Customer Reviews for

Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Bright and Early Board Books Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    Mr. Brown

    This is a Great book for pre-schoolers. Before my 4 year old started school he was already reading this book. Its the cutest thing seeing your little one reading, well memorizing it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Catchy book that even I love

    I would never had thought that a book such as this could be the only book my child wishes to be read to her every, single night! Out of a large library of books in her room to choose from, this has been a consistant favorite for over a year. Cute, catchy and funny, this book has been the nightly ritual that brings me and my child so close together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Great book

    This book is so interesting for children they can really enjoy this of Mr. Brown making noises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Moo Moo, Whisper Whisper

    I bought the large board book version of this book for my almost-two year old. I didn't realize until reading other reviews that the version I purchased was a shortened version. However, the length of the board book is just long enough to keep my son's attention. He's already learned to make some of the noises & this has become one of his new favorites! I would recommend the original, longer version for an older child, and the board book for younger ones to accommodate attention spans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Watch out for the board book edition

    Upon my first reading of the board book version of 'Mr. Brown', it seemed a little short. Then, when I started to remember back to my own childhood, I realized that much had been left out. Indeed, the Grumm Grumm Grumm of a hippopotamus chewing gum, the goldfish kiss, and many other great sections have been entirely left out of this shortened board book version. The same holds true of all the Dr. Seuss board books -- they're condensed versions of the originals. Stick with the classic hardcover for the full Seussian experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    A wonderful first book!!

    This is my 16 month old's favorite book. It taught him how to 'moo' like a cow and 'buzz' like a bee. He loves all the silly sounds and can't wait to turn each page to get to the next sound! He never tires of this book and will specifically pick it out from his bookcase for me to read to him each day. I love the board book version because not only is it sturdy and easy for little hands to turn the pages, it is also the perfect length for toddlers with short attention spans. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    Infant Favorite!

    My daughter was only 4 months old, when we started reading her this boardbook, but it very quickly became her favorite book. It was the one she would grab for all the time, she learned how to turn pages with that book, and reciting the rhymes without the book is an effective way of calming her down in any situation. The rhymes and rhythm are magical for her. (Dr. Seuss' ABC Book and There's a Wocket in My Pocket are also loved.) I think I'm enjoying rediscovering Dr. Seuss as well. I can't recommend this book enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    Inspired introduction to sounds!

    Welcome to the wonderful world of whimsical, wacky writing, and crazy, colorful caricatures - ¿He can sound like a clock, he can TICK, he can TOCK. He can sound like a hand on a door KNOCK, KNOCK.¿ ¿Dr. Seuss¿s Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?¿ is an inspired introduction to sounds through rhyme and alliteration. The text, format, and images have been adapted from the original to accommodate board book standards; yet, the prose still flows. I am flabbergasted by the lack of enthusiasm for the revised board book editions of Dr. Seuss¿s (and others) ¿Beginner Books¿ published by Random House. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to offer my infant son a CLASSIC narrative, by means of a board book, even in its ADAPTED form. These magical miniatures are entertaining for little babies, who enjoy the positive interaction of cooperative play through reading. The objectives of these small books are to appeal to newborns, and very young children with short attention spans who are not attentive enough for the full text versions, they are NOT meant to replace the originals. Moreover, these pocketsize gems are fashioned for effortless travel to the market, on a plane, in the car, or on a train. Hee, hee. I own a lot of Dr. Seuss¿s first editions, in addition to a few of the board book volumes, and agree that the original ¿Bright and Early and the Beginner Books¿ are just that ¿ ORIGINAL. They are more amusing, entertaining, and educational, but are in fact more appropriate for older children, 3 years and older. I believe introducing infants to creative works, such as these, only encourages listening and learning from an earlier age. In summary, if your child is two or older purchase an original version, otherwise think of introducing your infant to the shorter, travel-anywhere format, and procure the original at a later date? The marvelous, magical magician, who was Dr. Seuss is worth it! Birth and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    What a wonderful book!

    This book is a wonderful start to any Dr. Suess collection for your child(ren). My daughter, who is only 13 months old, loves this book that she picks it out to have us read to her every single night. I have also purchased Hop on Pop, Green Eggs and Ham, Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You? She absolutely loves all of her Dr. Suess books that we have purchased so far. We are not disappointed at all in any of them. (I'm actually purchasing more of them today!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    Ideal First Dr. Seuss Book for Your Baby!

    This book deserves many more than five stars for its great ability to engage your child with books at a very young age! With this head start, you can expect to help nurture a lifelong love of books and reading. Dr. Seuss must have known that children respond more to noises than to words. So this book emphasizes noises. It also provides a wonderful opportunity to act. The facial expressions, gestures, and movements you make will create a strong impression. Soon your baby will begin to imitate the sounds. Imitating the word syllables and words is seldom far behind. 'Oh, the wonderful things Mr. Brown can do! He can go like a cow He can go Moo Moo' Sections all start off like that. Then they end with the encouragement to imitate: 'Mr. Brown can do it. How about you?' You can point to your child then, and repeat the sound with a nice smile. Here are the animals or objects, and the sounds they make that are in the book: bee -- 'Buzz Buzz' cork -- 'Pop Pop' horse feet -- 'Klopp Klopp Klopp' squeaky shoe -- 'Eek Eek' owl -- 'Hoo Hoo Hoo Hoo' rain -- 'Dibble Dibble Dibble Dopp' train -- 'Choo Choo Choo Choo' butterfly -- 'Whisper Whisper' horn -- 'Blurp Blurp Blurp Blurp' big cat drinking -- 'Slurp Slurp Slurp Slurp' clock -- 'Tick Tock' hand on a door -- 'Knock Knock' egg in frying pan -- 'Sizzle Sizzle' hippopotamus chewing gum -- 'Grum Grum' goldfish kiss -- 'Pip!' thunder -- 'Boom Boom Boom' lightning -- 'Splatt Splatt Splatt' The sounds are repeated as partial and total lists in several places. These repetitions can be made very humorous in your reading and cause gales of baby giggles. Except for the lists, there is a beautiful large illustration to help your baby or child tie the sound to an animal or object. A good way to enhance your baby's enjoyment of the book is to notice what sounds your baby seems to like already. For example, most babies like low, comfort sounds (in the moo moo range). You can add those sounds and your own drawings (or photographs) to go with them. You could have a refrigerator go Hum Hum Hum, or a car go Wrooom Wrooom. Your own ideas will be better than mine, I'm sure. Have a wonderful time being a parent, and be sure to take the time to enjoy the pleasures of books like this one with your baby! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    Dr. Seuss rules!

    Though my two year old loves many books, this is probably his favorite. Mr. Brown can Moo, buzz, pop, klop, cockadoodledoo and so forth. My child loves imitating the sounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3