Customer Reviews for

The Mother Tongue: English and How It Got That Way (Fall River Press Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Humor in Linguistics

    Bryson describes the evolution of the English language and influences of other Indo-European based languages in a hilarious context of changing society and historical grammar. It's a fabulous book for anyone who knows anything about linguistics, and his cunning humor will resonate even with casual readers. The reader will also learn a lot about our crazy language. One of the best reads i've had in a while. His other books are great, too. If you like David Sedaris, you'll love Bill Bryson.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    good for general readers

    i had to read this book for college and i would recomend it as general reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    a must-read for any lover of language. a must-read for any lov

    a must-read for any lover of language.
    a must-read for any lover of english.
    a must-read for any lover of...(linguistics, anthropology, sociology, history, etc etc ad infinitum ad nauseum)

    simply...a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It¿s not my fault and other wonderful things I learned from this

    It’s not my fault and other wonderful things I learned from this book!

    This fascinating subject raises some very interesting concepts (like the fact my grammar and punctuation problems are not my fault, but the fault of inconsistencies in English, and I have to tell you I’m glad to hear it. Take that with a raspberry I blow in your general direction every teacher I ever had trying to make me conform to their ideas of correct grammar and punctuation.). The writing was well done and densely packed with information. I’m usually a fairly fast reader, but with the amount of information this book conveys I found myself moving at a much slower pace and I believe it may take a few readings to really grasp all of the ideas. Also be aware of the fatigue factor as your brain tries to absorb the information; this is not a book you can just breeze through. The Mother Tongue has been touted by many as witty-particularly those trying to sell it. While I did find it very intriguing and marginally amusing, Bryson’s anecdotes never crossed over to outright funny for me.

    It should be noted some controversy surrounds Bryson’s conclusions and examples. Several other reviewers claim The Mother Tongue is full of inaccuracies; I cannot either validate this opinion or dismiss it. I just don’t know enough about the subject to weigh in. I would, however, be very interested in seeing an updated version of this book to see what changes of opinion Bryson would make with more current information or the inaccuracies he saw fit to fix, if any. My advice would be to not take everything he says as the gospel truth (skepticism if used properly can be a friend). And as with any vaguely scholarly subject, if you are really interested, do your own research. Ask questions like, does his information match up with what you already know? Look at the validity of his source material, read more recent articles and books on the subject, and figure out whether you would come to the same conclusions as Bryson (remember critical thinking from your college days, yeah it can apply to real life) .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting book but as other reviewers have noted, there are ma

    Interesting book but as other reviewers have noted, there are many points in which I question the research. That said, I did enjoy learning about the history of the English language and the many twists and turns language has taken over the centuries. The decline and disappearance of so many languages, including Manx, the language of my ancestors, is documented, reminding us of the fragility of the spoken and written word. Amusing and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Bill Bryson surprises again

    This book is really for the more serious minded affectionado of the English language. I am glad it was not my first exposure to his work.

    Having said that, I find "Mother Tongue" to be up to his high standards. It is well organized, comprehensive and comprehensible. I am not a professional in the field at all--yet, find myself drawn into his presentation.

    Mr. Bryson is amazing and most readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why English? (and How)

    is a dusting off of a Bill Bryson seems determined to contend with Isaac Asimov in the variety of his published interests. His works are generally well researched, and written to both entertain and inform. The volume in hand is, however, basically a paperback dusting off and reissue of a hardcover work originally published in 1990, and shows its datedness in minor ways throughout. As he stresses repeatedly, English is a moving target for the scholar or casual user alike, and the passage of nearly two decades has brought changes that may mislead the unwary. Also, the author's efforts to mine popular entertainment from the subject at the expense of rigor of presentation frequently leaves the reader with the impression that he has waded through a long series of one-liners with no clear development or point.

    Nevertheless there is a great deal of solid information buried in the ongoing sideshow exhibition of the freaks of our language, and the anomalies are both fun and provoking of rueful grins. All in all it is a fun read, especially if taken in chapter sized chunks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    mother Tongue reading

    Concise, very detailed, seems to do his research well. Always written with a little humor, which is good. Good reading for students, as it may give them a sense of history for their language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    much humor, even more wit

    To be brief, I found the book to be humorous, witty, full of information backed up with many interesting facts and a plethora of examples for each point. Bryson is accurate, and by reading The Mother Tongue, I learned a lot and enjoyed doing so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    Humorous Viewing of the Elements

    This book is an extremely well-written, humorous look at the different elements of the English language, and how they have evolved over history. Bryson makes his ideas clear and easily interpreted by the average reader. His humor and mocking rhetorical questions keep the mood light and care-free. The information presented in the text is filled with examples from history and the present use of the language. The one nagging problem is the overabundance of examples taking up paragraph after paragraph dunring the book. This grief is trivial, however, when compared to the amount of knowledge Bryson presents enjoyably to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Language is social history

    This book is a very entertaining history of the development of the English language. I studied English at university, and we also covered the development of English, Beowulf and all. Had I known this book then, I might have enjoyed it more! The development of language always also reflects the development of and changes in society, and I find this extremely interesting. In short, everyone who sees English (or any other language, actually) as a living, changing part of our lives simply has to read this book, to gain insights into the world of speech that are both entertaining and worth having read at least once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2