Customer Reviews for

Mother Angelica: The Remarkable Story of a Nun, Her Nerve, and a Network of Miracles

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The whole story of Mother Angelica

A nice read for those who are a fan of Mother Angelica and a wonderful story of faith. It shows much of her life before TV and the faith that helped form EWTN.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A biased slant could be seen

Yes, this book detailed some wonderful things. It also slammed people (Bishop David Foley among others) that didn't have to be portrayed as they were. I think the author was a little too close to his subject to be objective. The level of feelings on the part of the auth...
Yes, this book detailed some wonderful things. It also slammed people (Bishop David Foley among others) that didn't have to be portrayed as they were. I think the author was a little too close to his subject to be objective. The level of feelings on the part of the author bears this out.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Awesome

    An awesome book. Helped me see the difficulties that nuns experience today. But it also show that a contemplative nun is not obsolete in the world. Being traditional and conservative, you see that there are people like you. But they are also not boring, they are full of God. Mr. Arroyo displays the humanity of the people involved and make them real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Great Book about a Great Woman!

    I am a devout orthodox Catholic and I thought the book was wonderful-I hated for it to end! It really shows how God can use us human beings (flaws and all) to accomplish his mission on earth. The stories of her life and the beginnings of the network are priceless. I've always loved her, but I love and admire her more after reading this book. I'm the first in line to defend the authority of the Church, but it is really quite sad that the USCCB wanted to take Mother down. God Bless Mother Angelica and all she has done for the Church. She did what hundreds of Bishops couldn't do-educate the Faithful in the truths of the Catholic Church. And those Bishops should be singing her praises! The Faithful are strong, committed and loyal. Thanks Mother and thanks Mr. Arroyo for this awesome and enlightening book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    The Title Says it All!

    From her cover portrait, she looks like she could very well have been your sympathetic parochial school teacher, though impossible for this cloistered nun, who through faithfully following her heart and her Lord, instead reaches the entire WORLD as her classroom. As a Catholic who doesn't watch much TV, I knew of Mother Angelica, having appreciated listening to the local Catholic radio station in my car. I knew that she had something to do with its existence, but wasn't sure exactly what. Her story reads like a novel, bred with 'Ripley's believe it or not.' We see her backbone forged in the crucible of a potentially tragic childhood and through her tortured teens. When she undergoes a remarkable conversion, off to the convent she goes, to thank God, and to love Jesus with the rest of her life. The problem is, that backbone she has keeps her fighting for her Lord, regardless of her suffering, or of what others think of her, and she makes both friends and enemies along the way. The story of how, with far-flung faith in God she manages to create a media empire, is wrought with twists, turns, peaks, valleys and last-minute miracles, and laced with endearing Italian humor. Raymond Arroyo's craftsmanship, sense of theatrical timing, giftedness with the English language and respect for the subject-matter make this one uplifting read. I appreciate the real-life illustration of what faith looks like in this woman's life. Read it and share it with somone you care about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Interesting

    The first time I saw her and heard her speak on television I couldn't change the channel. Now, a book on her life? I have to admit I always wanted to pick that brain of hers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    The whole story of Mother Angelica

    A nice read for those who are a fan of Mother Angelica and a wonderful story of faith. It shows much of her life before TV and the faith that helped form EWTN.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    A biased slant could be seen

    Yes, this book detailed some wonderful things. It also slammed people (Bishop David Foley among others) that didn't have to be portrayed as they were. I think the author was a little too close to his subject to be objective. The level of feelings on the part of the author bears this out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    A Must read

    Great book, most interesting for its history on the Catholic Church in the US.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Arroyo has a gift for writing!

    Yeah, that's right. Raymond Arroyo has a tremendous gift for writing (metaphor and imagery abound!)- but let's face it- the subject of this incredible work gives an author MUCH to work with. Yes, Mother Angelica is a modern, living saint who has repeatedly accomplished what was deemed impossible- but she also had very humble beginnings and her own pecadillos (see the knife throwing incident for more details). Through Arroyo's gift we see a more detailed tapestry of this Bride of Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    A Dedicated, Creative, Inspiring Life

    This book reads quickly and won't disappoint those readers anticipating spurts of hilarity one comes to expect from Mother Angelica. It begins with her struggling childhood in the tough district of Canton, Ohio but really picks-up when she takes her first vow as a novitiate at twenty-one. It presents the hilarious circumstance the day of her solemn profession her inspiration to start a new convent in Alabama by selling fishing lures dubbed 'St. Peter's Fishing Lures,' including lures named 'St. Raphael's Dry Fly,' 'St. Michael's Wet Fly,' and 'Double Trouble,'--where 'every lure goes a prayer that He will bless your fishing.' It follows the foundation of her as a popular lecturer even among the Protestant crowds, largely due to her personality, which leads to her publishing small books to meet the growing demand and eventually to the founding of EWTN, the now largest religious media conglomerate in the world. It details her absolute fidelity to what she feels is Christ's workings, her financial legal trials as EWTN grows and her many physical ailments and miraculous cures. It chronicles her later triumphs, with petty liberal bishops, lawyers, multi-million dollar businessmen and companies knocked flat on the floor after going toe to toe with the incomparable Mother. She is a tough but loving cookie and this is a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I couldn't put the book down; Raymond Arroyo has a gift for writ

    I couldn't put the book down; Raymond Arroyo has a gift for writing.

    The book is not a hagiography. It is a clear picture of Mother Angelica's life.
    It includes a  description the challenging family background into which she was born and IMHO, that description  helps the reader understand Mother Angelica.
    Her life could have gone bad. The personality characteristics that she inherited and the circumstances of her birth could have easily resulted in a very sad life.
    Through this book, we are instead treated to a story of how her Christian faith harnessed and directed her  into working for the salvation of souls and promulgation of the Christian Catholic Faith.

    In some ways, it is amusing to read how this gritty contemplative nun was able to outsmart the USCCB and stymie  bishops who promoted or failed to combat heterodoxy.
    Similarly, it was interesting to read how Pope JPII provided encouragement to her work.

    God Bless her, EWTN, and the Franciscan Missionaries of the Eternal Word.





      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1