Customer Reviews for

The Mountain Between Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    great story

    very entertaining, loved the book, the story and the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    A survival story

    I love the way Charles Martin spins a story. He draws me into his world with rich descriptions and deep characters. It is a story of survival in nature, but also about love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book!

    I am normally a voracious reader but haven't picked up a book in a while. I am job hunting so that pretty much consumes all my waking hours. Thank goodness though I picked up this book and began reading. It gave me the opportunity to escape from the trials and tribulations of my day. And escape I did to the snowy, cold 1.3 million acres of Utah's national park wilderness. A great read but I have to say, I was blown away by the ending. I never saw it coming.

    I have read one other book of Charles Martin's, "Where the River Ends". It too was a love story set in nature. I plan on reading all of his books starting with his latest "Thunder and Rain".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    good read

    This book started out like you already knew what was going to happen but the more you read the better it got, the more things changed. It was amazing what this man pushed himself to do. The stamina that the both of them had was remarkable. The ending took me by surprise because you thought it would end a certain way, then that thought changed and the ending was then again a different thought and surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Wonderful

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good read, almost impossible to put down.

    This was a good book. We are reading it for our book chat. I am interested to hear what my friends thought of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional journey

    I'm gonna keep this one short and sweet. Dr. Ben Payne is trying to get home after a conference and meets Ashley. They chat, and get to know one another a little. Ashley is trying to get home for her wedding, when they both find their flights are canceled. Ben gets the both of them a spot on a charter flight, which then crashes in the Uintas, killing the pilot and injuring the both of them. What ensues is a struggle for survival and a love story involving Ben and his wife, and Ashley and her fiance.

    This book wound up not being what I had expected. I was expecting more of a survival story and more romance, and instead wound up having more reflection, angst and turmoil.

    Both of the primary characters, Ben and Ashley, are likable. There is something pure about Ben, like he's better than most people. Special. Ashley is strong-minded and her humor carries them through some tough times.

    The ending of the book was a surprise, and I found myself boo-hooing through the last 30 pages or so.

    This was a good attempt. It wasn't a brilliant piece of literature and didn't bring me to my knees with emotion or thrilling moments, but it was solid and well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    Good book

    This is my first book by this author and I would read more. The characters were likeable and the story kept my interest. I like a good love story but the chapters where he speaks to his wife got a little too sappy for me. However, the ending was good and took me by complete surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2