Customer Reviews for

Mozart's Blood

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    A Vampire Story with Actual Fangs!

    Dear Readers: Now THIS is a vampire book! If you're expecting a slow-paced, gooey-romance you will be disappointed, because this author has offered a fantastically rich, dramatic story of the undead that will grab you by the throat from the very first page.and not let go. A wonderful fact about this novel is that the story's actual inspiration was the life of Teresa Saporiti, who was an Italian soprano back in the 1700's who is most famous for creating the role of Donna Anna in Mozart's famous opera, Don Giovanni. Octavia Voss is our ingénue in this powerful story. Octavia was turned into a night stalker by a Czechoslovakian aristocrat and has fended for herself for quite a while. Of course the young girl wanted nothing to do with the taking of lives but has tried to come to terms with the fact that for eternal life she does need the hideous human nectar. During Octavia's "rise" to the top, as she was trying to explain to others why she looked so young yet had the voice of a mature singer with hundreds of years behind her, she floated into Mozart's life.and took his away from him, leaving the master to finally leave the earth in hideous pain because of the fact that he could never bring himself to harm another living soul. In 1906, in San Francisco, Octavia meets up with a frightening man named Ugo who is basically a Sicilian werewolf who wants nothing more than to protect the young opera singer. Life gets better and better for Octavia; the power, intelligence, and artistic genius of Mozart is part of her blood, and she rides the wave of brilliance through each and every generation. The ageless, graceful, beautiful singer seems to have all she could possibly want between the amazing artist living in her soul, to the strange and somewhat terrifying Ugo who haunts the streets to bring back the elixir that his beloved muse needs. When Octavia's secret is seemingly uncovered by a snooty ego-driven baritone in the twenty-first century, Octavia's perfect "lives" begin to unravel. Not only is her secret compromised, but her mighty guard Ugo disappears - kidnapped in order to break Octavia once and for all. Again, this is one of those dramatic, fantastical stories that come along once in a blue moon. The shifts between past and present - from century to century - are intriguing, but absolutely seamlessly written so that there is no confusion whatsoever. The locations are drawn so magically that readers will almost feel the pure genius of Mozart flooding their own veins as the orchestra comes to life for the duration of this haunting novel. Until Next Time, Amy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Very Good

    Enjoyed it... a bit Anne Rice-like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Vampires and Mozart

    I really enjoyed this book. It combines two of my favorite things. Mozart and Vampires. It was a different read for me and I enjoyed the different representation of vampires. It was not all seduction or all blood. I think the one thing that made this book fascinating to me is that I was very fortunate to see Don Giovanni performed and that helped me understand the book more and relate the book to the play. This was a good read that combines opera, vampires, and surviving life.

    I would definitely recommend this book to individuals who enjoy opera (especially Don Giovanni) and vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Nobody does it better than Mozart

    I have loved Louise Marley's writing since I opened the pages of THE TERRORISTS OF IRUSTAN. I also love opera, and anything composed by Mozart, so MOZART'S BLOOD promised many elements to please me. It delivered beyond my expectations. Marley writes from her own experiences as a musician and professional opera singer (Seattle Opera, Seattle Symphony). Her deep understanding and love for music sings through the book and brings richness to the plot. While other writers have approached the vampire mythos from various angles, Marley transcends them all with her central theme: that with the passing of centuries and the erosion of ordinary human pleasures such as food and drink and sex, music retains the power to touch the spirit and give meaning and joy. And nobody does it better than Mozart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Captivating and entertaining

    Imagine sharing the memories and emotions of the great Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart through a blood bond that spans centuries. That is the premise upon which this book gets its title, but the story line of this novel is much more complicated and intriguing than that.

    Aspiring opera singer Teresa Saporiti leaves her family and her small hometown in 18th century Italy behind to pursue her dream. Landing a position at the opera house La Scala in Milan with the help of a gentle benefactor, Teresa's career quickly becomes more and more successful, and she eventually finds herself working with the great Mozart himself, becoming infatuated with him despite his married state. After one exceptionally successful performance in Prague, Teresa finds herself sharing a bed with Mozart and a wealthy and powerful Countess, Zdenka Milosch. By the end of the evening, she has shared much more, and having "shared the tooth" with the brilliant composer, her life becomes irrevocably changed.

    Young Ughetto was the only son of a poor innkeeper, born after seven sisters. As he nears puberty, he realizes his mother and grandmother are becoming unusually wary around him. Then one day he is sent on a ficticious errand by his mother and grandmother and his life changes forever. Abducted and drugged, Ughetto finds himself in a terrifying situation which eventually lands him in a small school for a unique group of boys. His own association with the world of opera eventually leads him also into a relationship with the enigmatic Countess Milosch.

    Ughetto and Teresa meet each other in San Francisco during the 1906 earthquake, and after learning more about each other's existences form a lasting bond. Although their relationship is a platonic one, they soon become inseparable, taking on various personas as the years pass to continue their existence without raising suspicions. Then one day, as Teresa (now called Octavia) prepares to take the stage once again at La Scala, Ughetto (now called Ugo) disappears. The unfolding events following Ugo's disappearance are intertwined expertly and lyrically with flashbacks of their pasts. As the present story unfolds, the past is filled in for the reader, detail by detail, weaving an impressive and captivating story.

    I really enjoyed this novel, and although I previously had very little interest in opera, I still found the settings spellbinding and actually enjoyed learning about the milieu, both in the spotlight and backstage. The way author Louise Marley adroitly knits together the past and the present made transitioning back and forth easy for me to follow and kept the flow of the story smooth. All in all, this was an entertaining and enthralling tale. I give this book 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A captivating and different kind of historical paranormal.

    This book took me in a multimedia journey using my own memories and the author's words to perceive the marvelous world of Teresa/Octavia, Ughetto/Ugo, Wolfgang, Zdenka, Massimo, Domenico, and the Elders.

    The curse and the blessing of Mozart's Blood accrues the suspense throughout the book, and kept me turning pages frantically. The main characters were granted the gift of immortality without choice, and become the target of evil beings who wants the same power, and would stop at nothing in order to get it.

    Never before a book had me recollecting other books I read, movies I watched, or music I heard. Particularly the music, some parts of Mozart's Blood are exquisite in its beauty and details, like when Octavia discovers the most important part of her gifts. While others are painfully to the point of tears, like the beauty of the opera darkened by the cruel fate of the castrati. Which made me ponder about the many times 'the end justified the means' to achieve glorious music.

    Ugo's story touched me the most, from the young Ughetto sold by his family to be made a castrato, to when he becomes Octavia's protective companion.

    Even though Teresa/Octavia is the main character, I couldn't sympathize with her as I did with Ughetto/Ugo. However, I enjoyed Teresa's past. Except her obsession with Mozart. Really? Yes, her groupie attitude drove nuts a couple of times.

    I would have liked more romance in the book. Still, I understand this book is about the love for the music, the camaraderie between two lonely and suffering souls, and of course, Mozart's Blood.

    About the Elders, well, they are monsters, but at some point I found them pitiful and tender, like if they were harmless children. I even felt they deserve to have what they craved.

    In spite of being a 422 pages book, I read it swiftly, when it came to its end I was like, what? It's over? I want a sequel, yeah, there so much I want to see happening to these characters.

    I love the ending. Just perfect. The author managed a complete punishment for the villain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific vampire thriller

    Octavia Voss is euphoric as she will soon sing an aria at the Milan opera house; the same place she sang two centuries ago when she shared blood with the great composer. However, during rehearsal her personal assistant Ugo vanishes. She is worried for the welfare of her ancient friend as she knows he would not desert her and she fears she will have to bite for blood since he provided her nourishment.

    Octavia thinks back to when they first met during the 1906 San Francisco earthquake. She begins her quest to find her friend, but soon becomes the target of those who want her Mozart enhanced blood and by the Ancient Ones who will kill even centuries-old innocent vampires like her to prevent new ones from being promulgated.

    This is a terrific vampire thriller with a refreshing interesting spin in which shared memories come with the drunken blood. The story line rotates between the frantic present day search by Octavia who is hunter and hunted, and several biting eras in her past. Fans of supernatural urban fantasy will want to drink from Louise Marley's marvelous Mozart's Blood.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1