BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mother of Pearl

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Extraordinary!

I started reading this book expecting to put it down after a few chapters and never touch it again. The description on the back of the book didn't really appeal to me. Twenty pages into it and I was hooked. This author is highly talented. She gave so much depth to the c...
I started reading this book expecting to put it down after a few chapters and never touch it again. The description on the back of the book didn't really appeal to me. Twenty pages into it and I was hooked. This author is highly talented. She gave so much depth to the characters and she intricately wove the story of their lives together. This book has spirit and excitement unlike any other book I've ever read.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

50/50

This book was recommended to me by my sister so I read it. I like the ending, but the rest is very wierd. There were several times when I put it down because I was frustrated at the wierdness. I just don't think some of the things that the characters do are realistic...
This book was recommended to me by my sister so I read it. I like the ending, but the rest is very wierd. There were several times when I put it down because I was frustrated at the wierdness. I just don't think some of the things that the characters do are realistic. I did finish it and like I said the end is very touching.

posted by kellisat on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    50/50

    This book was recommended to me by my sister so I read it. I like the ending, but the rest is very wierd. There were several times when I put it down because I was frustrated at the wierdness. I just don't think some of the things that the characters do are realistic. I did finish it and like I said the end is very touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Hooked me!!

    Like most, I started reading the book and couldn't get past the description of a man walking a bridge. it was so boring. Two mins. into the book I put it down and didn't even consider reading it until i had nothing else to read. I enjoyed this book. The characters were amazing and well constructed and the whole southern soul of it had me hooked like no other book with this kinda context. I enjoyed it. !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    Extraordinary!

    I started reading this book expecting to put it down after a few chapters and never touch it again. The description on the back of the book didn't really appeal to me. Twenty pages into it and I was hooked. This author is highly talented. She gave so much depth to the characters and she intricately wove the story of their lives together. This book has spirit and excitement unlike any other book I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Great characters

    This one was fun. Left me with questions but that is ok. I loved the characters and their names too. Sad, funny, and uplifting also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    A Truly Beautiful Piece of Southern Literature

    Born and raised in Alabama, I found that Melinda Haynes' vivid description of southern life to be strikingly true to reality. The southern connection made it all the more special to me. I loved the book, however, (and I know some may disagree with me) I wish it was longer! I would love to know more of Valuable's family history, more about what shaped Neva into the woman she is during these events, and especially what happened to Jackson! I'd also have loved to see Pearl grown up too. Melinda Haynes' writing is so compelling, that I felt as though these characters were not only life-like, but also as if they were my blood relatives. I wept and rejoiced for them. And as with my own kin, I would love to see how things turned out for everyone else. Very tragic and touching, this book is not only a stellar pick from Oprah's list but also is sure to be studied in colleges, especially here in the southeast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    MOTHER OF PEARL IS A TRUE GEM!!!

    A JOY TO READ FROM BEGINNING TO END. THE CHARACTERS COME TO LIFE,,,,,,TRUE GENIUS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Engrossing!

    I took this book on my honeymoon, which probably wasn't the best idea because I couldn't put it down! This is definitely not the kind of book you should buy if you want mindless, easy reading (see 'Bridget Jones' Diary'). This one is very involved and turns and keeps you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    At Least Some Good Came

    A book that seems quite boring at first but, by chapter 6 it becomes hard to put down. a story of two people who happen to meet under just the right circumstances. They seemed have so littel in common, but in reality they so much have in common. The story of Val and Even's lives make you feel for them. Both were abondened by their mothers, had to learn to trust, and had to learn that the human spirit is a wonderful thing. All the time that they are trying to stay inside their shells they are being forced out by those around them. The supporting characters are superb and only add depth to the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    a slow start that quickly picks up the pace

    This novel was very slow in the beginning. It took some time to get into it, but once I did I enjoyed it. I liked most of the characters, and the storylines. It was not the best book, but it was far from the worst.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2000

    Loved It!

    I have read many books from the Oprah book club and this is one of the most enjoyable!! The writing is descriptive and the text pulls you into the characters' world with interest and the desire to continue reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    Not that good

    I didn't really like this book. I read 200 pages so far...and I am like...Get to the point. I am expecting something great to happen...and nothing happens. I am still stuck on page 200. so far...a crippled white woman dies...a kid runs away. It is hard to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    I have read and loved nearly all of Oprah's books, but this one!

    I tried, I really did, to 'get into' this story, but between the language and the inability to follow all the characters, I could not finish it.I am an avid reader, reading a book a week or more, but this was one I just could not get through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    A very slow read!

    This is my second attempt to read this book. It took getting to the middle to understand what was going on and I am still not sure. It definitely was not one of my favorites. But it was okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    I Really Tried To Get Through This Book

    However, I couldn't read the whole thing. I didn't understand some of the language. It was very confusing (as far as characters go) and as much as I love reading, especially Oprah's picks, I did not get through this one. I even bought the hard-cover version, despite the cost, but did not like anything about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Dulsultory

    Melinda Haynes has done a terrible job clarifying her characters. Like reviewers I have made it to 200 pages and I usually read a bad book just so I can feel a sense of achievement. Her book sucks. The beginning was good until sjhe in cludes Juleb. He from nowhere and has sprung from some place Haymes doesn't explain. Usually Oprah picks are dead on, but what in the name of God what was she thinking. Where is the story line, there is no story line just a bunch of characters living a boring life. I'll like a fool will try again to finish but I do not see wht others saw in this novel. Clearly taste is lacking. What is the book about? It better make sense in the end because this is the worst
    Oprah book yet, let alone the worst book I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    A poetic walk

    Initially, I tried to read this book on a few occasions, but got too tangled up in the wordy descriptions and quit before I got to the 2nd chapter. Patience paid off. Desperate for a good read, I made another attempt to get through this book and was glad I did! That which turned me off in the beginning turned out to be the very riches in this book. It is worth the trip through. I passed it on to a good friend to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Awful

    I was so disappointed by this book that I will never read another Oprah's Book Club selection without a second opinion. It was so dull. The characters were interesting, but it was anticlimactic. I couldn't wait for something to happen, but then when it did, I thought, 'So?'. The names of the characters were even a turn off for me. It's like Ms. Haynes was driving down the street and got her names from street signs. She tried to be unique in her writing, but the descriptions were just weird at times. And sometimes, she would attribute a thought to a character that, after getting to know them, I didn't think would ever have such a thought. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Bittersweet

    This story is great and is climatic. The story is great with vivid details, and the only thing I didn't like was the ending. But, that is because we all want a happy ending. She gives a truthful and understanding ending to a complicated problem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Love Her Writing

    I haven't even finished Mother of Pearl yet and I am already looking for more books by Melinda Haynes. She is an artist with words!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    I had to put this one back.

    I liked the characters in this book, but it got to be SO boring that I couldn't finish the rest! I was truly fed up with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2