BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Motor Mouth (Alex Barnaby Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A delightful caper

At Homestead-Miami Speedway Stiller Racing driver Sam Hooker finished second at the track (and first in some woman¿s bed). Much of the accolades for his fine showing go to the pit crew, but the majority to his spotter, Alexandra 'Barney' Barnaby, whose guidance was per...
At Homestead-Miami Speedway Stiller Racing driver Sam Hooker finished second at the track (and first in some woman¿s bed). Much of the accolades for his fine showing go to the pit crew, but the majority to his spotter, Alexandra 'Barney' Barnaby, whose guidance was perfect. However, Barney may have gave directions when to ease and when to speed up to Sam, but something disturbed the spotter about the winning car driven by Spanky Bonnano of Huevo Motor Sports though she is not sure what that is.--------------- Stiller spotter Gobbles Warner calls from a cell phone to ask Barney to get him out of the truck containing the winning race driver as he is locked inside and fears asking for help from the Huevo crew. After looking over the situation Barney with Sam¿s assistance steals the truck. However, that proves a minor felony because inside the vehicle along with the trapped Gobbles is a dead Oscar Huevo, an apparent homicide victim. Though neither wants to deal with a corpse in a stolen truck, the driver and the spotter know they must solve the murder before the police decide they committed the crime.-------------- As with METRO GIRL, MOTOR MOUTH is a delightful caper that will lead readers to think Stephanie Plum goes NASCAR. The story line is fun and zany as everything that could go wrong does with Barney believing that she makes Murphy look like an optimist as he had no St. Bernard, corpse, stolen vehicles, and the queen of fruit to contend with besides a killer and the racing circuit. Alas, this is all part of the life of a NASCAR spotter.----------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Low

I really enjoyed the Stephanie Plum series and was excited to find this book from the same author. What a stupid story! And how low!!! Between the disgusting details about the dead bodies and the prune stuff... The romantic angle was also very adolescent and predictable...
I really enjoyed the Stephanie Plum series and was excited to find this book from the same author. What a stupid story! And how low!!! Between the disgusting details about the dead bodies and the prune stuff... The romantic angle was also very adolescent and predictable. I will never read another book by this author!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Rip off of the Stephanie Plum series

    Name changed, location changed but this is Stephanie Plum series. I hated the book. It did nothing for the imagination. Story long and drawn out. Nothing to hold the readers attention. Struggled to get to the end. I wouldn't buy another book in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Couldn't finish it

    I usually enjoy Janet Evanovich. The Plum books are good, but was just bad. Hooker and Barnaby belonged in jail for their stunts. There is no chemistry between the two of them, and Hooker isn't even all that likeable. The plot was boring. I am sooo glad I didn't buy it. I got it from the library. It will be returned today unfinished. I really hope her next '13' will be better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Low

    I really enjoyed the Stephanie Plum series and was excited to find this book from the same author. What a stupid story! And how low!!! Between the disgusting details about the dead bodies and the prune stuff... The romantic angle was also very adolescent and predictable. I will never read another book by this author!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    BETTER THAN HER FIRST NASCAR BOOK - METRO GIRL

    I'm a big fan of this author and NASCAR is boring to me, but this one rates better than Metro Girl. Beans the St. Bernard stole the book and to me this was the best part of the book. The rest was too technical and mechanical for my taste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Definitely not Plum Quality

    I'm a big Janet Evanovich fan, but this series is disappointing. Metro Girl drove me nuts with Hooker constantly referring to himself as 'Nascar Guy'. Thankfully, the phrase was not in Motor Mouth. I think Motor Mouth tries too hard to be on an equal footing with the Plum series, and what makes this book especially disappointing is that the author recycled ideas and events from the Plum series. After reading the part about the dog and the prunes, I was fed up and decided that I was done with this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful caper

    At Homestead-Miami Speedway Stiller Racing driver Sam Hooker finished second at the track (and first in some woman¿s bed). Much of the accolades for his fine showing go to the pit crew, but the majority to his spotter, Alexandra 'Barney' Barnaby, whose guidance was perfect. However, Barney may have gave directions when to ease and when to speed up to Sam, but something disturbed the spotter about the winning car driven by Spanky Bonnano of Huevo Motor Sports though she is not sure what that is.--------------- Stiller spotter Gobbles Warner calls from a cell phone to ask Barney to get him out of the truck containing the winning race driver as he is locked inside and fears asking for help from the Huevo crew. After looking over the situation Barney with Sam¿s assistance steals the truck. However, that proves a minor felony because inside the vehicle along with the trapped Gobbles is a dead Oscar Huevo, an apparent homicide victim. Though neither wants to deal with a corpse in a stolen truck, the driver and the spotter know they must solve the murder before the police decide they committed the crime.-------------- As with METRO GIRL, MOTOR MOUTH is a delightful caper that will lead readers to think Stephanie Plum goes NASCAR. The story line is fun and zany as everything that could go wrong does with Barney believing that she makes Murphy look like an optimist as he had no St. Bernard, corpse, stolen vehicles, and the queen of fruit to contend with besides a killer and the racing circuit. Alas, this is all part of the life of a NASCAR spotter.----------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Waste of money

    Yet another half cooked book by Evanovich......very poor plot with flat jokes and a total waste of time.She is still banking on one or two good books she wrote.Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Explosive Chemistry

    Love the Sam & Barney team!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended

    If you like Evanovich you will love this book. I give it a 10+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    We all need some humor

    I have read most of Janet Evanovich's books. I am a night-time reader and I find it relaxing to sit and read her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Fun book, keeps you amused.

    I absolutely LOVE all of her books. Her sense of humor is just what I need some days. Would highly recommend that you read them all, especially the Stephanie Plum series. I can hardly wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    If you have a few hours pick this up, never gets boring,fast moving

    Love Janets characters,you can visualize with her writing..as always she has interesting , believable people...fast paced and never a dull moment and I for one love her sense of humor in her books...we need more Lizzy and Diesel too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    I have read many different books by Janet Evanovich and I have enjoyed every one of them. This series is different than her Stephanie Plum series, but still a good start for the first two books of a new series. There is humor, mystery and a good plot contained within!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good Book

    Not as fantastically mezmorizing as the first, but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Love them all

    Another winner series from my favorite other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Good but it needs a bit more effort but okay

    It was better than other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    the.best. book.in. the. world.

    omg i loved this book read it in a day, the romance and the mystery was great wish their was more books like these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    Had me laughing and on my toes.

    I really loved this book. I found the characters to be hilarious, the adventures to be fairly unpredictable, and the whole thing had a happy ending. What more could I want. There is a bit of language throughout the book, but I would recommend this to men or women. I think most people will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Motor Mouth

    I thought the Plum series was good. Since I ran out of that series to read I had to find something else so I tried this series and I just can't tell you how thrilled I am that she is able to capture your attendion and makes you want to keep reading even when you want to put the book down but can't. You go Janet! You have another good series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Motor Mouth Not Up To Evanovich's Plum Series

    I bought the audio version of this book and found it rather enjoyable while driving. I usually REALLY like the style of the author, but found this one not quite up tp par. I don't mind an occasional bit of foul language, but this one seemed a bit overboard-maybe because I was hearing instead of reading. It was fine to pass my driving time, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6