Customer Reviews for

Mother Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Outstanding

    Reading Vonnegut is wonderful and frustrating---somewhat like trying to eat one potato chip: You'll find yourself wanting more and more, so ONE Vonnegut book isn't going to cut it. Thank God he's written so many, and that so many are great. MOTHER NIGHT is the story of WWII and a spy's life. It is at once suspenseful and highly entertaining, much like the writing you'll find in the works of Palahniuk of Jackson McCrae. The wonderful thing about Vonnegut though, is that you're left to make your own judgements about the characters in his stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Vonnegut's Absolute Best!

    I searched around for a good Vonnegut novel and this one I picked up very luckily. This novel was Vonnegut's absolute best out of the ones I have read (Galapagos, Hocus Pocus, and Jailbird also). What was so great about this book is that it was so surprising. Almost every moment was unexpected. This is an absolute must read. I am a slow reader and I read this in less than a day. If I could I would give Mother Night 10 Stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    Well Done

    I have read several Vonnegut novels and have yet to read a bad one. Mother Night is quite solid plot-wise and has some good satire. It's not quite as out-landish as some of Vonnegut's other works but as straight fiction it does quite well. Just don't expect a lot of sci-fi accoutrements.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Definitly a keeper!

    One of the most powerful books that I have ever read and the film does the book justice. This book challenges morals and makes you answer questions in which you must go deeper than you ever have before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    a solid read

    This story was a solid read. The flow of action and events keeps the pace up for the length of the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Amazing!

    I first read Slaughterhouse-Five in a college English class and fell in love. I needed more. Mother Night is the second Vonnegut book I've read and it did not disappoint. What I thought of Campbell in SH5 is not how I saw him to be in this novel. Vonnegut reuses characters and they do not always maintain the same personality accross the board. I came to realize that by doing this, Vonnegut uses another stylistic approach to represent schizophrenia ( at least how I see it). This book was an amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Bittersweet

    Classical Vonnegut and a must-read for his fans. Perfect blend of humor, tragedy and insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Entertaining Story That Questions One's Morals

    In Mother Night, Kurt Vonnegut takes a break from time travel and other worlds. Instead, he tells the story of Howard W. Campbell Jr. who worked as a US spy and as a Nazi propagandist during World War II. In his later years Campbell has lived a rather dull life, but his world is turned upside down when he is put on trial for war crimes. Vonnegut shows both sides of Campbell's earlier life and leaves it for the reader to decide if he is guilty or not.

    This is a book filled with thought provoking questions, but it also has a wonderful and easy to follow plot. Even if the reader is not digging deep into the themes, they will be entertained with Vonnegut's ability to tell a story.

    This is one of the best books I have read, and it shows a different side to Vonnegut. His fans will still love it, but it is a great read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Essential Vonnegut. Don't miss it.

    How did I manage to go so long without reading this novel? Why hasn't it received the same popular and critical praise as Slaughterhouse-Five or Cat's Cradle? There's no science fiction here. Just loads of humanity, war and regret. The story moves quickly and has lots of surprises and twists that never feel cheap, making it the perfect match for Vonnegut's direct and unadorned style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    A masterpiece to enjoy

    Thrilling twists and turns, a great realistic fiction novel. One of the unexpected great books, a mind-blowing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Only two words.....

    THE MASTER!!!!
    Everything this man has written is absolutely fantastic. My favorite author, hands down. Rest in peace Mr. Vonnegut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Outstanding book about ethics...

    Though written as a novel about an American's involvement in the Nazi Germany war machine, it is an incredibly good book about the individual's responsibility for his actions. The ending capped a flawless novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    True Vonnegut Classic

    The novel Mother Night is an outstanding look at the spy life of World War II. I had to read this book for a college composition class, and could not put it down. A rather suspenseful and entertaining novel for those who enjoy mystery and war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    Great, Addicting Story

    Kurt Vonnegut's 'Mother Night' was the first book I read in his large series. I can now honestly say, i'm hooked on his writing. The story was outstanding, I almost literaly could not put the book down. When I planned to read for an hour, turned into 2 or 3 hours. You can actually picture yourself in the story, right next to Howard. You'll be with him for every surprise, and every depression, you will feel what he feels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    'He could dance on the ground while he strangled' (MN 87).

    ...a single example among hundreds of dark and almost sick humor lines found in Kurt Vonnegut's 'Mother Night.' This magician of subliminal messaging continues to capture the human instinct to ponder new ideas, thoughts, and theories. In 'Mother Night,' the reader follows the life of an American playwright named Howard Campbell. Instead of implying any sort of bias judgment on him, Vonnegut demands the reader to draw his own conclusions and opinions. A truely stimulating novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    why i love kurt

    this book clinched it for me, the author is brilliant....i was haunted by the first twenty pages...then laughed while being haunted the rest of the book until the end when i had to stop everything to digest it all...vonnegut does what all great authors should do, makes you think, laugh, and hurt, and he does it seemingly without effort...easily my favorite book of his

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4