Customer Reviews for

Mother Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Jane

    My favorite of dorothy garlock.
    Could not put it down. I have read all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    I will be reading more from this author.

    I hadn't read one of Dorothy Garlock's books before, found this one at the thrift store. I loved it from the first page. Such interesting characters and I enjoyed the details of the depression era. It was like watching a good, old movie. I have already picked up ''Hope's Highway'' at the library and here is another book that I'm already hooked on before I'm on page 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    It felt like home...

    I love books about the depression era, especially when they take place in Oklahoma. Why? Because my mom was born 1934 in OK and I still have family there. They live south of OKC, and did not experience the dust storms, but they did migrate to California in the mid-40s. (and that's why I'll be reading Hope's Highway next... they'll wind up in a town about a 2 hrs drive from where I live.) <BR/><BR/>This was an easy read and I really enjoyed it. Where the author wrote about Yates buying the lemons and the store-keep said "they were shipped from California", I smiled. The town I was born in and where I still live, Santa Paula, was known as the "Lemon Capital of the World" for many, many years. That one line in the book was a little bonus for me. <BR/><BR/>In April 2009, my husband and I will be participants in a road trip celebrating the 45th anniversary of the Ford Mustang, from Las Vegas to Birmingham, AL, and I'm excited to know that we'll be traveling through Sayre, where this story takes place, and Elk City, OK, ... I know I'll 'feel the characters' as we drive through... <BR/><BR/>This was my introduction to Dorothy Garlock. I'll be reading more of her books, which pleases my husband, because I'm not, by nature, an avid reader like he is. Oh, I start a book from to time, but never finish them. This one I did -- and another bonus of this book: when Garlock mentions the town of Ringling in the post-log; that's where my grandmother was born... Yep, this book was "home"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    LOVED IT

    One of the best books I have ever read! I couldn't put it down. I loved the characters. Dorothy Garlock makes her characters come alive and this book is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    Good picture of my new home

    I just recently moved to Oklahoma and have found myself curious about the history. Mother Road gave me a lot of information about Oklahoma's past. I also liked the characters. The good guys would be good friends and the bad guys were really evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Another Great One from Garlock

    I simply love Dorothy Garlock's novels based on time periods after 1920s, they show great maturity as a writer over her earlier books based mosting in late 1880's. In Mother Road, once again, she shows life in an era gone by, touching on the Great Depression without being too depressing. I enjoy how she carries over characters from one book to another, tying them together without necessarily creating a series. These characters may just be 'passing through', but they add continuity to the novels and create an epilouge to see what has happened to them. Again, another great read from Dorothy Garlock. I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent characterizations and sense of place

    In 1932 at Andy's garage near Sayre, Oklahoma on Route 66, a rabid skunk bites station owner Andy Connors. Yates, a person visiting the area, kills the animal, burns it, and buries the ashes. Next he takes Andy to the nearest hospital in Oklahoma City where the injured person will reside for six weeks receiving shots. Andy pleads with Yates to watch over his beloved Leona and his two preadolescent children. Yates explains to Andy that he owes him for saving his life when he was a youngster and will gladly do so.<P> Leona and the children worry about Andy and are uncomfortable with Yates staying with them. He feels he can handle anything except his attraction to Leona, who he believes, is Andy's wife. When he finds out she is not, but looked upon as a woman living in scandal, he defends her to the townsfolk who ostracized her. As Andy heals, Yates and Leona fall in love and he knows she is too good a person to be anyone's kept woman.<P> This tale is an exciting historical novel that fans of the Depression era stories like The Grapes of Wrath will want to read. The characters including passersby bring to life living or traveling in the 1930s on the MOTHER ROAD as Route 66 was called. The romance adds depth to the period enabling the audience to gain insight into the morality of the townsfolk. Though a murder mystery adds suspense and is used as an impetus to the romance, the story line is at its strongest when Dorothy Garlock opens a panoramic view of a bygone America.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1