BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mother Warriors: A Nation of Parents Healing Autism Against All Odds

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

MOTHER WARRIORS is the perfect title

This book was well written, touching, heartwarming and sorrowful. I am a retired Teacher-Assistant who at one time worked with a pre-school class of 3-4yr.olds who were autistic. They started the year boucing off the walls, in diapers, stemming, crying, screaming,many c...
This book was well written, touching, heartwarming and sorrowful. I am a retired Teacher-Assistant who at one time worked with a pre-school class of 3-4yr.olds who were autistic. They started the year boucing off the walls, in diapers, stemming, crying, screaming,many couldn't feed themselves. By June without exception they could sit, listen, walk in a line,follow instructions, were out of diapers and were happy little people.I am not saying there were not little fall-outs along the way but it was remarkable at their progress because 2 teachers really cared and the parents worked with them. So much of this book had me in tears because I know how frustrating Jenny must have been through those years she wrote about in her book but I could also celebrate with her the many major steps her son has made. Thanks for writing this book, it will help so many parents as they struggle.

posted by musicVA on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Child torture and murder

This book is about one woman's quest to torture her child, and to get others to do the same. Many of the "treatments" she describes have been proven to either do nothing or cause harm, in addition to causing great pain and discomfort to those receiving them. A hyperba...
This book is about one woman's quest to torture her child, and to get others to do the same. Many of the "treatments" she describes have been proven to either do nothing or cause harm, in addition to causing great pain and discomfort to those receiving them. A hyperbaric chamber is a scary, painful experience for fully-functioning adults, and she suggests throwing autistic children in them on a regular basis. This is after all the studies showing that it in now way helps with anything. It is almost as if she goes around looking for the craziest Newage crap to shove into her unfortunate child's body. Please, if anyone loves and cares for children, do not do this to them, and discourage anyone you know from listening to this crackpot. At most, following her advice will cause pain and discomfort to your child, and may even cause death. People do learn things going to medical school, and I for one would rather have a doctor help my child than a playboy playmate with no medical experience.

posted by LawmanJH on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    A MUST-READ for parents of children with developmental disabilities like autism

    This convincing, passionate book sends the message that autism can be healed (as well as prevented) with biomedical interventions AND that parents can drive the process. Celebrity Jenny McCarthy begins her book by relaying her exciting and sometimes harrowing TV experiences broadcasting this message. Despite personal sacrifice, her deep convictions and heart-felt compassion for afflicted children and their parents plunge her into the role of an outspoken warrior for effective biomedical treatments in autism. She also tells of her rigorous, yet unsuccessful, efforts to enlighten the American Academy of Pediatrics through an information exchange with Defeat Autism Now!, a worldwide organization of medical doctors and research scientists known for healing autism through biomedical interventions. However, the bulk of this book is about the personal stories of several heroic parents who strove to reclaim their children from the clutches of autism. They make tremendous role models for the rest of us to emulate. The book is also available on CD-ROM if you'd prefer to listen than read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Jenny Does it Again

    Jenny is such a wonderful person for putting together another great book encouraging autism awareness. This is an important book whether you have a child with autism or not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    A Fellow Mother Warrior

    A Fellow Mother Warrior, September 23, 2008 I am one of the thousands of Mother Warriors who Ms. McCarthy spoke with during her tour. In fact, it was one year ago that my son was diagnosed with autism. At that time, I had no knowledge of autism or the possibility of treament. Fortunately for my son, Jenny went on Oprah shortly after he was diagnosed and gave us hope and the information we needed to start the healing process for my son. Our story of autism began when my son went for his 12 month well check. It was December in the NW and he had a bad flu and a high fever. I called to cancel his appointment but the nurse assured me that it was more important to keep his vaccines on schedule and it would be perfectly safe. They told me to give him tylenol and bring him in. He recieved his vaccines including the live virus MMR vaccine along with a flu vaccine containing mercury. That was the beginning of my son's demise into autism. I do not believe one single influence caused my son's autism, however I do believe my son was genetically predisposed 'we had some strange markers in his ultrasounds.' I believe his immune system was compromised at the time he recieved the MMR. 'His blood work shows he carries abnormally high level of Measles titers.'I know what Jenny talks about is controversial and not all cases of autism are the same, however many of us, a large majority share very similar stories. I wish I could vaccinate my children but it is just not safe for me to do so. I wish they would develop tests to see if a child is more likely to react to a vaccine. I wish there was more funding going towards research and programs for autism. I am so grateful for this book because it is bringing much needed attention to the FACTS about autism and how no one is listening to the thousands of parents who KNOW that vaccines triggered our children's autism and that there are biomedical protocols that are helping our children get better. After only one year of a GFCF and SCD diet along with DAN! protocol, antiviral protocol and homeopathy my son is on the verge of recovery. He has lost all previous symptoms of autism, is social, affectionate and although his speech is still slightly delayed, he is in the early stages of being conversational. One year ago he was non-verbal. He is mainstreamed in a general education preschool and has lost all previous sensory problems. I have gone to hell and back with no help from the government, medical community, insurance companies or anyone else. My son's recovery is possible because of the parents who have come before me leading the way and because of Jenny McCarthy bringing this epidemic to the media. I want to be clear, my child was born a healthy happy baby who met all his milestones. There was a definate clear change after his 12 month well check. We as parents are not trying to 'fix' our kids. Our kids are MEDICALLY ill. We have thousands of dollars of lab tests and blood work to prove it. Autism is a medical disorder and when we provide our children with medical care and give them proper nutrition, they get better! I hope this book reaches those affected by autism as well as the naysayers. There is a real epedemic happening with an entire generation of our children and we need to start opening our minds, start a discussion, band together and create change. A huge thanks to Jenny McCarthy. She is our autism Angel and because of her, we have our son back. We are forever grateful! For those people out there who do not believe Ms. McCarthy, I say, how do you have the right to give your opinions when you have not gone through what all of us parents have gone through?? I wish this book was out when I was first pregnant because it would have made me question vaccines enough to go out and do more research. Now that I have done the research 'although after the fact for my children' I am horrified to learn the ingredients in vaccines, the number of vaccines and the rush to get them in our

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    The REAL story of autism

    Autism IS treatable. Anyone who knows a child afflicted with this disease should read this book. It will offer hope and guidance.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Help Is On The Way!!

    If you have been struggling with deciding which path to take to get your child with autism on the road to recovery then this book is the answer to your prayers! Ms. McCarthy has presented several stories of recovery to inspire you and the advice can be followed thanks to the wonderful resources cited to help parents. A wonderful read and so very helpful!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    There is HOPE!!

    Jenny, once again thanks for spreading the word. There is hope for our children. Our children's autism was caused by toxins and insults created by man. It's not their personality. It's not who they are. Who they really are is beautiful souls trapped beneath a toxic layer of silence and pain. Anyone who does not want to free a child of diarrhea, contipation, pain, and the agony of not having a voice does not need to read this book. If you want to read about love, strength, courage, and HOPE then this book is for you. Jenny gave all the mothers out there working their butts off to recover their children a voice and the world needs to hear it. ND...bite me. Angela

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    A Mom CAN Change the World!

    Want to know what is more powerful than Big Pharma? Or who can stand up the the Status Quo to defend a child? It's a group of warriors motivated by love: mothers of children with autism. If you want a story of a love that defies all odds...if you want to read about miracles that are happening right before our eyes....if you love stories where the underdog wins, then read this book! Jenny's battle cry leads an army of Moms who will not rest until a generation of children are safe, and until our government does everything in its power to protect them from the pitfalls of corporate greed. Kelly Langston: Author of 'Autism's Hidden Blessings' to be released March 2009.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Big Picture

    We waited long and lonely years for Jenny. Our twin sons were sick soon after the Hep B before leaving the hospital. They had all scheduled vaccines and we've grieved ever since. They are fraternal, one presented in stimming, OCD, ODD, anxiety, gut issues, hallucinations, tantrums, the other in severe asthma, eczema, allergies. Docs in north Texas didn't have a clue in those early years. Our pediatrician wanted to prescribe Luvox for the OCD, we said no thank you. For years we tackled new diets, occupational therapy 'thank goodness for The Out-of-Sinc Child', neurotherapy, and homeopathy. Improvements were evident, but puberty was too much for their burdened bodies. Recently, thanks to Dr. Suzanne Mack, we've had genetic, heavy metals, and pesticide testing. Mystery solved. Altered environment alters biology. Today they have chronic fatigue, anxiety, and severe brain fog, but we know getting the poisons out and supplying nutrients their bodies need will get them functioning at higher and higher levels. Who knew home school would mean biochemistry experiments on ourselves...we're methylation savvy now by golly.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Turning My Paige

    What a wonderful book of HOPE. Since reading her last book Louder than Words. I've gone on to follow the same path as these Mother Warriors and have seen significant improvements in my daughter Paige. Thank You Jenny and Mother Warriors for not being afraid to talk about whats going on in the medical world. Wake Up America because it won't be long before my daughter Paige recovers. Love you Jenny and all Mother Warriors. And to the few dads out there that have stuck around through the good times and bad Thank You. My husband is one of the Warriors. Get this book and read it anytime you feel like your going to give up hope.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    More messages of hope

    Once again, Jenny McCarthy delivers a great book about autism. These are stories of recovery and hope and passionate parents. These ten stories are just the tip of the ice berg. Our kids are getting better through traditional and biomedical treatments. The world of autism is changing. Many thanks go to Jenny. Holly, Mom of Quinn, age 5, recovering from autism

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Recovery IS possible! My son is living Proof! Thank you, Jenny!!

    Jenny McCarthy has literally saved my son's life. I want to thank her for being the voice for all of us who 'know' the truth. Jenny is NOT anti-immunization, she just wants vaccines to have safer ingredients and a customized schedule, rather than a 'one size fits all' that our children are given. 'Vaccine Injury' DID attribute to my son's autism 'PDD-NOS' and we've had an immunologist support this. My son was already immune to many diseases and yet he was given booster after booster shot and is STILL scheduled for more boosters which we have DENIED due to the immunology results we now have. Environmental toxins DO play a major role too! Jenny's books have saved my child. She introduced me to the DAN protocol and with a DAN doctor, gluten free/casein free/candida free diet and supplements, within WEEKS my son came out of a cloud and the vomiting, gagging and diarrhea just STOPPED. Now, 10 months later, my son has made dramatic recoveries. Parents, there is HOPE! Recovering from Autism IS possible! I am also a Mother Warrior and I feel so blessed to be given this opporinty to help my son! Thank you, Jenny!!!! Thank you for your book of 'truth' and for your support. We are all in this together.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    We recovered our son from autism.

    I am so glad Jenny has written this book. I cannot wait to read it. We have 3 children that had autism. They did not start out that way they lost their language skills around 12 to 18 months. Their health started to go down hill at that age too. It was the most heart breaking thing I have ever watched in my life. They just got sicker and sicker, until they had no speech and little eye contact with us. They were born in 2000, 2002 and 2004 it was a very hard 7 years. In July 2007 the kids were diagnosed with autism. All my dreams and hopes were crushed. It was like a death x 3. I felt sorry for myself for about 2 weeks weeks. Then one day I woke up and learned about diets that would help our kids. We started the diets as soon as we knew about them. The kids started changing right away. Their language started to come back. We were starting to get hugs from our kids. Fast forward 1 year and 2 months. Our 7 year old Cole is not autistic anymore. Jada 6 is in Kindergarten she is doing well, she loves to read, loves to do math and is now telling the time on the hour. Kaden 4 is doing excellent he talks now, looks me in the eyes all the time. I am so glad I did not listen to anyone that told me it is not possible to bring our kids back. Our kids presently live on Gluten free , casein free, Specific Carbohydrate diet, magnetic therapy, sugar and dye free, organic. Our two youngest are not completely recovered from autism they are well on their way. They change everyday. I hope Jenny McCarthy's book Mother Warriors will encourage Moms and Dads of autistic kids to try helps their kids get healthy so they can lead productive happy lives like my kids. ourkidsautismrecovery.com Shannon Tara

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    A MUST read if you have a child with Autism

    The forward by Jenny's pediatrician says it all. The AAP is playing it safe when it comes to telling parents what is in vaccines and advising a 'one size fits all' approach. Having recovered my child from the metal poisoning'medically documented'he got from his infant vaccines, I highly recommend this book. You will get hopeful and helpful information that might just save your kid's life. I wish Jenny was around when our son was first diagnosed. We got no answers from medical professionals only a gloomy diagnosis of incurable Autism. Our pediatrician called it a 'big genetic mystery'. Not so. Autism is very treatable. My once silent child who plunged into Autism from doubled vaccines, is talking and in a typical classroom. I will never forget the day he looked up to me and said. 'Mom! I can talk to you now!' Read this book and never never lose hope - Autism is treatable and reversible!'

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Thanks again Jenny

    Jenny thank you so much for fighting the fight and educating and informing families. When my son was diagnosed he was 6 yrs old they immediately put him on psychotropics. He began a downward spiral from there. When I read your first book it opened my eyes so wide. I had heard the vaccine autism story before but being a nurse I didn't believe then putting things together. And after the my 3rd child was diagnosed I finally saw the connection. My first and third children were autistic, my middle wasn't what was the difference the 1st and 3rd were on schedule with vaccinations including flu shots because the had weaker immune systems and my middle daughter never got her shots on time most of them were not given together and she was almost 3 before she got any shots. I like you am am not anti-vax. I believe in a vaccine regimen not tailored to one sixe fits all and improved testing to make sure children can handle vaccines before they are given. I was actually leary about giving my children vaccines so young but allowed my Dr.'s to talk me into giving then. I was totally against the varicella vaccine and held off for almost ayear on that one but then caved in to my Dr.'s Demands well never again. Thanks to you we have searched and tried GFCF biomed supplements and are now doing homeopatheic medicine with our children and we are on the road to recovery. Thank you so much we love you a great deal and are joining the fight to educate all parents out there to what they need to do to get there children healthy again and also to educate new parents about what they can do to ensure their children won't get sick.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Can you hear us now?

    In Mother Warriors, Jenny McCarthy gives a voice to mothers across the globe who have been screaming for years that their perfectly healthy children regressed into autism after receiving vaccines. As an advocate in the autism community and parent of an affected child, I have heard the same story over and over and OVER again. When will we be heard? When will the mass poisoning of our children stop? As mothers - and fathers - we are fighting an intense battle to unveil the truth of what happened to our kids - not just for our own children, but for ALL children. I have a page from a Lord of the Rings calendar taped above my desk, it's dated February 1, 2005. It shows the female character Eowyn, which I've labeled as Mom, her sword drawn against the Witch King, which I've labeled as Autism. In Tolkien's 'The Return of the King', The Witch King boasted that 'no living man may hinder me,' referring to the prophecy foretelling that the Witch King would not 'fall by the hand of man'. Eowyn then removed her helmet and declared: 'No living man am I! You look upon a woman', and she destroyed him. We ARE Mother Warriors and we WILL win this battle.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    My brother is one of the stories in this book.

    My five year old brother Zack is one of the ten stories in this book. My mother fought against all odds to cure him and I'm so happy this issue is finally being addressed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4