Customer Reviews for

A Moveable Feast

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A Truly Timeless Treasure!

Whenever friends ask me why, at my age, I still love Hemingway, I smile and think about this book. They say 'Hemingway' and conjure up familiar visions of the older, bloated and blighted boozer bragging about his macho accomplishments in the world of war and sports, whi...
Whenever friends ask me why, at my age, I still love Hemingway, I smile and think about this book. They say 'Hemingway' and conjure up familiar visions of the older, bloated and blighted boozer bragging about his macho accomplishments in the world of war and sports, while I consider the young Hemingway in Paris. I am thinking of a much younger, intellectually virile man, someone far more alert, aware and alive; Hemingway as a 'moveable feast' strolling deliberately through the streets of a rain-swept Paris on a quiet Monday morning, heading to a café for some café au lait to begin his long day's labor. In this single, slim tome Hemingway beautifully and unforgettably evokes a world of beauty and innocence now so utterly lost and irretrievable both to himself, through his fame, alcohol, and dissipation, but also to us, for Paris as she was in the 1920s was a place made to order for the lyrical descriptive songs he sings about her in this remembrance; endlessly interesting, instantly unforgettable, and also accessible to the original 'starving young artist types' so well depicted here. As anyone visiting Paris today knows, that magical time and place has utterly vanished. Tragically, Paris is just another city these days. Yet this is a book that unforgettably captures the essence of what the word 'romance' means, and does so in the spare and laconic style that Hemingway developed while sitting in the bistros and watching as the world in all its colors and hues flowed by him. The stories he tells are filled with the kinds of people one usually meets only in novels, yet because of who they were and who they later became in the world of arts and letters, it is hard to doubt the veracity or honesty he uses to such advantage here. This is a portrait of an artist in full possession of his creative powers, full of the vinegary spirit and insight that made him a legend in his own time, and consequently ruined him as an artist and as a human being. There are few books I would endorse for everyone as a lifelong friend. This, however, is a book I can recommend for anyone who wants the reading enjoyment and intellectual experience Hemingway offers in such wonderful abundance in these pages. Take my advice, though. Buy it first in paper, read it until it begins to fray and fall apart (and you will), and then go out and buy yourself a new hardcover edition to adorn your shelf, so on that proverbial rainy afternoon when the house is quiet, the kids are gone, and you just want to escape from the ordinary ennui and humdrum of life, pull 'A Moveable Feast' down and hold it close enough to read. A cup of steaming tea by your side, return all by yourself to a marvelous world of blue city skyscapes, freshly washed cobblestone and unforgettable romance; return once more to Paris in the twenties, when life was simple, basic, and good.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Read the Op-Ed before buying this version

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/20/opinion/20hotchner.html?_r=5&ref=opinion Consider doing some more research on this issue, and decide for yourself.

posted by my-bn-reviews on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A sumptuous treat- from the aesthetically pleasing presentation

    A sumptuous treat- from the aesthetically pleasing presentation to the lovely stories inside. The restored use of the second person reinforces the idea and the lovely feeling of Hemingway personally relating the details of wonderful places and people in Paris to you- which one may feel was the author's original design in writing his memoir. Hemingway's classic depictions of war are thrilling, but I personally feel that he is at his best when he is relating simple, leisurely events, such as going down to the cafe to pound out a story over a cafe creme, and interacting with complex, artistic, honest, occasionally depraved, but always endearing people like Ford Madox Ford, Scott Fitzgerald, the deathly poet Ernest Welsh, Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, Joyce, and his first wife Hadley (just to name a few, and there are many more). Here is a portrait of Hemingway in a place and among people that truly made him happy, a portrait that is genuinely and profoundly moving in both its simplicity, its honesty, and its beauty. A great many people have allowed their vision of Hemingway's Paris to be formed by watching Woody Allen's magnificent 'Midnight in Paris', and while it is magnificent, 'A Moveable Feast' conjures up a much more rich and deeply satisfying picture of this charming time and place. Some of the sketches seem somewhat extraneous, but they are a pleasure to read all the same.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Paris!

    Ah early 20th century Paris! Land of cafes and writers. Can you imagine having a drink in a cafe while sitting across the table from Ernest Hemingway or F. Scott Fitzgerald while discussing their latest work? A Movable Feast gives you the chance to do just that. Hemingway takes us to glamorous Paris where the writing elite of the time have all descended to fine tune their craft. This book is so awesome. It's sort of a who's who of the cafe culture of Paris during the 1920s, a time period that I'm absolutely in love with.

    This is really my first experience with Hemingway and as far as I know, this is one of his only non-fiction books. Even from this book with his friends and familiars as his focus, you can see why he's still so beloved by readers today.

    Probably my favorite parts of the books were the parts about Hemingway's family and also F. Scott Fitzgerald and his family. This book is rare as it isn't too often that you get to hear first hand information about people that I really admire like this.

    What I can say is that this book definitely whet my appetite to read more Hemingway.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Interesting insights from an amazing author

    If you are a fan of the authors of the expat movement you'll love this memoir. Hemingway exposes literary figures like Stein, and Ford Madox Ford as real people and not as literary icons. All of the style and subtle humor you expect from Hemingway is present also. Overall a wonderful quick read from an American literary icon.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    more touching than you though Hem could be

    i've spent most of my literary life thinking that Hemingway was an awesomely talented masogynist with a penchant for booze. this novel proved to me that there was more to him than his celebrity persona. this is a definite must for anyone who has ever seriously thought of becoming a writer or for anyone who has ever seriously thought of becoming a reader. hemingway writes as much about the craft and nurturing talent as he does about anything else. his observations and recollections of times spent with other well-known 20th century writers is not only entertaining, but engaging. he offers his reader something that feels like very private moments with some of the century's best writers and thinkers, most namely Scott Fitzgerald. most surprising is his tender memories of his ex-wife, hadley, and the lovely times they spent traveling in europe or just plain relaxing by the waters in france. this is a really lovely book and a definite must-read for anyone who loves hemingway, good storytelling, and 20th century american writers.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    When I bought this book I actually had no idea that it was about Hemingway's life while living in Paris. I am going to Paris next month and this book was suggested to get a bit of history. I will try to visit some of the places like Shakespeare & Co. and Cafe Deux Magots.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    C'est la vie!

    It is wonderful how Hemingway brings you into his world his friends and everyday activities. It is great how you get his perspective on the artist and writer that you study.You get what they are like first hand from a person who new them personally.It also really makes you want to go to Paris, but then again doesn't everything?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    a literary feast

    A Moveable Feast is a short book that glances over Hemingway's years in Paris. I don't know that you could call this much of a memoir, it doesn't go into great detail, and just sort of skims over his years in Paris. It was definitely written by an older Hemingway, one who was full of himself and bitterness. The style of writing seems different. This isn't the Hemingway I know from his short stories. The narration seems almost child-like, and definitely not written as well as his short stories. But don't let me make you think I didn't enjoy this book. Hemingway is still the greatest and A Moveable Feast was a wonderful book to read, if only for his portrait of Scott Fitzgerald. And there is a lot more humor used here than in his short stories. This book didn't break into my list of favorites, but it came close. (As a sidenote, if you enjoyed reading this, or want more like it, pick up Scott Berg's biography of Maxwell Perkins, _Max Perkins: Editor of Genius_, who was Hemingway's and Fitzgerald's editor at Scribner's.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Fun to the last page

    Great quick read - fun to the end. Full of wonderful references to the great literary people of the times. Reminded me why I loved his books as a teenager. Prompted me to read more about not only Hemingway but the other writers of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    good reading

    this book was very interesting in parts. I found a lot of things about hemingway that I never knew. the most interestin part - to me -was his relationship with f scott fitzgerald.

    the beginning of the book was a bit draggy.
    dorislouiselitz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Years ago a college boyfriend read this book to me and, yes, we,

    Years ago a college boyfriend read this book to me and, yes, we,too were madly in love.
    I still have the book
    I take it on my travels
    It's clear true prose
    makes me still think,"oh, yes,,'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    A great read on its own, if you know and love Paris, or if you h

    A great read on its own, if you know and love Paris, or if you have read The Paris Wife and Z, A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Love it

    It is a classic tale of his time in europe. I read it and The Paris Wife at the same time. That made it a neat double take
    Fact vs fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A must before a planned trip to Paris. To meet these now famous expat riots and visit their meeting venues is a trip in literary history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Sab

    No link its fine...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    An Interesting Hemingway

    Ernest Hemingway, certainly one of the greatest writers of the 20th century, sheds some light on his early days in Paris in this posthumously published work. It is exciting writing to begin with, containing that fleshy but simple style we all love so well, but to be honest I found the later passages in the book a little weaker than his usual prose. The day trip he takes with F. Scott Fitzgerald is wonderful, as are his run ins with assorted meaty characters, such as Gertrude Stein, who advises him against buying clothes in favor of buying art. The chapter on his time in the Austrian Alps left me a little unsatisfied. All in all, though, it's still Hemingway, and well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2