Customer Reviews for

Mother of the Bride

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Made me laugh!

This book was so funny & I couldnt stop laughing! Was very entertaining to read witty diolog between Cydney & Gus, felt a little sorry for all his injuries but he deserved them lol! Romantic me was satisfied with this great story, will definitely read more of her materi...
This book was so funny & I couldnt stop laughing! Was very entertaining to read witty diolog between Cydney & Gus, felt a little sorry for all his injuries but he deserved them lol! Romantic me was satisfied with this great story, will definitely read more of her material...

posted by cerulianangel on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Weak characters. Definitely a low rated read. Insipid stupid wo

Weak characters. Definitely a low rated read. Insipid stupid women who get upset about any and everything. The bride, BeBe, is not the only immature self-centered character but at least she is young. The whole family is worth avoiding. Not the least bit funny and rare...
Weak characters. Definitely a low rated read. Insipid stupid women who get upset about any and everything. The bride, BeBe, is not the only immature self-centered character but at least she is young. The whole family is worth avoiding. Not the least bit funny and rarely romantic. What is so funny about frequently injuring someone and not being able to act like a grown up. These women are emotionally fatiguing. Life with any one of them would be a exhausting.

posted by 10361049 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Weak characters. Definitely a low rated read. Insipid stupid wo

    Weak characters. Definitely a low rated read. Insipid stupid women who get upset about any and everything. The bride, BeBe, is not the only immature self-centered character but at least she is young. The whole family is worth avoiding. Not the least bit funny and rarely romantic. What is so funny about frequently injuring someone and not being able to act like a grown up. These women are emotionally fatiguing. Life with any one of them would be a exhausting.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Minimal character development--main characters like each other f

    Minimal character development--main characters like each other for no reason in the first five minutes of meeting; then we are subjected to their fights (which don't make sense) for 3/4 of the novel. Main character seems to have conflicts with mother, father, sister--then, poof! They are erased in a page or two. Too much punching each other in the nose. Clunky writing (one character likes bird watching--wow--so does the other!! They must be meant for each other!). Male character vows to "court" the female...ends up taking her to bed (again...and again...) That's courting? There are a lot of fun romances out there, but this one was painful and predictable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    It's a pity....

    It's a pity that I can't give this thing no stars. This book was beyond awful and makes me wonder if the editor (should there have been one) wasn't on crack when he or she were looking over this because the grammatical mistakes were just the start.

    The entire book was one sad cliche after another and when it comes to cliched books, its not an exaggeration for me to state that I've read better.

    My advice? Don't waste your time. Find a harlequin romance in the same genre and you'll be better off.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Made me laugh!

    This book was so funny & I couldnt stop laughing! Was very entertaining to read witty diolog between Cydney & Gus, felt a little sorry for all his injuries but he deserved them lol! Romantic me was satisfied with this great story, will definitely read more of her material...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I was disappointed in the development of the characters. Main ch

    I was disappointed in the development of the characters. Main character went from fighting and not liking the man, to kissing and making out in the next chapter. The book started out good, but fizzled by the second chapter. Seems like the author had it all there, but picked easy kind of dumb ways out of character development and story lines. Wasted my money.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    This book has been digitized using OCR software that has made ma

    This book has been digitized using OCR software that has made many mistakes in interpretation.  You can figure out what it is suppsed to say but is frustrating just the same.  The story is mindless fluff but sometimes that is exactly what you want.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    This.....

    Is not a chatroom, dummies.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Fun story

    Must read if you like comedy and romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    I picked this up in ebook on a whim for $1.99. it looked light &

    I picked this up in ebook on a whim for $1.99. it looked light & cute to read on a recent road trip. I wasn't disappointed. The writing was okay, but the story was good, kept me laughing and left me wanting more at the end, all signs of a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    Amusing contemporary

    In Kansas City, Cydney Parrish is stunned to learn that her beloved teenage niece Bebe who lives with her is marrying Aldo Munroe. Cydney did not even know nineteen-year old Bebe was even seriously dating one person let alone engaged. The wedding is to occur as soon as Bebe¿s Pulitzer Prize winning mother returns from Moscow next week. <P>When Aldo¿s Uncle Gus, a best selling reclusive mystery author learns that his beloved nephew whom he raised was getting married he concluded the fiancée was a gold-digger. He leaves his retreat in Crooked Possum, Missouri to challenge Bebe and learn her true motive. When he arrives in Kansas City at Cyd¿s home, he finds his inner mind thinking that Bebe¿s Aunt ¿Uncle¿ Cyd is beautiful. As he ends up with one injury after another, Gus and Cyd fall in love. <P> MOTHER OF THE BRIDE is an amusing contemporary romance starring two pleasant lead characters whose respective ¿inner minds¿ hold delightfully entertaining soliloquies. The story line is amusing though why Cyd puts up with what she does from her family makes her more than a chump and a wimp. Lynn Michaels plays her tale totally for laughs so that the audience obtains a jocular tale that keeps everyone smiling throughout. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    This book is between poor and average. The characters are predi

    This book is between poor and average. The characters are predictable and ridiculous. This author chooses to use profanity in the most unnecessary instances. The &quot;voice in my head&quot; concept is over used particularly when Gus begins to talk to his voice. The romantic sections are not. The phraseology is repeated and repeated and repeated. Get my point? The only redeeming qualities of this book are its humorous passages. I would not recommend this book to anyone. It was a waste of my time and money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    GREAT!

    Could not put it down. Laught out loud, at times. Good summer romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Made me laugh

    I loved everything about this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Kass

    Heyy wsup?

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    loved this book

    The only reason I bought this book is because there was a quote from Julie Garwood, one of my favorite authors. If you like the humor of Julie Garwood with some spice you'll love this book too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Hahahah

    I har

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Maybe not best, but it was enjoyable

    This was a bright and funny book. Just a fun read it doesnt get anr bettet than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Delightful! Loved it!

    I had just read a dark murder mystery and this delightful story was a perfect counterbalance. Smart and funny, with just enough heartfelt schmaltz to put a smile on any reader's face. You know pretty much from the beginning, who will be with whom in the end, but knowing doesn't hurt a thing because it is much fun getting there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Loved it, but too many typos! I really enjoyed this b

    Loved it, but too many typos!
    I really enjoyed this book. It would have received 5 stars from me if not for all of the typos. The digitizing software definitely did not do the story or the author any justice. The characters were hilarious. I actually did laugh out loud at times while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Loved this story...

    I couldnt put it down. Loved the crazy Parrish family and how in the end love does prevail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4