Customer Reviews for

Moving Day (Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I love Allie Finkle!

My first book of Ms. Cabot's was The Boy Next Door (which I loved and still recommend quite often) and from there I was introduced to the Heather Wells mystery series. I've enjoyed her books so much, that I spent most of my time last year reading her young adult collect...
My first book of Ms. Cabot's was The Boy Next Door (which I loved and still recommend quite often) and from there I was introduced to the Heather Wells mystery series. I've enjoyed her books so much, that I spent most of my time last year reading her young adult collection. So when I heard she was working on a new children's series, I was curious to know more about it.

Meet Allie Finkle. She's nine years old, currently in the fourth grade, big sister to Mark and Kevin and best friends with Mary Kay. Okay, may be Allie would like to have a new best friend. Someone who doesn't cry all the time. Or someone who will allow Allie to decide what game to play next. Other than that, Allie's life is pretty good. Until her parents say these two small words: "we're moving".

Why would her parents leave their gorgeous home only to move into a falling-down Victorian? (Let's not even talk about that fact the house is probably haunted!) On top of that, her new school isn't so "new". The building is rundown and the gym is also the lunchroom! (Eww.need I say more??)

Allie has to think of something quick before her parents ruin her life. She's promised to be on her best behavior and not complain about the move. If she keeps her promise, her parents will allow her to have her very own pet: a kitten (the family also has a dog). The question is, can she stop the move, but still get the kitten?

I love Allie Finkle! Allie is a cute girl, with a big heart, who is trying to do the right thing all the time. To make sure she stays on the right path, she created rules for herself. Here are some of her rules:

* When you finally figure out what the right thing to do is, you have to do it, even if you don't want to.
* Don't be a braggart.
* Sometimes (but not always) it's better just to keep things to yourself.
* You can't let your family move into a haunted house.
* If you get a new best friend, it's rude to show off about it.

If I were nine again, I would want Allie to be my friend. She's creative, energetic, spunky and just fun! I loved reading Moving Day and cannot wait to read more from this series.

Random tidbit: Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls series would be a wonderful selection for a mother/daughter book club.

4.5 Stars

posted by IHeart2Read on November 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Anomous

Allie is ausome. She is so funny. I cant beleve she stole the turtle from lun chung

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Allie Finkle!

    My first book of Ms. Cabot's was The Boy Next Door (which I loved and still recommend quite often) and from there I was introduced to the Heather Wells mystery series. I've enjoyed her books so much, that I spent most of my time last year reading her young adult collection. So when I heard she was working on a new children's series, I was curious to know more about it.

    Meet Allie Finkle. She's nine years old, currently in the fourth grade, big sister to Mark and Kevin and best friends with Mary Kay. Okay, may be Allie would like to have a new best friend. Someone who doesn't cry all the time. Or someone who will allow Allie to decide what game to play next. Other than that, Allie's life is pretty good. Until her parents say these two small words: "we're moving".

    Why would her parents leave their gorgeous home only to move into a falling-down Victorian? (Let's not even talk about that fact the house is probably haunted!) On top of that, her new school isn't so "new". The building is rundown and the gym is also the lunchroom! (Eww.need I say more??)

    Allie has to think of something quick before her parents ruin her life. She's promised to be on her best behavior and not complain about the move. If she keeps her promise, her parents will allow her to have her very own pet: a kitten (the family also has a dog). The question is, can she stop the move, but still get the kitten?

    I love Allie Finkle! Allie is a cute girl, with a big heart, who is trying to do the right thing all the time. To make sure she stays on the right path, she created rules for herself. Here are some of her rules:

    * When you finally figure out what the right thing to do is, you have to do it, even if you don't want to.
    * Don't be a braggart.
    * Sometimes (but not always) it's better just to keep things to yourself.
    * You can't let your family move into a haunted house.
    * If you get a new best friend, it's rude to show off about it.

    If I were nine again, I would want Allie to be my friend. She's creative, energetic, spunky and just fun! I loved reading Moving Day and cannot wait to read more from this series.

    Random tidbit: Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls series would be a wonderful selection for a mother/daughter book club.

    4.5 Stars

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Allie Finkle's Rules For Girls: Moving Day

    I loved Allie Finkle's Rules For Girls! I read it last year because it was at my school's Book Fair, and I didn't expect it to be as good as it was! I own all 3 books and I can't wait to get the 4th one. Meg Cabot created a great character when she wrote this book: Allie. They way she talks is just like a real kid, and they way she copes with her little brothers and school and life in general is realistic and funny. If you like books that draw you in so much you feel like you are right there with the character, along with events you can relate to, you'll love Allie Finkle's Rules For Girls: Moving Day. I sure did!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A story for all ages

    I am 22 yrs old and I was a huge fan of the Princess Diaries series in middle school. Meg Cabot does such a wonderful job of bringing the characters to life, you can imagine yourself as Allie. This book is so funny and believable. Allie learns many life lessons in her short chaotic journey during this "tough" time in her life. It's a great story for girls of all ages. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a fun story to read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Love it

    My favorite seris cant get over them i am 12 and still love them and once i start i cant stop and put the book down

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is such a spectacular book! I loved it! :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Anomous

    Allie is ausome. She is so funny. I cant beleve she stole the turtle from lun chung

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Hi read the caption below

    This is an awesome book seriously READ!efffgdhgssfhfrbhhhgffghgtjfyjdgkkjgggg sorry bout that but that will be you if you do not read so read i dont care how much it cost just read it!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Love it

    This is the best book ever i highly recomend it to anyone but whats funny is that im also in 4th grade though im ten years old. Now people if you read this please for the sake if people like me who write the date please write the exact date please. I write that every time i write a review. Best book ever. You will not regret buying this. (Write the date please) 4/19/2012

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    when i first resd this book i fell in love with it!!!!!the details are asome and it's sooooooooooooooooooooooo funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!meg cabot wrote a remarkble book.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LUV LUV LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    What an awesome book

    When i read this book i fell in love. I had to buy the others. I would recamend this book to ages 9 to 12. I would think this book would be more for girlz...... but if guys like it then they can go right ahead. I would totally recamend this book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Allie!!!!

    I loved these books in fouth grade even though hey are simple they are cute and funny about a fourth grade girl that juat wants to fit in

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Really good book

    I am reading this book right now even though not on my nook i still love it i think it can also be for teens because i am 13 and i still like this book and will like it years later recomend for all ages even teenagers

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny!

    This book is HILLARIOUS! I love how Allie keeps a book of rules! I also love it how her rules are so funny and then she also is going through a move, which I am, too. It's hard fitting in and going through that so this book cheers me up! I reccommend this book to everyone who has moved and needs some cheering up, or just anyone in need of a good laugh!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Cool

    This book will make you very curious. If you like mysterys, you'll defintilly like this. I wouldn't say this is a mystery, but it sure will make you want to read it more and more! I love these series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!

    This book was so good! I was reading it nonstop for 2 days straight the book was so good. I literally could not put the book down. (I mean I couldn't put my NOOK¿ down.) I was so into the whole concept od the story, too. I mean I know what it's like to move to a whole new house. Only when I moved, we didn't switch schools. We actually moved closer to our school. But I still know how it feels to be under the pressure of moving. So I guess the story stood out not only because it was really good, but also because, in a way, I connected to it as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Weird

    What is a lend me? IHEART2READ YOUR WEIRD!


















    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Chloe the readaholic

    Ive red the whole series and its pritty good. Its funny and fun to read. It also shows how being the new girl can be supper hard.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Best

    This is a good buy!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    The greatest

    This is a very good book and i will read it all over but i dont think i will. But anyway it was a very good book and now i have to get another allie finkle rules for girls again!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13