Customer Reviews for

Movie Player App

Average Rating 3.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

295 out of 402 people found this review helpful.

Great App

This app works exactly as advertised. YOU supply your own movies in the video folder and this app will display all the videos for you within the app. This saves time going to the my folders method to find the video you want.

posted by Skipper53 on September 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

93 out of 210 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

It is coming off as if you can get movies from it but all it is is someting that you can watch movies you can watch on your nook without it!!!!!!!!! Don't by this!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great App

    This app works exactly as advertised. YOU supply your own movies in the video folder and this app will display all the videos for you within the app. This saves time going to the my folders method to find the video you want.

    295 out of 402 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Excellent Addition to a Nook Color

    I was so tired of the "tap, tap,tap" navigation to get to my video clips on the Nook that I almost quit putting them on it. With the addition of this App it is actually cool to show clips to family members and friends. The selection screen can be customized with your own JPEG files so as you swipe the virtual cover art display your pictures help identify the clip. If only this same developer would produce a photo gallery App!

    New! There is a high probability that ImageGallery for Nook will be released by the same developer within the next week or two. If it is half as good as Movie Gallery we will have a great picture viewer for the Nook.

    252 out of 355 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Been waiting for this sort if app since i bought my nook!

    Ive been playing movies on my nook since day one but wanted a way to browse and play movies without having to go through all the directory structures to get to them, and now this app give me exactly what i want plus album art to help browse my movie library. Hooray!

    126 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Excellent Addition

    I have had great success with Handbrake, converting movies and loading them on my NOOKcolor. This app makes viewing them, and keeping my place so much easier. However, I cannot figure out how to get it to display the movie covers/artwork. Any help?

    100 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    ITS GREAT I LUV IT!!!!!!!!

    I got this app not sure causebof the reviews but it worked for me. For the people complaining about the backfround being blue and the screen being to small you can change it with one click of a button. To change the blue background to black push the arrow in the upper right hand corner and u will see at the bottom of the screen it says settings tap that. Then onbthe sttingsnpage do wjat ever u want to it xhange backround change screen size play all the movies/videos at random or back to back. Once u get the hang of it u wil luv it

    98 out of 147 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Waste of money

    It is coming off as if you can get movies from it but all it is is someting that you can watch movies you can watch on your nook without it!!!!!!!!! Don't by this!!!

    93 out of 210 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    WONDERFUL APP!

    Before I purchased MOvieGallery it took way too many steps for this fumble-fingered person. And I could never get back to the spot where I sropped if I needed to pause it and do something else for awhile. This has solved those problems, and I'm really enjoying watching movies. Thanks DVD Catalyst!

    70 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful app

    I have this app on my tablet and am glad to see Mitch got the approval from BN for their app store so I can now use it on my nook as well! If anyone has any issues with the app contact the developer - he is great at helping andis always open to suggestions/requests. Thanks again Mitch!

    70 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Features for nookcolor now working 1.2.5

    Barnes and Noble posted the update and the settings features work...yea! Even better than before...thanks to the developer for doing a great following through in less than a week since release! I am lovin' it more now than I can personalize it!

    69 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I CONVERTED MY MOVIES TO A mp4 VIDEO FILE, AND FOUND ALL THE ARTWORK ON LINE, I HAVE A 8 GB MEMORY CARD, HAVE 6 FULL MOVIES ON IT, AND HAVE ROOM FOR MORE, YOU NEED A VIDEO CONVERTER, I USE DVD FAB.

    66 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Need it want it , want more of it

    Perfect for me and the family

    55 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    The best app ever

    It lets you watch movies for free

    54 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Nicely done, easy to use!

    I use this app when I travel. The artwork sliding movie interface is slick! I even use it to display 3D CAD animations to demo designs while I travel. This program makes it MUCH easier to find these files quickly!

    53 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Fantastic

    My Nook Color just replaced my palm tx as the best handheld ever.

    51 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Awesome App!

    I use dvd catalyst by the same developer. This app now has settings I love it. A must have!

    49 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great app

    Nice app. Like it's ability to remember where stopped in a video and the ability to zoom to fill screen. Good interface for selecting video. Can't find any settings for browsing folders

    46 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Really cool app

    I've only loaded one home movie on my NookColor to use this with so far but I was impressed. I still need to try it out with some of the DVDs I have as well as using the cover art feature.

    39 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Works great!

    I have used the software in my computer for a long time and it works great. I can watch my movies on my Nook just the same. If you know what you're doing you will have no problems. But if you do, the people usually respond fast.

    37 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Nice app for organizing movies.

    You'll still need software to convert your DVDs to MP4s so you can watch them on your nook. Tools4Movies has a great one- DVD Catalyst. And it was on sale half-off when I got it last week! woot woot!

    31 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No bad app

    It only lets you look at trailers boooooooo!!!!!!!!! 0 *'s

    30 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8