Customer Reviews for

Mr. Chickee's Funny Money

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Chickee's Funny Money

I thought that this was a funny and eventful story however I was crushed in the beginning. I did not like how the book started off with the main character witnessing his best friend's death. It did not make me want to find out why someone jumped off a bridge because w...
I thought that this was a funny and eventful story however I was crushed in the beginning. I did not like how the book started off with the main character witnessing his best friend's death. It did not make me want to find out why someone jumped off a bridge because we were immediately told that it was because they were being chased by agents of the department of treasury. However I did like the strengths of the book. When reading Mr. Chickee's Funny Money, Curtis was able to vividly paint a picture of what it was like to be a member in the Carter family home. He gave great insight into the family and gave each character a distinct personality. Being from Michigan, I also really liked his display of local color to Flint Michigan. After reading the book, I wanted to look up the places that the characters went especially Kearsley Dam. This is a great beginning book to an adventure. I would recommend this book to someone in the fourth or fifth grade who enjoys adventure or mystery.

posted by mcalexan28 on October 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Chickee's Funny Money

Steven lives in the neighborhood of Mr. Othello Chickee. Since Mr. Othello is blind and somewhat elderly, Steven takes him on Sunday outings and to the grocery store to help aid him in his grocery shopping experience. Steven usually gets paid by means of Verners and s...
Steven lives in the neighborhood of Mr. Othello Chickee. Since Mr. Othello is blind and somewhat elderly, Steven takes him on Sunday outings and to the grocery store to help aid him in his grocery shopping experience. Steven usually gets paid by means of Verners and salt and vinegar chips, except for one eventful time. One day, Mr. Othello gives Steven a dollar bill that has fifteen zeros! Steven finds out that this bill is actually a quadrillion dollar bill. Steven of course lets his best friend Russell and Russell's dog, Zoopy know about this mysterious bill.

It is then found out that there are only "five" of these bills circulating around, and so Agent Fondoo from the U.S. Treasury Department tries to get a hold of this bill. Steven's dad is hesitant, simply guiding his son to the dictionary when questions revolving around the bill are asked. Due to the bill's rareness, Steven will get a reward of $20,000 if he turns it in.

This bill leads to a mysterious journey, one sad happening, but overall of lots of laughs!

posted by ChildLitSarah on October 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Mr. Chickee's Funny Money

    Steven lives in the neighborhood of Mr. Othello Chickee. Since Mr. Othello is blind and somewhat elderly, Steven takes him on Sunday outings and to the grocery store to help aid him in his grocery shopping experience. Steven usually gets paid by means of Verners and salt and vinegar chips, except for one eventful time. One day, Mr. Othello gives Steven a dollar bill that has fifteen zeros! Steven finds out that this bill is actually a quadrillion dollar bill. Steven of course lets his best friend Russell and Russell's dog, Zoopy know about this mysterious bill.

    It is then found out that there are only "five" of these bills circulating around, and so Agent Fondoo from the U.S. Treasury Department tries to get a hold of this bill. Steven's dad is hesitant, simply guiding his son to the dictionary when questions revolving around the bill are asked. Due to the bill's rareness, Steven will get a reward of $20,000 if he turns it in.

    This bill leads to a mysterious journey, one sad happening, but overall of lots of laughs!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Great

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Mr. Chickee's Funny Money

    I thought that this was a funny and eventful story however I was crushed in the beginning. I did not like how the book started off with the main character witnessing his best friend's death. It did not make me want to find out why someone jumped off a bridge because we were immediately told that it was because they were being chased by agents of the department of treasury. However I did like the strengths of the book. When reading Mr. Chickee's Funny Money, Curtis was able to vividly paint a picture of what it was like to be a member in the Carter family home. He gave great insight into the family and gave each character a distinct personality. Being from Michigan, I also really liked his display of local color to Flint Michigan. After reading the book, I wanted to look up the places that the characters went especially Kearsley Dam. This is a great beginning book to an adventure. I would recommend this book to someone in the fourth or fifth grade who enjoys adventure or mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    The boy next door-by Ree

    1

    "But Mom the party-"
    "Byee!love you!"

    "Don't do this to me!!"

    She walks out the door and shuts it. Ugh, can someone explaine why the h311 ,y lifes horribly pathetic?When something FINALLY goes right it ends up wrong? Now I can't go to Micheals party! Because I have to take care of my little brother. Wtever.

    So I hop in the tub and take a nice looong hot shower when my little brother Jason comes banging on the door like a maniac. Fu<_>ckin midget.

    "What?!!'i yelled peeking behind the curtian.

    "You have a fu<_>ckin phone call b!+ ch!!"

    Ok. Yea he's only seven. But he has cuzzing problems. And I have to deal with him all day.

    "Suuure. Whatever"

    " I need to use it!!"

    "Use the one in Mom and Dads room!!"

    "But I'm too lazyyy!"

    "Owell.."

    "FINE!!"he yells stomping off.

    Thank god!!.....eventually 5minutes later.....


    "Alex!!!! U have ap one call!!.."..

    Ugh.

    Bang!Bang!Bang!!"Alex! U have a-"

    "Tell them TO GO F THEMSELVES N TO GO TO H311!!!!OK?!!JUST LEAVE ME ALONE!!"

    "Ok...umm hello? Yea...my sister said to go f urself and to go to h311...mm idk....ok...she aalso said.....she hates u soo much she could vomit and that ur so ugly ur face looks like it got scraped off the road!"

    Only then did I realize maybe he WASNT lying this time.
    "$h!+!!!" Jumped out of the bathtub and wrapped a towel around me and opened the door.

    "Give me the phone!"I hissed.

    "Say pleaaase!"

    "Ugh please!"
    He hands me the phone. But too late...the person hung up..
    Thanks Mom...thanks a whole lot.(chap2nxt res later.)



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Chikki

    Was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    25

    Your book is very awsome and very very funny text back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    MR Chickey

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    U idiotic snot ball! WTF is wrong with you

    Poor :'( bad bad bad! F*** this crappy book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I know a guy named steven cept its spelled stephen

    Great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    VERY FUN READ

    This book is awsome :) :}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    MR.CHICIES FUNNY MONEY

    FIND THE Q OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOQOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Mr. Chickee's Funny Money

    This story was about a boy named Steven. Steven always help Mr. Chickee'a blind man' with his groceries on Saturday. Mr. Chickee only liked Steven in the neighborhood. When Mr. Chickee was going away for two months, he gave Steven a gift for helping him. The gift a supposingly a quadrillion dollar bill. Is it real?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is hilarious, a good one for parents to read to their children, especially if they are reluctant readers. It's zany and short and part of an on-going series (I hope! 2 out so far). Plus it provides a great way for adults to introduce kids to the music of James Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Mr. Chickee┬┐s Funny Money Author Christopher Paul Curtis

    Mr. Chickee¿s funny Money is about a boy named Steven. Steven is the only kid who is nice to Mr. Chickee. Mr. Chickee is an old blind man. When Mr. Chickee was about to leave for two months he gives Steven a gift. The gift is a quadrillion-dollar bill. However the government wants the dollar bill. They chase him and something bad happens. What is it??? I did not like this book very much and did not rate this book very high because I just did not understand it very much. There were a lot of words that I did not know what they meant or how to pronounce them. I would not recommend this book for any one younger then 3rd grade.It was not believable because I did not follow it very well. I could not picture it in my mind. Also I do not think there is such thing as a super super super giant dog or a dog that you can put in you pocket. I also did not like this book because it is about a boy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2