Customer Reviews for

The Moviegoer

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The beginning of an existential career

The Moviegoer is a must-read for anyone interested in existentialism, or who also enjoys Camus or Hesse. However, like just about any existential story, you cannot sit and wait for a plot twist to keep you interested: the real enjoyment of such novels comes through the...
The Moviegoer is a must-read for anyone interested in existentialism, or who also enjoys Camus or Hesse. However, like just about any existential story, you cannot sit and wait for a plot twist to keep you interested: the real enjoyment of such novels comes through the interpretation of the author's message. Each character in Percy's novels represents a subtle point he wants to make about society, and it is that interpretation or unlocking of his meaning that makes the whole story worthwhile.

Sometimes it requires multiple readings in order for it to be clear, but I can guarantee that if you really pay attention to this book and others by Percy and those mentioned above, you will not look at people or society exactly the same way again (Which is really the point, as opposed to just a thrilling plot or romantic affair). So if you want to learn something, both about yourself and the community you fit into, this is an excellent book to start out with.

posted by 728434 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Moviegoer

I found myself putting this book down over and over and forgetting to pick it back up again for weeks at a time. I did finally complete the novel and felt that it was a worthy expedition, however flawed and dry it was at times.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The beginning of an existential career

    The Moviegoer is a must-read for anyone interested in existentialism, or who also enjoys Camus or Hesse. However, like just about any existential story, you cannot sit and wait for a plot twist to keep you interested: the real enjoyment of such novels comes through the interpretation of the author's message. Each character in Percy's novels represents a subtle point he wants to make about society, and it is that interpretation or unlocking of his meaning that makes the whole story worthwhile. <BR/><BR/>Sometimes it requires multiple readings in order for it to be clear, but I can guarantee that if you really pay attention to this book and others by Percy and those mentioned above, you will not look at people or society exactly the same way again (Which is really the point, as opposed to just a thrilling plot or romantic affair). So if you want to learn something, both about yourself and the community you fit into, this is an excellent book to start out with.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wild Palms with a happy ending

    Faulkner's influence upon Walker Percy is easily seen in The Moviegoer. Conciously, or not, Percy has retold the tale of self-abnegation for love, only it leads to a salvation of sorts - undoubtedly due to Percy's deep and abiding Catholic sensibilities. A young man adrift finds love in an unlikely place, earns a bit of social stigma and rebuke, only in the Percy telling, the two seem to work out and all is forgiven. Even most of the scenery is the same, New Orleans, Chicago, and the Gulf Coast.

    There is a suffocating, languid sense of time in the story as well. But it works superbly in showing the forces which the protagonist must over come. The slow pace of life in New Orleans, coupled with the city's entire social and economic scenes tied so inimately to Mardi Gras/Krewe traditions leads to a certain inertia. To escape, at least mentally, Binx must spend most evenings at the theater, leading a voyeuristic and escapist life in his head. It is only when he breaks out of the cycle and routine, does his life make some progress, although with great risk to relations with his family.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    The Moviegoer

    I found myself putting this book down over and over and forgetting to pick it back up again for weeks at a time. I did finally complete the novel and felt that it was a worthy expedition, however flawed and dry it was at times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Still very relevant

    I was not familiar with Walker Percys work or "The Moviegoer" and read this as a nook recommendation.
    Although written over fifty years ago, the theme of lost values and searching for a place is maybe even more relevant today.
    A book worth reading.






    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    BORED ME TO DEATH!

    i had to read this for a college course I was taking and quite frankly I could not finish it. I was bored to tears. This is supposed to be a "classic" but I honestly could not see why. I am English major and I would never wish a reading of this book on anyone.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I wanted to read this book for over forty years, since a friend raved about it (in 1994). I finally found a copy, but was so disappointed. Fortunately, it was very short, so I finished in in a day and a half, but I can't understand what all the excitement was about. Winner of the National Book Award? There couldn't have been much competition! It was very boring, and I really couldn't follow the plot -- what there was of it. The characters weren't particularly interesting, either.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    The American Dostoevsky

    This book is amazing. It's humorous and philosophical. Kate is the perfect Dostoevsky female.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Ought to be required reading, and not just because it's a shinin

    Ought to be required reading, and not just because it's a shining example of the so- called &quot;existential&quot; novel. &quot;The Moviegoer&quot; has all of the southern style you would expect form a Louisiana native, but what really makes it shine is Percy's intimacy with the modern American soul. Percy's novels, of which &quot;The Moviegoer&quot; was the first, peer into the psyche much like Dr. Thomas More's Ontological Lapsometer, which Percy wrote about in &quot;Love in The Ruins.&quot; This nearly unparalleled depth of understanding of the human condition matched with a unique sense of humor and the novelists' ability to put a face on difficult ideas is what makes Percy's work worth reading, and all these things are present in abundance in &quot;The Moviegoer.&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A Unique Book

    I suspect that many Walker Percy fans ( I am one of them) are somewhat outside of the mainstream of the average novel reader. So if you are new to Percy's writing it might be a good idea to checkout a few book reviews before you begin. For me there is no one like Percy. This is my second go around with "The Moviegoer," but with several of his other works it has been three re-reads! The plot and characters he has created are quite unique. The story is always intriguing and provides lots to think about. That is not to say that there aren't comic moments along the way. All in all, the book was a great pleasure for me to read (again). I hope the same will be true for you if you decide to look into "The Moviegoer."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Tay

    I love movie star planet!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Moviegoer, Walker Percy’s first novel, is, truly, a tr

    The Moviegoer, Walker Percy&rsquo;s first novel, is, truly, a tragicomic tour de force. For, herein, Percy presents an interesting cast of characters, a truly moving, and often terribly amusing, plot and, most importantly, a philosophical exploration of one man&rsquo;s search for meaning in a meaningless world.
    Percy&rsquo;s masterpiece is a must-read for those who are interested in existential, or even absurdist, philosophy; it presents existential lessons in an entirely new and entertaining light.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Its great

    Its the best

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Awful

    Read this in college.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    College Sophomore Intellectualism / Existentialism

    Many of us lived the Existential Life while in college. Walker Percy's protagonist, Binx, has never left this lifestyle. Come on, Binx, grow up and live your life. Engage yourself in this world and the people around you. Stop measuring every action and relationship against the most recent Hollywood production you have seen.
    "An unexamined life is not worth living." It seems that the main character has examined his life through the lens of the silver screen. He has not come to the realization that a life of self imposed alienation is not worth living.
    The Movie Goer is a rare book: the only novel I have chosen not to finish.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    I read it in 4 hours.

    I started to read this and couldn't put it down. It wasn't the best book I ever read but it was the most Uncle Jules-ish. Binx's little invalidic cousin Lonnie provides a good counterpoint to his fantail car and the waves of Lake Ponchatrain. The review above is not quite correct--the climactic ending takes place in Chicago and on the train thereunto.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2