Customer Reviews for

Mount Vernon Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mount Vernon Love Story

Mystery writer Mary Higgins Clark details the love story and marriage of George and Martha Washington in Mount Vernon Love Story, the first novel written by the author. I really enjoyed the novelization of the Washington marriage through its ups and downs. Beginning i...
Mystery writer Mary Higgins Clark details the love story and marriage of George and Martha Washington in Mount Vernon Love Story, the first novel written by the author. I really enjoyed the novelization of the Washington marriage through its ups and downs. Beginning in 1797 the Washington's are preparing to leave Philadelphia and the presidency for retirement at the couple's beloved Mount Vernon. The novel presents a series of flashbacks from George Washington's childhood to the early days of the Revolutionary War. Clark adds new perspective into the complex and loving relationship of two remarkable individuals.

posted by civilwargirl on January 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Washington Goes to Mt. Vernon

Having recently visited Mount Vernon on vacation, I was very interested to read 'Mount Vernon Love Story' by Mary Higgins Clark since I assumed it would lead into further insight of the relationship between George and Martha ('Patsy') Washington. Not only did it delve d...
Having recently visited Mount Vernon on vacation, I was very interested to read 'Mount Vernon Love Story' by Mary Higgins Clark since I assumed it would lead into further insight of the relationship between George and Martha ('Patsy') Washington. Not only did it delve deeper into their relationship than was learned on the visit to their home, but it also provided a deeper insight into the history of the United States. The book's chapters alternate between the beginning of George and Martha's relationship and the end of his presidency. It's a very clever way of storytelling, and each chapter leads into the next with grace, bouncing between time. I must admit that this is the first book I've ever read by Mary Higgins Clark, so I am not familiar with her writing style. And I am sure that this book of history is quite different from her mystery books. It is her first book, however, and it shows. The love story in the title is more the love of Mount Vernon -- the home, the grounds, the idea of it, etc. -- than the love story between George and Martha Washington. It's about the growth of Mount Vernon and the love its owners and visitors had for it. And why they couldn't stop being excited returning to it day after day. Although I wasn't that drawn into the book and the romance between George and Martha, it was intriguing to learn some details about the Washingtons' lives. I especially enjoyed the chapter involving George introducing Martha to his domineering mother for the first time. Here, I felt drawn into the characters and loved the interaction between them. George tries to keep his temper in place over his mother's criticisms while Martha calms him down with her gentle touch. Unfortunately, this type of character development did not seem to continue through the rest of the book. It was definitely an enjoyable read, but I guess I was hoping for something more.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    Interesting story on the First First Family

    On the heels of a summer trip to Valley Forge and Philadelphia, I was glad to stumble upon this book! This is a story, based in facts, about George Washington's early life, continuing through his presidency. I learned so much, while reading a pseudo-romance story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mount Vernon Love Story

    Mystery writer Mary Higgins Clark details the love story and marriage of George and Martha Washington in Mount Vernon Love Story, the first novel written by the author. I really enjoyed the novelization of the Washington marriage through its ups and downs. Beginning in 1797 the Washington's are preparing to leave Philadelphia and the presidency for retirement at the couple's beloved Mount Vernon. The novel presents a series of flashbacks from George Washington's childhood to the early days of the Revolutionary War. Clark adds new perspective into the complex and loving relationship of two remarkable individuals.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Mr. Washington Goes to Mt. Vernon

    Having recently visited Mount Vernon on vacation, I was very interested to read 'Mount Vernon Love Story' by Mary Higgins Clark since I assumed it would lead into further insight of the relationship between George and Martha ('Patsy') Washington. Not only did it delve deeper into their relationship than was learned on the visit to their home, but it also provided a deeper insight into the history of the United States. The book's chapters alternate between the beginning of George and Martha's relationship and the end of his presidency. It's a very clever way of storytelling, and each chapter leads into the next with grace, bouncing between time. I must admit that this is the first book I've ever read by Mary Higgins Clark, so I am not familiar with her writing style. And I am sure that this book of history is quite different from her mystery books. It is her first book, however, and it shows. The love story in the title is more the love of Mount Vernon -- the home, the grounds, the idea of it, etc. -- than the love story between George and Martha Washington. It's about the growth of Mount Vernon and the love its owners and visitors had for it. And why they couldn't stop being excited returning to it day after day. Although I wasn't that drawn into the book and the romance between George and Martha, it was intriguing to learn some details about the Washingtons' lives. I especially enjoyed the chapter involving George introducing Martha to his domineering mother for the first time. Here, I felt drawn into the characters and loved the interaction between them. George tries to keep his temper in place over his mother's criticisms while Martha calms him down with her gentle touch. Unfortunately, this type of character development did not seem to continue through the rest of the book. It was definitely an enjoyable read, but I guess I was hoping for something more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    Mount Vernon Love Story

    A compelling story of a love that is timeless, a love that gave meaning to life...for the first President of the United States! How unique! Provides a peek into the soul of a the reluctant warrior and President, a man who remained very deeply in love with his beloved 'Patsy' over the course of a lifetime. It is this kind of love that surpasses mere passion and transforms lives. Interesting enough, just finished reading Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin, in which this same kind of lifelong, intimate love is portrayed. You'll have a new respect for George Washington!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    ?bvx

    Yry vndfjti dgfjn

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Charming!

    What a charming way to write about George Washington. I am inclined now to review some U. S. History.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Great Book!

    This book was great, it gave me good sense of how George Washington lived his life to the fullest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    BORING

    I hate to be negative,but this was one of the most boring books, I have ever read. The author jumped back and forth between the past and present day. From one paragraph to the next,I didn't know if he was an adult or a child. I only finished it because I was on a plane ,and had nothing else to do. Don't waste your time on this poor book!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    A Prominent Historian's Devotion To His Wife, An Underlying Tenderness For His Best Friend's Wife

    Everyone knows the brilliance that was George Washington, the man who founded freedom for America. But this book touches the humanitarian side of America¿s founding father, depicting him as a man who was not without weaknesses but possessed admirable virtues such as his zealous strength, his love for his family, his undying devotion to his wife Martha and even his keenness for dancing. And Martha `¿Patsy¿¿ Custis is the epitome of what a First Lady should be to the first president, always by his side, never admonishing. Truly the woman behind the successful man. It was rather shocking how a man such as Washington could have been raised by a mother who faulted and belittled his every action, but she must have also done something right because George Washington seemed to have ultimately `¿aspired to the heavens¿¿, a motto his mother inexorably guided her children with. This was my first Mary Higgins Clark book, and so it was rather fitting that I stumbled upon her first work. It did have the touch of someone who was attempting her primary writing experience. It did not contain the effortless fervour a renowned author would normally possess, but Mount Vernon was enjoyable enough. Washington¿s love for his wife was well depicted here. And the homecoming to Mount Vernon was poignant as we sensed the gripping dedication George possessed for this land, and the emotional longing for his two closest friends to have been there to welcome them, George William and the tantalising Sally Fairfax whom he was still besotted with, probably until his dying day. Any history buff with an interest in romance would find this book affecting and moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    George was a husband first

    I enjoyed this short book very much. It helps to see George Washington as not just the 'father of our country' but as a loving husband. It made me yearn for a time when people blush and public displays of affection consist of holding hands or a kiss on the cheek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    ENJOYABLE READ FROM START TO FINISH

    I AM A HISTORY BUFF AND ALWAYS LOVE READING OF OUR NATIONS FOUNDING FATHERS. THIS NOVEL GIVES INSIGHT INTO THE PERSONAL LIVES AND RELATIONSHIP OF GEORGE AND PATSY (MARTHA).I ENJOYED FINALLY READING A PIECE THAT SHOWS WASHINGTON AS A FEELING HUMAN BEING WITH A PERSONALITY, INSTEAD OF A SOLEMN,STOIC HISTORICAL CHARACTER.EASY TO READ AND THE FLIPPING BACK AND FORTH KEPT THE NOVEL FRESH FOR ME.GREAT SUMMER OR WEEKEND READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    Unsophisticated Writing Style with Lean Content

    This is an easy summer read. Not too offensive, but not very satisfying, either. It reads like a first effort, which it was. Too many details are left out, and the constant back and forth between Washington's youth and his last days as President become tiresome. You get a different, interesting picture of George and Patsy (Martha), and what life might have been like in their day, and with their immense wealth. I never thought about how many slaves he might have owned, but with 30,000 acres in his estate, he must have had tons. It would be more appropriate for 9th grade reading lists than adult book clubs. I would not recommend spending the money for a hardback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    Different, But Awesome!!

    Mary Higgens Clark has done it again!! Although her normal is mystery, this story is just as capturing as her others. She makes history come alive, as she tells the story of our nations founding father, George Washington, and tells of his troubles and his triumphs. Overall it was a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Mount Vernon Love Story

    A compelling story of a love that is timeless, a love that gave meaning to life...for the first President of the United States! How unique! Provides a peek into the soul of a the reluctant warrior and President, a man who remained very deeply in love with his beloved 'Patsy' over the course of a lifetime. It is this kind of love that surpasses mere passion and transforms lives. Interesting enough, just finished reading Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin, in which this same kind of lifelong, intimate love is portrayed. You'll have a new respect for George Washington!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    It was geat.

    It was my first book that I read about Washington. I found it very nice. I was never really interset in the history of our Presidents but after reading this book it has open up the history that we have. I do recommend this book. In my classes I have never really learned the lives of the Presidents but I am now interseted in to learn more about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    Entertaining, not necessarily factually informative

    Mount Vernon Love Story will be enjoyed by Washington fanatics and fans, but the casual reader may find themselves slightly lost if he or she is not familiar with Washington's specific adventures. Nevertheless, it is a delightful read that serves to encourage the uninformed to become interested in the facts. It portrays Washington in a light not usually shined on him by looking into his personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent biography

    George Washington¿s father died when the future president was young. His mother was a harsh disciplinarian insuring George and his siblings behaved. George seemed to flee her whenever he could get away spending time at his half-brother¿s Mount Vernon home (yes ¿ that historical home). George¿s first love is Sally Fairfax and his chosen profession surveyor, but war seemed to be his destiny. First he fought (unsuccessfully) during the French and Indian War and then the American Revolution. <P>This biography uses Washington¿s retirement to Mount Vernon with his beloved Patsy (Martha¿s nickname) as a focal point for looking back over the lives of the first president and his spouse. The book concentrates on his personal life not his public life. Thus, readers see another side to Washington. Though opinions are interspersed throughout, mystery suspense thriller writer Mary Higgins Clark provides a strong insightful look at Washington and literally the first ¿First Lady¿ that historical readers will enjoy. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    Absolutely Wonderful

    I needed to read a Mary Higgins Clark book for summer reading. I picked this one, since all her mystery books really didn't appeal to me. As a high school student, I couldn't of made a better choice. I found myself wanting more at the end. I would suggest this book to anyone looking for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3