in rythem. Her light tan pelt is riddled with bright russet fur that shines and flashes in th sun. Her dark murky green eyes hold secrets and mysteries. On the left side of her face her cheek is marred with scratches. She rumbles. "Hello. I am Warflash. I would like to join. I would be loyal and caring. I imagine I would be an assest o the clan like any other cat."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Nightflaw

    You on leader?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Motefur/motestar

    Hi. What's up? And where is everybody?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Truly a great example of the SF genre.

    This is a great book. It is thought provoking and grossing. I found it hard to put down. It has all the elements that first drew me to SF in the first place. While telling a story of first contact with a non-human race it throws light on the question of how does one define human. How do we assess the nature and intent of a non-human race without being led astray by our own preconceptions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Awesome.

    One of the best sci-fi books I've read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really alien aliens!

    This is one of the first books I read that dealt in detail with aliens that were very different from us. I even felt a little sympathetic towards some of them at one point. The writer uses the different characters to observe and react to the aliens. This gives you the opportunity to see how chaotic our world would react to finding real aliens. I understood the military reaction and felt fearful of having to deal with some of the other reactions (religious, scientific, laborers, diplomats). There is enough romance in this book to interest women that aren't that into scifi. I really love this author, he is always thinking what if and how will this affect humankind. If you like fantasy, you will enjoy this also (there is a prince and royal family on one of the planets involved). The illustration on this book cover is better than the one on the first paperback edition, more descriptive. Whether you have or haven't read any of his other books, you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Robert Hienlien said it was the finest first contact novel ever, and he was right.

    My personal favorite. I can still remember the first time I read it over thirty years ago, and it's never been topped yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    one of my top 10 SiFi novels of all time

    amazing at every turn....nothing predictable about this unique story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    The best alien contact novel I've read.

    There is a lot of depth to this novel. From the politics & history of the Empire of Man to the relationships of dozen of well drawn characters the authors have obviously spent a lot of time creating their story universe. The best part of the book is clearly the aliens. It is not very often that you can find aliens that think as well as a human, but in a belivably different way. I don't want to spoil things by telling too much. If you love science fiction then this is a book you don't want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    Humanity's Military Future

    This novel presented the idea of First Contact in a most disappointing way. The aliens care more about Earth Technology than Human beings, but the Militaristic Empire of Man was described in a fascinating and detailed way. This novel did remind me of 'Star Trek', but it was infinitely better because Jerry Pornelle did serve in the U.S. Marine Corps and knew how to present an accurate and believable picture of military life and work. Even with the First Contact let down it's still a terrific piece of writing and deserves a good reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4